We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take this hotel if you want to ruin your holiday mood!!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pucon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel O. Gudenschwager
Ranked #17 of 26 Hotels in Pucon
Reviewed February 6, 2010

You will only pay for a bed and a washroom! That´s it!
1. No TV (only one TV in a big room that you will have to share with the others)
2. I have been there for 9 days, and only had 2 nights successfully connected to the internet and the signal was very weak too! (The manager explained that was my laptop problem, not their problem!)
3. NO telephone! (The manager said the telephone is for business use, asked me to go outside to call my family!!)
4. Yes, they have parking, but It is very easy to get parking ticket! so...be careful and good luck to all drivers!!!
5. Outdoor activities and sports service...which means you have to find by yourself. Totally not included in their services!!!
6. Restaurant only provided breakfast...and the foods are as simple as you can cook by yourself!
If you want to stay in Pucon, no expectation about the hotel and have no money, you can consider this one! Don´t even think about this one if you have little expectation!!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephalfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
There are newer reviews for Hotel O. Gudenschwager
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 17 of 73 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2009

Basic rooms with million dollar lake and volcano views and plenty of charm in the exterior and a couple of common areas downstairs. We stayed for a week with a bunch of other friends renting other rooms, so it didn't matter that everyone could hear everyone else in the hotel - the walls really are paper-thin. The staff were pretty invisible but friendly when we wanted them. Breakfast service is great (for a Chilean breakfast, which takes some getting used to). Nothing to do for young kids at the hotel, but the lake is next door and the town playground is a short stroll away.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelwith2kidsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2009

This is an old hotel that has a charm about it. The rooms and bathrooms are what they are and I had no problem with them. The location is fantastic to both town and the beach. The view is great (if not cloudy). Good off street parking and a quiet area but still only blocks from activity. Nice photos throughout the hotel. Anyway, I would stay here again just as quickly as I would try another location in town. I think it is the staff that makes me feel that way. They were not rude or unhelpful. But they did not go out of their way to make one feel welcomed either. I almost felt bothersome at times. Not that they did anything you could put your finger on just the feeling I got. You will not go wrong staying here. The breakfast was fine, the rooms are fine, it is in a great location, and the price is fair. This hotel could be much more than ‘fine’ with just a little effort on the part of the staff.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Plantexpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2008

Location was beautiful and the room was a good size for our family but the staff were really not helpful at all. We wanted to rent a car and we got no help at all from the hotel.
The bathrooms are too small and the floors are really creak and the walls are so thing that you ever hear the sneezing from the next room!
All in all the friendly staffs in a hotel makes a huge difference. It is a good place for couples but not really suitable for young families.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kaiviti2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2008

We arrived in Pucon and did not know where we wanted to stay, found this place and were very pleasantly surprised.

The review by Jack stating this place is terrible could not be further from the truth. We had excellent service, the staff very helpful with arranging tours and activities, advising on great restaurants and we had a great room with a view of the lake and the volcano and warm and comfy.

We definitely recommend this place as a great place with a great location within Pucon!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SunSeekers76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2008

If you dislike comfortable beds, good thick pillows, clean linen, warm ida downs, good bathrooms (with 24hr hot water and good pressure), becoming friends with the owner’s family, a view of Mt. Villarrica, and the tranquillity of being 50 metres from the lakes edge; then I suggest you stay someplace else.

Yes there are more expensive hotels around the corner, with all the mod cons. Yes there are cheaper, funkier hostels in town, with thin walls and all night sessions. And there are cheap bungalows out of town, with your own kitchen.

I am a flashpacker who has travelled extensively, and few places in Pucon can match the charm, position, friendliness, and value of the Gudenschwager. Particularly if you are a couple, tried of the usual crappy hostel doubles, filled with drunken, horny teenagers.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Aroborus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2008

Everything was very good, cozy rooms, great breakfast, excellent location, that for sure. Very helpful as far as how to get around town and places to visit and agencies to go with for the volcano climbing, national park hiking and horse back riding.
I'll say this place is the best Lodge/hostel in Pucon.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kiwi1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pucon hotels
3.4 mi away
Hotel and Cabanas Monte Verde
0.2 mi away
Gran Hotel Pucon
Gran Hotel Pucon
#12 of 26 in Pucon
981 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Araucarias
Hotel & Spa Araucarias
#24 of 26 in Pucon
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Patagonia Pucon
4.0 mi away
Hotel Boutique CasaEstablo
2.5 mi away
Hotel Pucon Green Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel O. Gudenschwager? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel O. Gudenschwager

Address: Pedro de Valdivia 12, Pucon 4920561, Chile
Location: Chile > Araucania Region > Pucon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pucon
Price Range: $73 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located on the northeast shore of the Villarrica Lake; with a front lake and volcano view. Two block from the main central park and three blocks from Pucon downtown. The Gudenschwager has been open since 1923, it was built by the German naval engineer Otto Gudenschwager, has been remodel completely, it has 20 rooms each one of them with private bathrooms. Our Lodge has central heating, private parking lot, and a tea and deli restaurant. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gudenschwager Hotel Pucon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing