We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful real organic farm right out of Pucon”
Review of Kila Leufu

Kila Leufu
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pucon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kila Leufu
Ranked #78 of 173 Specialty Lodging in Pucon
Puerto Varas, Chile
Level Contributor
113 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Beautiful real organic farm right out of Pucon”
Reviewed April 25, 2011

Irma's place is quite a find. She offers indigenous cooking with products from her large and well cared for organic farm. Pigs, sheep, chickens, and even alpacas roam. A great vegetable garden, chestnut trees, and a little stream round out a very interesting stop.

make sure you call ahead (her website and phone are easily found by googling the name of the place)
to let her prepare.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ABIIIChile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
74 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2011

This is a truly lovely place to stay.

Irma and her family do everything they can to welcome you and make you feel part of the family.

We stayed for 4 nights with our 2 kids who loved being surrounded by chickens, sheep, pigs, ducks and the rest of the menagerie.

But don't think mud and muck, the farm is kept immaculately as is the house. Irma stresses that everything is natural, nearly all the food is home produced and meals are plentiful and delicious.

We spent an enjoyable half day riding with Irma's son in law Peter, followed by lunch with their family just a couple of miles down the road.

We also went on a bird watching trip with her son Marco, which was excellent - we saw giant woodpeckers and condors amongst the beautiful mountains.

All in all, an excellent and great value place to stay.

Some travel tips: if coming from Argentina, the bus from San Martin de Los Andes/Junin will drop you at the door if you explain where you are going. On the return trip they will pick you up too, providing you inform the agency when you book the ticket. Otherwise it is a 15 minute trip by frequent local bus to the nearest stop.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lou_Simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed November 24, 2008

Kila Leufu is a little slice of heaven in a beautiful part of Chile. We arrived with no prior booking and were welcomed immediately by Irma Martinez, the hardest working grandmother in the world! Irma runs this country farmhouse/guesthouse with her husband with ample help from their abundant family. Surrounded by fields full of cows, ducks, geese, chicken, sheep and turkeys, they run the farm alongside the guesthouse, guaranteeing the freshest food for the fantastic breakfasts and dinners Irma provides. All cooked on a woodburning oven, every night we were treated to delicious typical Mapuche (indigenous peoples of southern Chile) dishes. Irma herself is very proud of her Mapuche heritage and will tell you all about her ancestral traditions, but not being able to speak any english, it is a fantastic way to practice speedy spanish!
The bedrooms are cozy and comfortable with good bathroom facilities and wood burners upstairs and down, filling the house not only with heat but also a fantastic smell of wood smoke.
A stones throw away, and constantly in the imposing shadow of the enormous Volca Villarica, there are many waterfalls and thermal pools plus you are a ten minute drive to Pucon, a lively, upmarket town with plenty of tourist excursions from white water rafting to volcano climbing. Kila Leufu is not the place to go for a party, but for a wonderful tranquil and relaxing time, this is a guesthouse not to be missed.

  • Liked — Irma, the lady of the house. A wonderful woman. Plus the view is breathtaking.
  • Disliked — the fact i couldnt stay there for longer!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magic_minnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2007

stayed here in low season, and was nice to get away from downtown pucon, even with very few people there. irma is very sweet and helpful, cooks nice meals, and is always welcoming (even at 10 pm when you are freezing cold from rain... she made us tea and put a fire on!) she connected us with her daughter who runs another farmhouse guesthouse and we went horseback riding there. also got a trip to the panqui thermal spas, which was wonderful and quite unique. the place is on a farm, so just remember ear plugs if you are a light sleeper. i would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Liked — the setting
  • Disliked — hot showers not till noon!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank moogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, IN
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2007

I spent a night at Kila Leufu in the middle of the low season and was the first tourist they'd seen in a week. So, I had to the place to myself. The daughter who handles most of the tourists wasn't in town but it's her parents' farmhouse so mom took care of me. I speak Spanish so it was fun chattering with her, her husband, and the farm workers over meals. It's a bit of a trek out of Pucon but 100% worth it.

  • Liked — beautiful location, friendly hosts
  • Stayed April 2004, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa3383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pucon hotels
0.0 mi away
Princesa Insolente Hostel - Pucon
0.0 mi away
Hotel and Cabanas Monte Verde
0.0 mi away
Cabanas Metrenehue - Parque Metrenehue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Pucon Green Park
0.0 mi away
Hostal Monica
Hostal Monica
#80 of 173 in Pucon
14 reviews
0.0 mi away
ELEMENTOS Hostel
ELEMENTOS Hostel
#13 of 53 in Pucon
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kila Leufu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kila Leufu

Property: Kila Leufu
Address: Pucon, Chile
Location: Chile > Araucania Region > Pucon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 173 Specialty Lodging in Pucon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing