We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic property with some problems”
Review of Hotel Antumalal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Antumalal
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Pucon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2014

The property is beautifully situated and the views from our room were magnificent.
I do have some issues with the hotel. The staff is much less welcoming and engaged than in the great majority of hotels in Chile.
The WiFi is very poor and problematic.
The dining room has a gorgeous view and the food is quite good.

Room Tip: Request a very large room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfocados, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Antumalal, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Many thanks for your comment. We were quite surprised to read that you found our staff unwelcoming as, I am sure you have read in the majority of the comments here on this page, our staff are heralded as being top class. Do you have a specific example you could share with us?

In regard to the wifi, we do have issues during February at times due to the huge influx of tourists that saturate the available networks. This may sound like an excuse, but it is a real problem for all of us here in Pucon when the population swells from the normal 23.000 all year round to close to 90.000 during February. I can assure you that we do consistently work to improve on this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (470)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

103 - 109 of 470 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2014

Our family of 7 spent 4 nights at the Antumalal Hotel in Pucon in January. The hotel is quite special. Before you even get there they are helpful and responsible for booking any excursions you might want. . The grounds are luxurious with many nooks both inside and out to relax in. It is family owned and they treat you as family. The restaurant has a nice buffet for breakfast with eggs to order included in your stay and should you eat other meals there, they are excellent as well. The bartender, Israel, will get to know you and our happy hour was a great way to be together. Located a few kilometers from the town center, it's an inexpensive cab ride there.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madeleine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfocados, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Antumalal, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write this lovely comment. I shall also pass it onto Don Israel! It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Please let us know when you return next time that you have stayed with is before many times. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed 3 nights in this very nice hotel. Our room was facing the lake Villarica and the beautiful garden. Unfortunately it rained for 3 days. We enjoyed the open fire places and the views from the floor to ceiling windows. It is a pity that there are almost no comfortable chairs to sit and relax. Everything is vintage, but please note we enjoyed this. Breakfast was just okay. Lunch was very good. Very friendly staff. Kind receptionists advising where to go or to have dinner. Rooms are comfortable with open fire place as well. Small bathrooms. Quiet location, five minutes drive from city centre. Nice pool, good massages.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmotionsTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfocados, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Antumalal, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Many thanks for your comments. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. In order to help us to continue improving could you let us know what you feel could be added to the buffet breakfast, and when you mention there were a lack of comfortable chairs, were you referring to the bedrooms or the public areas? We look forward to welcoming you back to the Antumalal in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

This was the last time we stayed here. We have known the Antumalal since the late 1990s and priced more than quadrupled since then, making this hotel very poor value for money.

The main selling point continues to be the nice location right on the waterfront. Breakfast here is nothing special. The hotel is nicely designed in Bauhaus style but does appear a bit dated ow. You could put up with the rather small rooms when they cost 150 USD but at 300-400$ they are way too expensive.

My advice is to head a few km towards Villarica and stay in the Park Lake hotel instead. The rooms are twice as big for half the money and the hotel is of a comparable standard.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfocados, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Antumalal, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Thank you for your comments, we are sorry to hear that you will not be returning to stay at the Antumalal again. We do not believe we are at all a comparable hotel to the Park Lake as the Antumalal is independent and the Park Lake is a chain hotel. In order to help us to improve, can you give us more information about what you felt was lacking in the buffet breakfast please? Thank you in advance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

If you're visiting Pucon, looking for the perfect location - lakeside resort and amazing view this is a great place to consider. However, if you want the service to go along with it ou may be in for dissapointment.

When my wife an I arrived (for our honeymoon), we realized there was no refridgerator, but we could live with that. Then we booked an 1.5 hour massage (which was not cheap) and only were serviced for about one hour. After inquiring, they gave an excuse saying that the time included preparation in the beginning and "rest time" for the guest at the end. We argued that if we pay for 1.5 hours we should be massaged for 1.5 hours.

The final straw came when we asked for a bucket of ice for our Champagne. They said they ran out and would have some at our room ASAP. 2 hours later there was no ice available.

Seperately, these are all argulably minor points, but together with just ok service overall, and what seemed to be a "nothing we can do about it attitude", it was dissapointing.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfocados, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Antumalal, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Thank you for your comments. I have checked with the Manager who was on duty that day & he informs me that you were not charged for your massage as a result of this inconvenience, which seems to have been as a result of a communication issue between reception and the masseuse. In regard to your comment about the ice, we can only apologise that you suffered this inconvenience. Sometimes we just have to admit our errors and ask that this small negative experience did not affect the overall enjoyment of your stay. We do hope we can welcome you back to the Antumalal at some point in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Without doubt one of the best hotels in the most ideallyic surrounds i have ever experienced. Wonderful staff who went to enormous length's to make our stay as enjoyable as possible, service with a smile at all hours of the day.

Excellent traditional food served overlooking the serentity of Lake Villarrica always accompanied by a good choice of excellent wines.

Very comfortable rooms with the option of central heating or a wood burning fireplace that was replenished daily.

Any tour requirements were arranged by the hotel staff professionally with pick up and drop off's at your door. Easy 15 minute walk into Pucon or 5 mins by cab at ridiculousy cheap rates make it all so easy.

Definately will be back for a much longer stay in this absolute paradise, thanks to management Sarah and Andrew for making our stay truly memorable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrew m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfocados, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Antumalal, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write these kind words! We do endeavour to offer our staff the best service possible and we are happy that you fully enjoyed your stay. We do hope we will welcome you back to the Antumalal in the future. Warm regards from Pucón!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

The hotel is set in a lovely position outside the town of Pucon. The dining room and sitting room look out over the lovely Lake Villarrica. We stayed 2 nights and the hotel is very pleasant and the rooms are comfortable.
The restaurant serves excellent food with very attentive restaurants. The set menu for those on an inclusive rate is a bit limited but they will allow you to pick from the a la carte up to a value limit. They should volunteer this without your having to ask.
Pucon is a lively lake and skiing town. It nestles under the Villarrica volcano with stunning views.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfocados, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Antumalal, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Thanks for your kind review. We will have a meeting about how we offer the fixed menu to guests allowing for options for those who wish to add something additional to their meal. Thanks for raising this as it will serve to help us improve. We hope to see you back at the Antumalal soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pucon hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel and Cabanas Monte Verde
3.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique CasaEstablo
3.1 mi away
Hotel Pucon Green Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Hacienda Vira Vira - Relais & Chateaux
18.5 mi away
Hotel & Termas Huife
Hotel & Termas Huife
#6 of 26 in Pucon
345 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gran Hotel Pucon
Gran Hotel Pucon
#13 of 26 in Pucon
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Antumalal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antumalal

Address: Km2 Camino Pucon-Villarrica, Pucon, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Araucania Region > Pucon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pucon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pucon
#3 Family Hotel in Pucon
Price Range: $237 - $706 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Antumalal 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than just a place to sleep, the Antumalal offers an unforgettable experience. Building began in 1945 fusing vanguard architectural forms with functionality and complete integration with the surroundings. To this day the unique character has been preserved, and all areas offer the amenities of a luxurious boutique hotel. Each of the 22 rooms is paneled with local wood and stone and all materials and furnishings are locally made. The panoramic windows look out over the private park and lake instigating a feeling of calm and total rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Antumalal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antumalal Hotel Pucon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing