We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable hotel, centrally located”
Review of Hotel Huincahue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Huincahue
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in Pucon
Reviewed January 17, 2010

This was the second hotel we looked at in Pucon on arrival without a reservation. It was clean, had wi-fi, availability and reasonable rooms so we decided to stay for the night. The staff were friendly and helpful.

The location was excellent, being on one corner of the main square and about 3 blocks from the lake and with a view of the volcano. Its also close to the main street with its restaurants.

For me, the only problem was the breakfast. It was very simple with little selection. As in most of the other places we stayed in Chile, the coffee was weak and tasted like instant. Also, when we came back at night from eating out, we saw the breakfast already prepared albeit covered and in a chiller unit.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slatBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 19 of 43 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2009

This was a very quaint hotel. Not "elegant" as Fodor's describes it. Perfect location. Within walking distance of the city and the lake. Ideally situated near great restaurants. The staff was very helpful (didn't speak English AT ALL). The heat was a bit of a challenge (either cold or hot-- I opted for hot). Wi-fi available in dining room.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuckeyeFan52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2009

Part of our big South American trip. We hired a car and drove from Puerto Montt, careful of the car hire people they are dodgey, tried to charge us more but we argued via the phone for ages and got the money back eventually (probably spent it in phone calls to them anyway).
Hotel Huincahue is a lovely cottage style hotel, the rooms are older style with old fashion decor. The hotel is comfortabe and well located in town, although it is opposite the new Casino and old one that burnt down but it was not noisy or loud at all. We requested and got a room with volcano view which was great for the frist day when we could see it the rest of the time was cloudy but that is not the hotels fault. Breakfast was nice with plenty to choose from. The hotel has secure parking if you are driving. A comfortable choice with ncie staff.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kosmo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2009

After the long drive (8+ hours) from Santiago, we arrived at Hotel Huincahue at about 3 AM, ready to rest our weary eyes. We were relieved to find the hotel easily although we only had an address, as the town is pretty small. The hotel is clean, tastefully but simply decorated, and in the German-alpine style. There are beatiful hydrangeas all over the property, and a small wading pool in the garden where you can relax and enjoy the views of the volcano. We got a king sized bedroom, which had its own small verandah that looked out onto a park, a very nice bathroom, and lots of space. The hotel is close to a commercial shopping strip with great stores and marvelous restaurants to fit any budget. We were there for New Years Eve, and the town puts on a great fireworks display over Lago Villarica, near Grand Hotel Pucon. The whole town just buzzes with energy, as families take to the streets with their silly hats, noise makes, and glow lights. There are a lot of stray dogs, so if you go to a parilla and have a giant steak for lunch, you will smell great to the dogs, and some may follow you around for a while, which can be a little annoying. But at least they don't jump on you and know how to keep their distance. Hey, if that's my biggest complaint, I'd say this town is worth a visit if you are in Chile for a relaxing, resort-town atmosphere.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chitown-wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2009

This is a lovely place in the charming resort town of Pucon. It's conveniently located a block from the water and in easy walking distance of all the other attractions of Pucon. It has offstreet (gated) parking, which is of great use in Chilean towns, which seem to all have serious parking problems. The grounds are fenced and beautifully landscaped; there's a pool. The staff / owners are very friendly and warm, though they do not speak much English (but that is standard for Chile). Inside, the woodwork, stonework and furnishings are charming and of high quality. It is even prettier than it looks on the internet. We loved coming back the three nights we stayed here to our refuge. Pucon is the most tourist-friendly place we stayed in Chile, but it is still a little chaotic.

The one downside of this hotel when we stayed there (high summer, weekend) was the noise at night. Our room faced the street; it would be better to be on the back facing the pool. While the landscaping and fence provided insulation, Chileans are a night people, so there was whooping and conversation and the whistle of the little tourist train probably until 2 or 3 a.m. and we heard it all. To really avoid this, you would have to be outside the developed part of the town. The hotels on the beach, like the Grand Hotel Pucon, are further from the street, but the beach might have its own party atmosphere. Obviously the hotels out of town, like Antumalal and Villarica Park Lake Hotel (which looked really nice) would not have this problem, but then you would face the problem of having to drive into Pucon and find parking--not the most painless thing. Even with the noise, I'm not sure we'd do anything differently if we had it to do over again.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwi066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2008

What a wonderful hotel! We've chosen it after reseraching Pucon hotels on TripAdvisor and elsewhere on the Internet, and it turned out to be even better than expected. It's a charming boutique hotel with look and feel of an Alpine chalet. The rooms are nice though not very large, and we were lucky to have one with a gorgeous view of Villarrica volcano. The service was exceptional: we were treated like family members. If our schedule required an early breakfast, it was ready for us at the sunbreak. All our requests were immidiately accommodated. The location is also very nice -- across the square from Grand Hotel Pucon, one block from Lago Villarrica (don't miss the gorgeous sunset on the lake!)

Overall, great experience and a highlight of the trip. Thanks Francisco!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Miklukho-Maklai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2008

After reading TA and Fodors we decided on the Huincahue. There is nothing wrong with this place, but nothing special either. The rooms are clean, but somewhat uninteresting. The breakfast was the worst of our three week trip--very little choice and instant tasting coffee. We had considered the Antumalal, but some TA postings about bedbugs made us change our minds. We did go there for lunch one day and it was beautiful--what a view and also good food. Would probably stay there if we ever go back to Pucon.

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank 100db
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pucon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Patagonia Pucon
Hotel Patagonia Pucon
#11 of 26 in Pucon
128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La posada Plaza Pucon
1.1 mi away
Hotel Malalhue
Hotel Malalhue
#19 of 26 in Pucon
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cocurantu Hotel Boutique
0.3 mi away
Del Volcan Apart Hotel
Del Volcan Apart Hotel
#14 of 26 in Pucon
91 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Antumalal
Hotel Antumalal
#3 of 26 in Pucon
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Huincahue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Huincahue

Address: Pedro de Valdivia 375, Pucon, Chile
Location: Chile > Araucania Region > Pucon
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in Pucon
Price Range: $155 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Huincahue 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Huincahue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huincahue Hotel Pucon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing