We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rustic, but fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Antumalal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Antumalal
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Pucon
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Rustic, but fun”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

The staff were absolutely a gem in helping us set up trips and tours for the region. If you are looking for posh, though, this might not be your cup of tea as it is a little rustic and keeps the 1950s architecture alive. That said, the views for sunset were amazing and the constant roar of the enormous fireplace was amazing. Very family friendly (if you don't want to be around kids, don't go here, though). Wifi was spotty, at best.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RLTJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah W, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Antumalal, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write your comments. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and hope you may return to stay with again in the future. In regard to your comment about our Wifi, we have asked our technician to run some new tests in a bid to improve this service for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    71
    24
    10
    4
See reviews for
95
231
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Everything exceeded our expectations! The owner and staff are always there to meet your needs! The food is excellent and the view while dining is amazing! Did I mention the ambiance? Termas Geometricas is an absolute must, especially in the fall. Tom & Kim, San Diego, California

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tycrobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfocados, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Antumalal, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post your review! We agree that the views & the ambiance are second to none. Hopefully we can welcome you back again one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Rather a cliche re the title but I have to say that as soon as we arrived at this hotel those were the exact words that went through my mind. My friend and I stayed here as part of a tour of Chile and Argentina and spent 5 nights here. The hotel's location is perfect and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. In summary:
1) the service is exemplary from ALL of the staff and I do feel that they made our stay as enjoyable as possible. Special thanks to Ewa.
2) the support from the team in setting up trips is very good because the hotel have an in-house expert who can tailor to your precise requirements. The hike in Huerquehue national park is amazing!! Gonzalo is very helpful and friendly and sets the hiking pace to suit your fitness.
3) we had the benefit of having half board and the restaurant has a tasty menu. I enjoyed the empenadas and the fish (nice change to beef!)
4) the rooms were clean and comfortable. The bathroom that we had was nice but could do with some TLC and little modernisation but only to tie in with the rest of the hotel.
5) the in house spa treatments are lovely and I think very reasonably priced
6) pool...great, great small pebble beach in the grounds and it is secluded and peaceful
7) Pucon town is very nearby in a car or taxi...or 20 minute walk

The only thing I would mention that isn't really a big deal is that the climate in Pucon is such that it can be very warm in the day and the temperature dips in the evening. The suites have airconditioning but not the basic rooms. When we arrived it was warm in the room and I was worried that the room would be that warm overnight but it cools down in the evening.

I would definitely recommend staying here and I am hard to please!

Room Tip: suite if you want air conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank somebod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfocados, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Antumalal, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
A lovely review, thanks for taking the time to write this up. We agree that the views, rooms, restaurant and food are all delicious in every way. We do hope you can return one day to enjoy the delights of the Antumalal once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Bluff, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We spent 4 nights at Hotel Antumalal and hated to leave! It is a throw-back to a simpler time--the rooms are small, but clean and comfortable with amazing views of the lake and a working fireplace in the room. The grounds are gorgeous with gardens set on a hillside with beautiful terraces to relax and enjoy the views. The staff are very friendly, accommodating and helpful---wonderful at helping with suggestions and directions for activities in the area. The restaurant serves delicious dinners and a very nice morning buffet.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marys1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfocados, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Antumalal, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review of our hotel. We agree that it is often hard to leave the Antumalal, many guests say the same as they are checking out. Maybe next time you can return for a longer stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

This hotel first opened in 1950. I first visited in 1964. Its Czech founders had a timeless idea--quality construction on a beautiful property with breathtaking views. There are only 15 rooms and 4 cottages. The staff is as courteous, warm and well-informed as any in Chile. While the food and the room appointments are "basic" rather than sumptuous, I love the 50s feel and the gardens, walks ,sunsets and flowers. This classic hotel is a must for anyone visiting the lake district. Paul

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfocados, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Antumalal, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, and thank you for returning to the hotel after so many years! We hope you found it exactly as you expected, we too agree that the hotel founders had a timeless vision that we strive to maintain so we can keep on offering a great experience to all our clients. Hopefully you won't wait so long before you visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We were here in January and we loved the unusual style. Dining on the terrace with the wonderful views was a treat and the food was very good. The pool was lovely, we had a three bedroomed lodge, again with great views. Breakfast was a bit uninspiring but still fine, you can ask for something cooked which we didn't realise until the second day. The gardens are beautiful and the vegetable garden is a treat. We were a party of 10 and I think all enjoyed the experience. There is a very personal feel to the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fizzyDorking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfocados, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Antumalal, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Many thanks for your lovely words about the hotel. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thanks also for your comment about hot food at breakfast, we will bring this to the attention of the waiters. We do hope one day you can return to the Antumalal!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We found this to be an excellent hotel in all respects. The location on the lakeside is stunning, it's grounds are very well maintained, Extensive and offer many private idyllic spots such as beaches, lookouts, piers, and lawns. The rooms offer panoramic lake views and dramatic sunsets. The bedrooms are well equipped and spacious. We found the staff to be unfailingly courteous, helpful and friendly. The restaurant makes best use of the cliff side location and offers fresh and tasty food and a good wine selection. This is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed at.

Room Tip: Ask. For sunset view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hkroverSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfocados, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Antumalal, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write this comment. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed a great stay. We do hope that you will recommend us to your friends and family & that maybe we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Antumalal in a future visit to Pucón.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pucon hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel and Cabanas Monte Verde
8.5 mi away
Vira Vira Hacienda Hotel
3.1 mi away
Pucon Green Park Hotel
Pucon Green Park Hotel
#11 of 25 in Pucon
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique CasaEstablo
1.2 mi away
Gran Hotel Pucon
Gran Hotel Pucon
#12 of 25 in Pucon
908 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cocurantu Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Antumalal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antumalal

Property: Hotel Antumalal
Address: Km2 Camino Pucon-Villarrica, Pucon, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Araucania Region > Pucon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pucon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pucon
#3 Family Hotel in Pucon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Antumalal 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than just a place to sleep, the Antumalal offers an unforgettable experience. Building began in 1945 fusing vanguard architectural forms with functionality and complete integration with the surroundings. To this day the unique character has been preserved, and all areas offer the amenities of a luxurious boutique hotel. Each of the 22 rooms is paneled with local wood and stone and all materials and furnishings are locally made. The panoramic windows look out over the private park and lake instigating a feeling of calm and total rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Antumalal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antumalal Hotel Pucon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing