We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,192)
Filter reviews
1,192 results
Traveler rating
159
387
345
179
122
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
159
387
345
179
122
Show reviews that mention
All reviews room service classic hotel wifi access excellent location chilli refrigerator bathtub television
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 1,192 reviews
Reviewed November 10, 2018

The hotel has a fantastic location overlooking the lake and that is the only good thing about it, I paid US$ 640.00 for 3 nights with my son, I expected a much better standard of comfort and service but, the hotel may have been Grand more than 50 years ago but now it has been taken over by a big operator that has not bother to modernise or upgrade the facilities, the staff are generally indifferent and apathetic, there is absolutely no information in the room regarding the hotel facilities nor the local attractions, the only exception was a threatening sign with a US$ 150.00 fine for smoking in the room, how is that for a welcome!! breakfast was generous but mediocre in quality there is no proper restaurant other than a fast food type eatery with trashy paper table covers, I could go on but I think you get the idea

Room tip: Don't bother
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Eduardo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHPPUCON, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Hotel Pucon, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2018

Dear Customer, we appreciate your time in giving us your opinion. Best regards from Gran Hotel Pucón.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018 via mobile

We came with friends and had two rooms. We booked online at the last minute and got a good price. The bathrooms were old and tired (chipped tiles, basins, etc.) but we had hot water and lots of it. The beds were king size and very comfortable. We didn’t turn on the television so could not comment on it. The hotel is old and has seen better days but for me that’s part of its charm. It looks like many of the old British run hotels in Malaysia and Singapore. High ceilings, polished boards for floors, fancy drapes in old designs.
It was cool when were there but we slept with the window open because our room got very stuffy. I imagine it would be very hot in summer.
Breakfast was good, with a fairly wide range of choices and even healthy muesli, although I will never understand the Chilean practice of not fully cooking scrambled eggs.
We were lucky in that the rain and clouds cleared one afternoon and we got to see the volcano out the back. The pool was our view out the front.
The hotel is a short walk from many other restaurants so you do not need to eat in.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank robinp154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHPPUCON, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Hotel Pucon, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2018

Dear customer, we appreciate your time in giving us your opinion. This year the renovation works of our Hotel begin.

Best regards from Gran Hotel Pucón.




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2018 via mobile

Good
- good sized rooms
- came with mobile heater to keep warm
- good breakfast selection

Not so good
- tired decor and room could do with some work. Lots of peeling paint etc
- staff seem depressed and unhelpful.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank LondonHoxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHPPUCON, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Hotel Pucon, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2018

Dear customer, we appreciate your time in giving us your opinion.

Best regards from Gran Hotel Pucón.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2018 via mobile

We came with a group! Shower head is not attached to the wall so you need to hand wash or bath! Hotel is very tired, needs a good renovation!
Breakfasts are very basic, not fresh!
Close to town and right on the lake which is nice and easy to access.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank Braxmere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHPPUCON, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Hotel Pucon, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2018

Dear customer, we appreciate your time in giving us your opinion.

Best regards from Gran Hotel Pucón.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2018

We came in winter. We found that most rooms have heating problems, which is not admisible in winter below 5C and with a baby. Those rooms which have heat, they make an absurd noise AAALLL night long, so forget about if you are looking for warm and quiet sleep.
Further the indoor pool is not warm, its around 18C which is really cold for the winter, specially if the heaters to get out of the pool dont work, so you get out and you have 15C and then you have to go outside into the cold and wet. Altogether, you will catch cold.
The restaurant were both closed so you will have to go out to have dinner, even if its pouring rain. We were with a one year old child so it was not that funny.
The room tv... didnt work. The antenna of the hotel broke during friday night and nobody took care of reparing it. We came during the football world cup so we were really upset.
Nobody gave us any explanations or treat. Actually the manager said this happens quite often but people dont complain... so chilena people, start exercising your consumer rights!! Our stay was an awful nightmare and we ended going to another hotel so we wouldnt freeze.
Basically, all the services you see in ebooking and other pages are not there but they charge you as if they were there. I consider that fake publicity and a scam on behalf of the Enjoy hotel chains.

Room tip: dont come at all
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hilacha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHPPUCON, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Hotel Pucon, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2018

Dear customer, we appreciate your time in giving us your opinion, we have given each department involved its comment to work on those improvements, on the services offered we have asked each operator to rectify the information.

Best regards from Gran Hotel Pucón.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews