We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful big log cabin boutique hotel”
Review of Hotel Malalhue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Malalhue
Ranked #18 of 26 Hotels in Pucon
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful big log cabin boutique hotel”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed for a few days in January and loved this hotel. Having booked at the last minute, this is peak season for the lakes, so this was about all we could find. Lucky us as we may not have otherwise have considered it! It is a little out of the centre of Pucon, only about a 15 minute leisurely walk and a good way to get your bearing for all the local amenities and restaurants on the way in. It is on the main road into Pucon, so it is well serviced by taxis and "collectivos", these are fixed price taxis that you share with others and SO CHEAP, about 400 pesos (USD1) for a 5 minute drive into Pucon or back after dinner, there are also lots of them, you'll never be stuck and a great hassle free way to go to dinner in Central Pucon and not worry about the drive back after you've enjoyed beautiful Chilean wine with your meal!!

Pucon itself is a vibrant lovely little village, lots of local arts and crafts, markets and enormous selection of restaurants and cafés, plus of course, the magnificent Lake and Volcano Villarrica.

I've read some other reviews about the size of the rooms. However, we had a HUGE double room on the first floor, first room to the left of the stairs, flat screen TV, big modern bathroom, lovely warm shower with lots of power, hair dryer, large wardrobe and safe, dresser and lots of room for bags. We found the room quiet, with a huge comfy heavenly bed. At night, the lakes area is quite cool in summer, you need to pack warm clothes for the evening, so room was just right for us, no need for aircon.

The hotel is charming, it looks like a big log cabin, but inside it is totally modern. Free wifi downstairs, free computers to use, enjoy the huge lovely lounge overlooking the gardens and hydrangeas everywhere. Plenty of parking too, highly recommend hiring a
car, not for the location of the hotel but because there is SO much to do and see in the area!!!

Very friendly staff, who will give you maps and tell you all the local tips in what to do and see.

Lovely breakfast, hot and cold, in a beautiful setting. You must try the local freshly baked "kuchen" pastry, it is traditionally eaten in the morning.

We were pleasantly surprised by how lovely the hotel was and great value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Panda9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    38
    33
    13
    3
See reviews for
32
51
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Although the hotel is a little far from town and the accompanying sights, the hotel is very good. Service, the hotel restaurant and the accomodation were all very good too. A good and quiet option for Pucon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Griffin257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zichron Yaakov, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Very nice hotel. Our roon in the third floor overlooked (through a very small window) the villarica mountain. There is no elevator in the hotel, the bed was too soft and the shower could be better (low flow). No aircondition in the room and it was extremely hot, we asked for a fan and it made the room much comfortable. The hotel is not in the center nad it is not witin walking distance but very convenient if you have a car. Breakfast was OK

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Standard double rooms are very small so we upgraded to a triple room with marginally more space. The walls are paper-thin, you can hear everything in the adjoining rooms. Wi-fi is available in the lobby area only. A 20 minute walk into town. We arrived at breakfast the first morning at 0900 to find virtually nothing left, when we pointed out to the waitress that there were
no eggs/fruit/cheese etc., we were met with a very 'couldn't care less attitude' and the food was grudgingly replaced. The second morning was better although the one available toaster was broken. During our 3-night stay breakfast was a very haphazard affair.
There are better options then this if staying out of town.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank footlooseski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Malalhue is a nice hotel, clean, cosy and with nice people. It is about 30 minutes walk from town centre. Rooms are nice, but noisy. Breakfast and diner are very good, with splendid wines.
Wi-fi was free but accessible only in the lounge area. There are also 3 free to use computers.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lieuwe17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2011

I recently stayed in room 202 - do not rent this room. It is on the second floor under the low hanging roof. The noise from the highway is so bad at night you cannot have your window open and try to sleep. This is the main highway from Argentina to Chile in this area. The room was so small there was not even a chair in it [no place to put one]. No desk and no place to put your luggage, I had to put the luggage in the bathroom to be able to walk around the bed. The small TV got one Spanish channel in black-and-white. The bathtub was approximately 3 feet long and a foot and half wide with sloping sides, no place to stand with your feet flat due to the sloping sides. The toilet leaked water on the floor for the entire three day stay. The location says it's close to the city center, but I don't know what they're talking about. At a brisk pace it took 32 min. to walk to the center of town. 85° was the coolest the room ever got, no a/c . There was a nice swimming pool area and kids were using it, but it was a shade of green found mostly in Koi ponds. On the plus side, the staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelerJoe1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pucon hotels

Rural Virginian
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2011

The only letdown hotel of the trip. It was nice enough, though far from the town center but we had a room on the ground floor and it was noisy. The parking lot was right outside our windows but more noisy was that we could hear everything in the dining room--from late night diners to early buffet-breakfast eaters. The place was nice, friendly, and clean, though.

The distance to town is a bit of a drawback. Even though we had a car it is hard to park in Pucon so it was a hassle to drive into town.

Their heated pool is nice. Wi-fi was free but accessible only in the lounge area.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schlegal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pucon hotels
1.2 mi away
Gran Hotel Pucon
Gran Hotel Pucon
#12 of 26 in Pucon
966 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Pucon Green Park
4.3 mi away
Hotel and Cabanas Monte Verde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Hotel Boutique CasaEstablo
1.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Araucarias
Hotel & Spa Araucarias
#23 of 26 in Pucon
146 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Antumalal
Hotel Antumalal
#3 of 26 in Pucon
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Malalhue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Malalhue

Property: Hotel Malalhue
Address: Camino Internacional 1615, Pucon, Chile
Location: Chile > Araucania Region > Pucon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 26 Hotels in Pucon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Malalhue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Malalhue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing