We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't even”
Review of Hosteria iecole!

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pucon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hosteria iecole!
Ranked #99 of 188 Specialty Lodging in Pucon
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Read all the other reviews. Take the worse of each. You can not even read in bed at night the lighting is so bad. Shower head was broken. Leaks everywhere. You can not unpack - anything. SInce we recommended to our friends - I was so glad that they had a sense of humor!

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vacahut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 46 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2012

We stayed here for a week. The staff is extremely helpful and knowledgeable. The restaurant is a nice break from the heavy on the meat and cheese Chilean food. Our room was clean and comfortable. The curfew was not a problem for us as we are not late night people. The curfew rules are posted throughout the hostel. This is a good place for families or people who want to connect with others interested in the environment. It is owned and run by a group so you are supporting a local venture. They also helped establish the Cani Reserve nearby.

Our room was on the street so we did get woken up by the late night partying a couple of times. The room was also small and the walls are thin.

We would stay here again. Pucon has a lot to offer as does the area surrounding it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room off the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCtripchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Please be aware that Ecole! is a 'hosteria' and they have 1am curfew. Pucon is a party town with tons of nice restaurants and bars, and if you would like to take advantage and stay later than 1am I would suggest you find somewhere else.

My girlfriend and I weren't aware of the difference of a 'hosteria' and we had no idea about this rule when we returned home at 1:40am, we banged on the door until we woke the staff and then were promptly scolded for breaking the rules.

We queried the rule and were told that it's because Ecole! have customers that pay more money than backpackers and they want it to be quiet. Funny, because we are backpackers but we were paying the top price for a private double room.

Apart from this the hosteria is nice and has character. Our room was tucked away at the back, nice and cost $30000 (USD60) per night. The restaurant serves lovely vegetarian fare and the service was warm.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Stayed at Ecole in the back rooms, loved the private garden, where we could read, strech and dry our swimsuits... the rooms are dark and the beds comfortable and clean but a bit cramped.. I would remodel them somehow... the bathroom in that room (2 twin beds, in the garden) was large and nice and clean... the staff is nice, met one of the owners, involved in environmental work in Chile, old traveler of the world, super nice and knowledgeable and friendly... the waitresses and chefs are wonderful, and the vegetarian food is good, but not extraordinary. I would stay there and think of it as a lodge or campsite in terms of the rooms, and if you are picky and/or loud just go for food there!

Room Tip: great people run this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank avisheh m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Staff is friendly, the restaurant that makes breakfast (not included in the room price) and various dishes for dinner is excellent, but the rooms are not quite so good (creaky floorboards, thin walls and not-so-nice bathrooms). Nice lounge area and fine location.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ulrikb_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

This was recommended to us by a Chilean friend so we stayed here despite the reviews.
We had a double room at the back of the complex, which on arrival was extremely musty and I wondered if the bed would be damp as well, which it wasnt. The rooms were nothing more than wooden sheds, and as a result I could hear everything from next door, even flatulance! Lucky for us the occupants of the ajoining room didnt keep late hours otherwise it would have been impossible to sleep as the sound proofing was non existant. There was nothing to drag us back to the room at night as the depressing wooden panelling made the room dark and dingy not helped by the appaling pictures hanging at different angles which I would have hung correctly had they been clean. The route to our room was unlit and quite uneven so we had to take great care at night feeling our way.Apart from soap there was nothing else in the bathroom though the shower was hot, and the towels in good condition. In fact one of the newly bought towels still had the label on.

No television, phone or fridge; two computers in the main part of the building but also wifi which had different codes in different parts of the complex.

Breakfast was not included, and this was our biggest bugbear. I can understand that to keep costs down they want to charge you separately for the breakfast. However the staffs daily reminder at breakfast to tip just infuriated us and needless to say we did not tip and suggest neither do you so that they get the message.

Its such a shame that Hosteria Iecole has been allowed to decline, as this could be such a great place. Its location is two blocks from the bus station, and it certainly looks inviting from the outside. The interior is slightly hippy/Californian in style with comfy sofas and books. Coupled with the excellent vegetarian food this could once again be near the top of the list but it needs a strong hand in stopping the decline.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goodtogethome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

Hosteria iecole! is a very nice and clean hostel with small, but comfortable rooms. The breakfast with wholemeal bread was very good (but is not included in the price), but the vegetarian diner was nothing special.
I liked it, but it seemed a little bit crowded by couples. So, if you want to meet other young travelers, I would go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saskia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pucon hotels
3.8 mi away
Hotel and Cabanas Monte Verde
0.1 mi away
Princesa Insolente Hostel - Pucon
0.2 mi away
Hostal Emalafquen
Hostal Emalafquen
#18 of 188 in Pucon
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Kari Mapu Park
Kari Mapu Park
#20 of 26 in Pucon
18 reviews
1 mi away
Hostal Andes Pucon
Hostal Andes Pucon
#8 of 188 in Pucon
134 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cabanas Huarranchi
Cabanas Huarranchi
#101 of 188 in Pucon
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria iecole!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria iecole!

Address: General Urrutia 592 | IX Región, Pucon, Chile
Location: Chile > Araucania Region > Pucon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 188 Specialty Lodging in Pucon
Price Range: $10 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing