We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little home stay!”
Review of Casa Perla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Perla
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Casa Perla is a cute little house and you are actually staying with Perla and her family. The father and son do not speak a lit of English but Perla speaks perfect English.

The things that we loved about staying here was Perla herself who is lovely. The fact that although breakfast was supposed to be finished, her and her maid still made us some breakfast and made sure we ate before we left. She is extremely welcoming and makes you feel very at home. The double room we stayed in was large and the bed very comfortable.

The shared bathroom is small but well equipped with a hairdryer and very clean.

It is however a little way out of town but easy enough to walk into the town which isn't very big and there are plenty of taxis.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beau2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 43 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

It's taken me a while to write this review but I wanted to say thanks to Perla for all her help. We had a double room that was very cosy and comfy. This is a real guesthouse and the walls and surfaces are all decorated with trinkets and photos - very quaint but might not appeal to someone who likes sterile modern hotels and the like. In our case however we loved staying there - a welcome respite from the dirty hustle of an industrial city like Puerto Montt. The area looks relatively rough on first inspection but from our experience, that's just Puerto Montt and actually by the time we left we were pretty happy wandering even after dark. We had some good grub and a few beers (draught!) in the pub/bar down the road which Perla recommended. Perla also helped us organise a rental car for less than any of the quotes I had managed to get myself and then allowed us to cancel/move a booking on our return without any penalty. She also happily phoned the rental company to extend our rental.

All in all Perla was very helpful to us and her house is a bastion of cosiness in an otherwise fairly inhospitable city.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Flatfish04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I stayed here with a friend in July 2012 on the way north to Santiago.

The place in general is quite homely and decent. The staff was decent. Overall, it was pretty cozy and it definitely had an intriguing charm.

However, the roofing/ceiling wasn't sealed properly. We arrived on a pretty rainy day. Before going to sleep, I noticed that the space above the bed (the one right next to the bookshelf) was taped, and didn't think much of it. I woke up during the night to find cold and dirty water pouring down onto the sheets. I couldn't sleep at all that night.

Perhaps, if we had another room, I would have been ok. But that was definitely one of my worst hosteling experiences ever.

Room Tip: Do not pick the room that I stayed in (downstairs with the two beds and the bookshelf).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This place was wonderful. We booked at last minute and did not expect much from the pictures available. We had a pleasant surprise when greeted by Perla, a lovely Chilena lady with exceptional English. Her family home is warm, clean and inviting after a long bus trip. The directions she gave us were great. A standard breakfast was provided. Wifi good. A couple of bathrooms which although small had good water flow and temperature. The dorm room had beds which was a lovely change from bunks. Perla also had great recommendations on eating venues so listen to her advice. There is no pool or fitness centre sorry. I accidentally selected the options.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HayleynSoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Arrived into Puerto Montt after dark (from Argentina) - map was NOT clear at all and we literally were wondering around (up hills) in a relatively ´dodgy´ place. To be fair, locals were extremely helpful and we did find our way in the end!

Very cute homestead, lovely big twin room. Walls are a little thin - you can hear a pin drop at night giving an intimate experience to say the least.
Our host was lovely, though unwell at the time Perla still made an effort to come say hi.
All in all a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Casa Perla is an uphill walk from the bus terminal. A veeeeerry long walk uphill. Not very ideal when you are carrying a backpack. It's also a good 20 minute walk to the centre of town and to the harbour where all the good (fresh) seafood is. There are almost not a lot of amenities around Casa Perla.

Add all this in with the (pretty) dark streets of Puerto Montt, it is easy to feel A BIT uncomfortable trying to find food/groceries after sunset.

Having said that, i think it is one of the better options for staying in Puerto Montt. The pickings are slim and there don't seem to be much accommodations around (believe me, I've checked)

The room itself is pretty cosy. But the thing to note is that Casa Perla is in a relatively old cabin building. The interior of the house is a bit dark and there are a lot of pretty weird souvenirs hanging all over the house. The floor boards squeak a fair bit when you are walking around. We were not very comfortable with that.

Pictures and a longer write up of Casa Perla can be seen here:
twandjo.wordpress.com/2013/02/25/of-houses-and-possibly-witches-puerto-montt/

There are also no locks on the door, and although I have to say that the whole place feels "safe", you never really know what kinda people the other guests are.

The owners themselves are LOVELY. They speak excellent English and (from what I understand) German and would go out of their way to tell you of the places to go around Puerto Montt.

Breakfast is pretty decent too

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed here for just one night before getting the navimag ferry. Our double room was really nice and very clean. There's a nice sitting room to relax in and there's free wifi. There's a sign saying you can use the kitchen up until 8pm but it's not strictly enforced and Pearla was happy to let people make tea after this time. Pearla was very helpful was friendly and gave us a good breakfast before we left. I really enjoyed our stay here, the only bad things were there were no locks on the doors and it's a bit of a walk to the town center.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AOByrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Montt hotels
0.5 mi away
Hospedaje Javiera
Hospedaje Javiera
#3 of 81 in Puerto Montt
32 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal Jacob
Hostal Jacob
#8 of 81 in Puerto Montt
26 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostal Posada Angelmo
Hostal Posada Angelmo
#21 of 81 in Puerto Montt
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostal Don Nicolas
Hostal Don Nicolas
#17 of 30 in Puerto Montt
35 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hostal Lagunitas
Hostal Lagunitas
#3 of 30 in Puerto Montt
37 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residencial La Trinchera
Residencial La Trinchera
#6 of 30 in Puerto Montt
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Perla

Address: Trigal 312, Puerto Montt, Chile
Location: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Puerto Montt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Montt
Price Range: $21 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Casa Perla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing