We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most exquisite hotel I've ever been in”
Review of Hotel Antumalal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Antumalal
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Pucon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2013

My new husband and I stayed at the hotel antumalal on our honeymoon in chile at the end of February) We were there for 4 nights, and it was the most exquisite experience of our two weeks in chile. The rooms are incredibly beautiful - with wooden paneling, fire places (that the fantastic staff will come and light, which is lovely for the cooler evenings). The hotel is incredibly private, with a glorious view of lake Villarica. It is so unobtrusive, that from the lake, you can barely see the hotel and grounds. It fits in with the scenery and does not take away from the beautify of nature, as some developments do. The hotel and grounds have been so incredibly planned and landscaped so that wherever you are on the property you feel like you are private. There are only about 20 rooms in the hotel and they don't have numbers on the door. It is your name that they place on the door. That is a touch of real class, elegance and personalization. The pools are beautiful, overlooking the lake. Gorgeous bright red flowers frame the pools and various patios on the property two highlight the beauty of the surroundings. The restaurant is excellent, breakfast is wonderful in the morning, overlooking the lake. There are so many nooks and crannies to have a beautiful view of the lake, enjoy some drinks and appetizers and relax. It was the absolutely perfect spot for us to relax following the business and emotional high of a wedding!! The other fantastic aspect of the hotel is that it is outside if the cute, fun and bustling tourist city of pucon. You have total peace and privacy. But it is very close to pucon, we had a rental car, and went into pucon every day to explore and we ate at some amazing restaurants. Or favourite restaurant in town was a local Parilla (south American barbecue) called La Maga. The hotel will arrange various tours for you as well, like white water rafting, climbing the volcano, etc.

We don't expect ever in our life to be treated as well or have as luxuriously comfortable experience as we had at hotel antumalal. We have been busy recommending it to our parents and friends as the most exquisite experience the can find.

It's worth every penny!

Room Tip: All the rooms have a lake view and are exactly the same so every room is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antumaco, Director Comercial at Hotel Antumalal, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you do very much for your wonderful accolades about our hotel! You have summed us up perfectly, capturing the very essence of what we aim to offer our guests - that perfect experience of tranquility and service in a magnificent setting. We hope that you may return one day, maybe in another season, so that you can appreciate the beauty of our hotel & surroundings with us once more. Thank you again for taking the time to post your review, it really does matter to us to hear what you think of the Antumalal! Until next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (470)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

121 - 127 of 470 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

The Antumalal is an old-style luxury hotel with 10 or 12 rooms in total. I had read about it and decided to splurge for a couple of nights in December, 2012. The rooms are all the same, I think, and all lined up in a single horizontal arc. All have "heaven must be like this" views, with (yes!) small bathrooms and low ceilings (maybe 7'8" or 2.4m). The architect was a student of F. L Wright who was about 5'2" (155 cm) tall ... All his buildings and houses are built for short folks. If you like that vast plasterboard experience, then skip the Antumalal.
Everything about the place is a bit old and also wonderful. There's a big living-room (with high ceiling and giant fireplace) just off the lobby. We spent two evening there. They'll serve you tea or alcohol or desserts all night if you like, while keeping the fireplace going. It's sorta like the home you want, but with servants. Very nice, very low key. Gardens are dock are splendid; we did not see the pool and spa. Restaurant is excellent, but the service was not fully professional. Maybe we were there early in the season and they were using us to break in a couple of young new waiters. We all our evening meals there, and were quite pleased. Probably best for couples over the age of 40, but there were families there at meals who seemed to be having a blast.
If I have the resources (it's expensive), I will go there again. It envelops you in a unique and magical world, where service and quality are quietly everywhere. (e.g. tire went flat while we were there, and they just took care of it for about 8$us, and gave us the receipt from the gas station).

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jared413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antumaco, Director of Sales at Hotel Antumalal, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review of our hotel. Architecturally speaking, we know we have a unique gem here in our small part of southern Chile! And the views, yes, they are simply spectacular, even those of us who see them every day do not fail to marvel at the depth and the changing colours of the lake and the surrounding mountains. We do hope that one day you may return to enjoy those same views again. Have a great day meanwhile!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stay here for a few nights.
The hotel is wonderfull ,the style Bauhaus is unique.
We love the furnitures,we love the food ,we love the garden,we love the view.
The persons working in the hotel are very helpfull and very nice.
A lady at the front desk GLORIA gave us very good advices and has been absolutely delicious with us.
We will be back in these hotel.

Stayed: March 2013
Thank Jean-Pierre V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antumaco, Director of Sales at Hotel Antumalal, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I will pass your glowing words on Gloria at the front desk. We hope to welcome you back again one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We had been in Chile a week when we found this hidden gem. Being an architect and interior designer, we loved this beautifully designed hotel that took advantage of the stunning views. All of the rooms face the lake (west), which can make the rooms hot unless you keep the drapes closed. But after the hottest part of the day, you can open the window for a great breeze that makes the rooms very comfortable. (Most places we stayed did not have AC, faced west for water views and had table-top fans, like this hotel.)

We stayed two nights, and spent the day at the (nice but rocky) beach where we went for a swim off the pier, walked thru the beautiful gardens where we found their organic vegetable garden, and a secluded bench with a great view of the lake. The only negatives were that they could use 2 more chases in the pool area and when we asked for a towel, they were all in the laundry and we had to get some from our room.

For dinner, we shared an appetizer that was very good, and my husband had a steak that was to die for, and I think I had Congrio eel that was good. However, we should have stopped after the huge appetizer, because we were stuffed after finishing half of our entrees.

The buffet breakfast was better than usual with yogurt, bread, 2 kinds of very good pound cake, 2 kinds of cheese and sliced meat, juice, coffee, tea and maybe cereal. If you wanted something else, you could order it for an extra charge.

At check-out, we could not get our trunk to lock, which one of their employees was able to fix. We returned a short time later after the gas line fell off (do NOT rent from Alamo/National because they have a terrible reputation in Chile), and two good Samaritans in that town were able to re-attach it. The staff bent over backwards to help us with not only contacting Alamo, but called around to find a place for us to stay since they were booked.

We would not hesitate to stay there again! It is all about service!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdozer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antumaco, Director of Sales at Hotel Antumalal, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review of our hotel, it really is a architectural gem. Thanks to your comments, we have already purchased more towels for the Spa so that the same issue does not happen again, and we have listed installing air conditioning into our second floor rooms in June this year. We agree that the food in our restaurant is great, the portions abundant and the flovours divine! We look forward to welcoming you back here again on your next trip to Chile.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed in this hotel last month based on the trip advisor reviews. We were extremely disappointed. The hotel is not upgraded, there were cracks in between the walls and the fireplace which did not work. We arrived and found two blueberries in the corner of the very old and outdated bathroom, three days later, the same blueberries were still there. Lots of spiders and bugs in and out the room. The swimming pools were very cold. We could not use them. The food menu was very limited and overpriced as well, for the quality offered.. Workers are very nice, this is typical of the South of Chile. This hotel is not worth over 300 dollars to us, maybe 100?.Our next door neighbors started yelling and fighting at 11 PM, we could not rest. The bed was not comfy. The rest of the days we stayed in a different hotel. which was breathtaking and we paid one hundred dollars less per night.. We do not consider Antumalal a world class hotel, but maybe it was once. Advice: Research some more before paying the price. We will not go back..

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
7  Thank lodging
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antumaco, Director Comercial at Hotel Antumalal, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our hotel. As you can see from our Trip Advisor reviews, ratings and status, almost none of our clients share your opinion. The hotel is constantly being upgraded while striving to avoid alterning the original design. The cracks you mention are the product of a tectonic movement in late November and will be eliminated very soon. In regard to your comment about the fireplace, if you had mentioned this during your stay we would have recitified the problem immediately. We have not been made aware of any malfunctioning fireplace over the last few months. In addition, they are all subject to periodic revision. As for the blueberries in the bathroom, we agree this is unacceptable and as a result of your comment, our housekeeping staff have received some additional training focussing on attention to detail. Also, we have periodic fumigations throughout the hotel which eliminate any bugs and have not received any complaints about this recently either. I have checked the register of the swimming pool temperatures for the whole of the month of December and the interior pool never dropped below 26 degrees, apart from one day when the water was topped up and the temperature that day was 24 degrees.

We would like to invite you to return to the Antumalal as we are sure you will leave after a second visit with a totally different impression of the hotel. We are sure most readers of our Trip Advisor comments will agree that the majority of comments that are left here are excellent reflecting our consistent efforts to offer optimum personalised service in our unique setting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

My wife and I completely loved our stay at Antumalal. We were only there 2 days but wished that it had been longer. After 24 hour traveling from California, arriving at Antumalal was the perfect antidote. Beautiful views, quaint and rustic surroundings in a truly "boutique" hotel (only 10-12 rooms). The price is also very reasonable. I would not stay anywhere else in Pucon.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bennett_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antumaco, Director Comercial at Hotel Antumalal, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

We agree that 2 days is not quite enough to fully immerse yourself in the beauty of the Antumalal, but it is certainly better than nothing!! Thank you for your lovely comment, and for mentioning that we are a true "boutique" hotel - we feel that our services and surroundings merit such a category title too. If you return to Pucón we know you will visit us again. Hopefully it won't be too far away in the future!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We celebrated our wedding 10 years ago in Antumalal. This year, our 10th anniversary went with friends to celebrate again in the Antumalal.

Enchanted place. Great Spa, with warm pool, by a fireplace! The staff is extreamly friendly and the food is delicious. Having great pisco sours by the lake was the best. And every evening a nice surprise of chocolates in the room

We will always return.

Room Tip: First floor are my favorite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vvaldesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antumaco, Director Comercial at Hotel Antumalal, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words! It was a pleasure to have you here to celebrate your anniversary. We agree that our Spa is simply magnificent and those magical touches like the huge fireplace just add to the charm of our hotel. You used the word "enchanted" - thank you! It is certainly a perfect adjective to describe the Antumalal. We look forward to welcoming you back for another celebration in future years!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pucon hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel and Cabanas Monte Verde
3.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique CasaEstablo
3.1 mi away
Hotel Pucon Green Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Hacienda Vira Vira - Relais & Chateaux
18.5 mi away
Hotel & Termas Huife
Hotel & Termas Huife
#6 of 26 in Pucon
345 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gran Hotel Pucon
Gran Hotel Pucon
#13 of 26 in Pucon
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Antumalal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antumalal

Address: Km2 Camino Pucon-Villarrica, Pucon, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Araucania Region > Pucon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pucon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pucon
#3 Family Hotel in Pucon
Price Range: $237 - $706 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Antumalal 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than just a place to sleep, the Antumalal offers an unforgettable experience. Building began in 1945 fusing vanguard architectural forms with functionality and complete integration with the surroundings. To this day the unique character has been preserved, and all areas offer the amenities of a luxurious boutique hotel. Each of the 22 rooms is paneled with local wood and stone and all materials and furnishings are locally made. The panoramic windows look out over the private park and lake instigating a feeling of calm and total rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Antumalal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antumalal Hotel Pucon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing