We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Breakfast ever, friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Tetera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Tetera
Ranked #10 of 52 Pucon B&B and Inns
Highlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast ever, friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at La Tetera. The owners were super friendly and we liked our room with balcony and view of the volcano.
We could choose our breakfast from a menue and it was delicious. Mueslis, fruit , yoghurt, baked goods, eggs etc.
Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paddlelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    29
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
42
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2008

This "guest" house, which has six rooms for rent, is a 10-15 walk from the bus station. We had a twin-bedded room with a private bathroom and balcony. The room was small but cozy. Some of the rooms do not have private bathrooms. So, book early if you want to have a private bathroom. The house apparently caters to English-speaking, German-speaking, and Spanish-speaking guests. Information is printed in all three languages. There is no TV in the bedroom but there are a couple of common areas, including the breakfast room. The breakfast was tasty and nicely presented. The staff can provide a list of recommended restaurants and maps. We enjoyed staying in a home environment after staying in hotels.

  • Liked — Personalized attention
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2007

Very nice people run this hostel. They prepare a great breakfast for your strenuous days of hiking, kayaking, horseback riding - which they totally help you plan.

The only drawback is the thin walls. You can hear everything. People talking next door, people walking down the hall, using the toilets.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vientiane, Laos
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2007

We found the Tetera in our guidebook (Footprint, which I do NOT recommend for Chile), and found it to be very warm and welcoming. The room, albeit on the small size, had a comfy bed, nice (but small) bathroom, and very good heating (we had to turn the radiator off, it was so toasty). There was even a small chocolate candy on the pillow. The common areas were clean and well maintained and decorated with teapots of all shapes and sizes (hence the name "Tetera").

The reception was manned by a youngish German man, who spoke excellent English and provided helpful tips on booking tours, nearby activities, where to find an internet connection, etc.

Breakfast was fabulous: real coffee!! (and after a few weeks in Chile, you'll realise what a rare thing that is), yoghurt and muesli, fresh bread and preserves - and all included in the very reasonable price.

If you plan to spend any time in Pucon, I would highly recommend this hostal!

  • Liked — breakfast
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Fassia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pucon hotels
3.8 mi away
Hotel and Cabanas Monte Verde
0.2 mi away
Lounge Brasil
Lounge Brasil
#2 of 52 in Pucon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal La Nuez
Hostal La Nuez
#36 of 173 in Pucon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vientos del Sur
0.1 mi away
Princesa Insolente Hostel - Pucon
0.6 mi away
ELEMENTOS Hostel
ELEMENTOS Hostel
#13 of 52 in Pucon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Tetera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tetera

Property: La Tetera
Address: Urrutia 580, Pucon, Chile
Location: Chile > Araucania Region > Pucon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Pucon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LA TETERA is a charming, comfortable but moderately priced Guesthouse, especially thought for international, individual travellers. Because we only have six rooms, the contact with the guests is very close. We organise excursions for those who wish, or we provide all the information you need, if you want to go on your own. Most rooms have shared bath, but there are also some with private bathroom. The building has lots of native wood that gives a cozy atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your La Tetera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing