We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not so Grand any more”
Review of Gran Hotel Pucon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gran Hotel Pucon
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Pucon
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not so Grand any more”
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Pros:
Location
Gigantic Bathroom
Free shuttle to Ski resort
Fantastic water pressure
Cleanish
Free Wifi in rooms, lobby, breakfast room

Cons:
Place is tired: Chipping paint, door hinges, chipped sink, showhead sprays everywhere.
Very few outlets in the room
No clock
Very little English
Tiny elevator

Nice hotel, not worth the money. While it's very old it wouldn't call it dirty except black tile grout and things along those lines. Don't expect much english. In order to get the free breakfast you have to wear a silly bracelet that identifies you as a hotel guest. The breakfast is pretty good. You have to pay $12 to use the hot tub.

I'd try somewhere else in Pucon before coming back here mostly due to the value.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank obiwan9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    321
    266
    126
    83
See reviews for
383
288
14
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2011

The hotel is beautiful, very clean, the staff is excellence in customer service, extremely comfortable rooms, quiet, cleaned daily, great bedroom with a bed linen and mattress very good.
The location is perfect, the hotel's facilities are like a resort: two swimming pools, gym, squash court, bike loans, outdoor pool, beach service (summer only), etc..
The hotel has two types of accommodation: hotel rooms and apartments.
The hotel rooms are a bit more expensive but have a different room service. Since the apartments are a little cheaper, but not worse: it has everything in the kitchen (appliances, cookware, refrigerator, stove, etc.), a great bathroom, living room and bedroom (s). It also has a room service where you can schedule delivery of meals, wake up service, laundry and the like (honestly, I found an apartment even better).
The only negative item is that the maid gets the entire apartment but not the dishes that sits in the sink, and there is no detergent or sponge to wash, have to buy in town, but not enough to be a problem.

Room Tip: To save a little, opt for the apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naty_SP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kingston, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2011

My stay at the GHP was ok. It is not worth the money they charge you. The once grand hotel has a lot of scratches. The hallways are tiled, so the noise level is immense. Especially since they blast techno till early am. The rooms are small but well appointed. The view is fantastic. Everything is very clean, just old. The service is abysmal. People are friendly for sure but do not go the extra inch. When I arrived after 26 hrs of travel at 2pm, I was told the check in was at 3 pm. I was told I could have a twin bed smoking room for the same price as a reserved king bed non smoking. I protested. I was given an email address to complain to. When I asked about the business center in the hotel, I was told it is privately run. I asked about opening times, I was told it is privately run. They did not offer a contact or anything. You always have to wait 15 minutes at the reception, no matter how busy they are. They have tons of black suited guys standing around but few people working. They tell you to walk to the rental car place because they do not have the phone number. They insist they do know the opening times, which were wrong. If they were catering to locals, this level of service would be fine but not with international visitors. It is an ok place to stay and I do not know others in town but I would venture to guess you can do better. I found the website of 'Travel Aid' very helpful with hikes.

Oh, and WIFI access means one wireless network that can only be accessed in the lobby and goes super slow.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 100Honkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville, Spain
1 review
Reviewed February 14, 2011

Amaizing!!
this hotel is huge and confortable
If you go to pucon please stay here is wonderful
The best hotel

So far so good

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GHOS_187443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2011

I've stay only one night, with previous booking made on hoteles.com which was made for 2 adults and 1 kid 3 years old.
First on arrival i was shon the room it was only a king size bed and nothing for my son!!! I was the told that it was standard the kid until 8 sleep with the parents!! In the same bed, i then told them i was not happy with that answer and i wanted to talk to the manager which a was told wasn't there and that if i wanted a room with anoter bed i need to pay a extra of $50!! I was never offered a real solution they just wanted to get more money out of me.
The hotel was dirty, disordered, with staff say that it was happening all the time and they were fed up of it.
If think it was a shame because the hotel has a good location but the management are not customer orientated.
I would not recomend for anyone to stay a this hotel even if the give you the room for free.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franck D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pucon hotels

Ipatinga, MG
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2011

Considering the few options in dowtown Pucon, it is very recomended... If you are with a car, you can consider options in other areas...

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FLAVIOMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2010

I stayed with my spouse during December 2010 for 5 nights. It was the start of the peak (a.k.a. price gauging) season. Having read Tripavisor reviews before the trip, I did not expect the hotel to live up to its 4-star claim. But still, we were disappointed at our stay.

Location - Pucon is a very small town. There are really no "bad" locations if you stay downtown. But the hotel has lake frontage, which is almost beach-like and very pretty. I can't think of a better location downtown.

Property - Once grand, now outdated and full of flaws. The first floor area has a high ceiling which is nice, a lounge with free but not-very-stable wi-fi There are two tiny elevators, which could get crowded at times.

The lake front - beautiful from afar, with black volcanic ash instead of sand. It's a little coarse but if you bring a large towel, you can still lay on the beach. The problem is the many stray dogs that's everywhere in Pucon. The hotel didn't keep them off the lake frontage of the hotel. You'll be unlucky if you step into dog poop. Very unlucky if you get bitten and get sick. None of the dogs were tagged or had a collar, so I assumed none were vaccinated or checked regularly. Bottom line: lay on the "beach" at your own risk.

We used the restaurant for their breakfast buffet (7500 pesos per person). In a town where you can only find instant coffee in a little styrofoam cup from a vending machine in a convenience store, I appreciated coffee in a real cup. The variety and quality of breakfast items are good, although the scrambled egg is quite tepid.

The Jokers bar doesn't seem to be a popular place. 20% discount for hotel guests. I went there once and it smelled like cigarette.

In the public restroom near the restaurant, there are toilets with no seats on them...

Room - You will get a great view whether you have a lake view or mountain view room. The mountain is the nearby picture-perfect volcano. No Internet or wi-fi available in rooms. No clock. No coffee maker or water boiler. My room didn't have a thermometer and it was very cold when I stayed there. I had to sleep with my winter jacket on top of the comforter. Hot water is either cold or just lukewarm, i.e. you don't even want to turn on the cold water to take a shower. One day I came back to find there was no water at all. Towards the end of our stay, I started to have muscle cramps because of the cold room with no HOT showers and no hot water. The TV had 4 channels with bad picture quality. The minibar fridge made noise. Walls are paper thin and we could hear our neighbor going into his room from the hallway. Toilet seat was badly installed and insists on staying down all the time. (Gentlemen might have a hard time.) No hotel information brochure telling you what service is available at the hotel, and I didn't find out about the whirlpool and the gym until our last day of stay. The only in-room tourist magazine is about Santiago, not Pucon. The hairdryer was a joke.

The staff is friendly, but many of them are not well-trained. the worst is that when they don't speak much English and don't really understand what you want, they act like they do and say "Si" without knowing what they are saying yes go. It takes housekeeping forever to clean the room. When we arrived, we had two bath towels. The second day, we were left with one. The third day, no towel at all. One day, I asked for housekeeping service soon as I was leaving the hotel for a few hours. The front desk said "Si" and took my room number. When I came back, nothing had happened. When I confronted front desk, I was told that the message had been passed on to the housekeeping team but they might have their own schedule...So my request basically didn't mean anything...

There is a Enjoy Tour agency on site which is convenient, but they tend to charge more than the many tour companies on O'Higgine Avenue. This may be due to the fact that they provide transportation in a better vehicle. Interestingly, their price for Canopy is more than double the going rate, but the price for Terms Geometricas is the best.

Gran Hotel seems to be the only hotel downtown large enough to accommodate a large group. The the hotel certainly has a lot of potential with its location (no need to rent a car, lake front) and history. But there is a lot of room for improvement.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morniing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pucon hotels
3.6 mi away
Hotel and Cabanas Monte Verde
2.4 mi away
Pucon Green Park Hotel
Pucon Green Park Hotel
#11 of 25 in Pucon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
7.5 mi away
Vira Vira Hacienda Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Antumalal
Hotel Antumalal
#2 of 25 in Pucon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique CasaEstablo
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Araucarias
Hotel & Spa Araucarias
#24 of 25 in Pucon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Pucon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Pucon

Property: Gran Hotel Pucon
Address: Clemente Holzapfel 190, Pucon, Chile
Location: Chile > Araucania Region > Pucon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Pucon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gran Hotel Pucon 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Hotel Pucon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing