We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location but noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Frontera Pucon Hostel B&B
Ranked #4 of 52 Pucon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Schweiz
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good location but noisy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

The Hostel is conveniently located near the main streets and the beach. However, this also means that at night you hear a lot of the noise of the people partying. In addition, the walls are quite thin so you also hear your neighbors showering. Better not plan to sleep early.

Room was basic and clean with a wonderful view on the volcano.

Breakfast is basic and only from 9am which might be convenient if you just come back from a night partying, but less so if you want to head for the national parks and want to avoid the midday heat.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sildenaviel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FronteraPucon, Owner at Frontera Pucon Hostel B&B, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay.

There are some things that we would like to explain to you:
We are located in the most reserved and quiet part of the city , but the time you chose to visit the city was precisely high season and we can’t limit the noise that people might do on the street, outside our area of activity.

About the walls, here in Chile there are strict rules of construction that must be followed, so the walls are made of a specific material in case of earthquakes, and also for fire. Unfortunately, this material is thin, which allows the sound, when strong, to pass from one room to another. In this case, we depend on the understanding of the people to be more quiet at night or early in the morning, but unfortunately we can’t control this type of behavior.

Our breakfast is served at 9AM and that is standard in the cities of the south of Chile, as nothing is open early around here. All the establishments work that way, including the 5 star hotels. If the guests want, they can use our kitchen to make their own breakfast.

We can not forget that the customs here are different from Europe and maybe you should consider staying in a hotel, since a hostel, no matter how good it is, will always have a very different character and services than a hotel.

Regards, Leo and Isa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    23
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
110
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belo Horizonte, Brazil
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

This nice B&B was chosen due to the extremely expensive options around Pucon area. This does not mean that it is an affordable option, it is just not absurdly expensive as hotels in town. The B&B is nicely run by a Brazilian couple and most of the guests are Brazilian as well.
There is a nice kitchen that you can use and also a backyard if you get good weather. The possibility of cooking helps ease the cost of your trip as Chile is clearly the most expensive destination in South America nowadays. It beats all its neighbors being two to three times more expensive than Brazil or Argentina.
A few tips for getting around and choosing what to do. Most of the attractions near Pucon request that you travel in dirt roads, so if you can, rent a 4 wheel drive. If it is snowing, dont even think about not doing so. Another tip is how long you should stay: 3 days is enough. You will be able to visit the volcano, the thermal baths, waterfalls and the city.
Also, you will find good dining options and you can do everything on foot from the B&B. The owners will give you a really good map once you arrive.
If you dont mind stairs, stay in the second floor where the standard rooms are. The luxury first floor room is quite nice, with a hot tub and lots of space, but you will hear everything other guests are doing. I repeat: everything!
Lastly, there is a nice laundry just two blocks away, B&B is just one block away from the local beach and the lake.
One not to be missed attraction: swim in the "Playa Blanca". It is a must.
One thing to regret: the lake near the border to Argentina is infested by horse flies. It is a nightmare. You will find horse flies everywhere, so be aware. If you have a problem with that, you might consider going somewhere else... Apart from that, this is a great traveling option in Chile.

Room Tip: The first floor room is not as silent as one could expect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonio-ASJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FronteraPucon, Owner at Frontera Pucon Hostel B&B, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thanks for your review Antônio, but I have to disagree on some issues.

1 - Chile is not even remotely two or three times more expensive than Brazil or Argentina. It really is much more expensive than Peru and Bolivia for example, but the cost of living in Brazil is much more expensive than here. The only item that is more expensive in Chile, is food. Besides that, everything is cheaper than Brazil.
2 - You don't need a 4x4 to drive on local roads, even in the winter you don't need it, because in snowy roads you can drive passenger cars with use of “cadenas”, tire chains.
3 - Three days may just be enough for someone who, like you, only stayed three days.However, if you had stayed longer, you would know that there are many more places to see and things to do. In three days, is just enough to scratch the surface.
4 - About the flies on the border (small beetles), it is 70 km away from here. But even so, I go to this place at least once a week, and only on very hot days will you ever find this insect there.

So, while I respect your opinion, I also understand your viewpoint is quite limited because it is based on personal experience and does not reflect reality, which can induce error when other travelers are planning their trips.

About your comment on the noise you hear in the room; it is the only bedroom downstairs, and it is close to the living room; because of that, we are always concerned about keeping noise to a minimum. We keep the double doors at the entrance closed so the sound does not bother people at night, and also early in the morning. But because we are a hostel, some noise of people passing through during waking hours is completely normal.

Regards, Leo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Hosts are really interesting, cordial and friendly people. They are great hosts. The rooms are clean and nice. Breakfast is well thought out and enjoyable. WiFi is accessible and there is a computer to use in the common area as well. There is a large kitchen were you can prepare meals and store your own food as well. Frontera is very close to the lakefront for walks and is just a few blocks from the downtown area in Pucon. For animal lovers, there are a couple of house cats that are around if you need some cat company (or miss your own cats).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FronteraPucon, Owner at Frontera Pucon Hostel B&B, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Hi, thank you for your review and kind words, we are very glad you enjoyed staying with us! Next time you have to spend more time and get to know the city better and its surroundings. The cats are sending hugs ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

This is the best place I stayed in Chile. It is a very comfortable, modern home, with five rooms, all with private bathrooms. I would call it a B&B, not a hostel. There are comfortable beds and thick blankets, good quality towels, anda modern large kitchen with granite counters and new appliances, making it a joy to cook there. It is also on a very quiet street, walking distance to the beach and the center of town. It is not the type of hostel, in my experience, where there are always other guests to sit around and talk to. No one was around in the mornings while i had breakfast, and very few during dinner hours. That might be unusual there, since other reviewers seem to have socialized with other guests more often. On the other hand, it is a great B&B to stay in for peace and tranquility.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back have direct access to the back deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FronteraPucon, Owner at Frontera Pucon Hostel B&B, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Hi, Laura. Good to hear from you, I’m very glad to know you liked staying with us! We like to think that we are a Hostel/B&B, because we kind of combine the qualities of both: the facilities of a hostel and the comfort of a B&B.
It’s unfortunate that you were not able to socialize with other guests during your stay; sometimes guests meet and connect with each other well, but sometimes people are busy with their activities and only come here to sleep... This is one aspect of our hostel that we just cannot predict. I hope that you get the chance to come back and hopefully make some great friends during your time with us here in Frontera. Let me know when you decide to come, and we will definitely make a barbecue!
Best wishes, Isabela.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

The best and most beautiful concept of hostel. Comfort, care and safety! 100% recommended.
The place is very beautiful, quiet and cozy. Very close to the lake, a privileged place. Wonderful view of the volcano. Perfect to relax and feel at home. recommend to anyone who wants to be well accommodated and able to enjoy all that Pucon offers. The service is also very good!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siulovalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FronteraPucon, Owner at Frontera Pucon Hostel B&B, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Hi, Luis! Thanks for your return, it's always good to know that our guests really liked to stay here! Hope you can come back soon to party again with us! Regards, Isa & Leo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin,
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

A very comfortable place to stay while in Pucon, only a 5 minute walk to the centre. Great view of the volcano from some of the bedrooms, which are big and very nice. It's a great plus to have a B&B where you can use the kitchen facilities and cook your own meal if you want in the evening. Also BBQ tables etc outside. Good value.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rattlebag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Frontera Pucon Hostel B&B, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Hey, nice to hear from you! Thanks for your feedback, it's always nice to know that our guests really enjoyed staying with us! Hope you can comeback sometime, regards Isa & Leo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbacena, MG
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

The Frontera has great structure, the rooms are large with great beds and private bathrooms. Cleaning and housekeeping is done daily. The kitchen is large and well equipped, all very new. The room has a large TV with cable channels. Breakfast is served after 8 am, with great variety, breads (whole and normal), yogurt, cereal, coffee, tea, sweets, butter, cheese and ham. But the highlight of Frontera are the owners, Leo and Isabella, as well as great tips of what to do in Pucon (tours, sightseeing, restaurants ...), they are practically an encyclopedia of South America, yields many conversations the evening with a glass of wine.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FronteraPucon, Owner at Frontera Pucon Hostel B&B, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
hi, Sara! thanks for your kind words! but, as we talk before, I just have to fix some informations: our breakfast is at 9am, and the TV you are talking about is at our common living room! ;) we will be waiting you here to drink more wine, ok? kisses, Isa & Leo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pucon hotels
3.4 mi away
Hotel and Cabanas Monte Verde
1.0 mi away
Hotel Antumalal
Hotel Antumalal
#3 of 25 in Pucon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gran Hotel Pucon
Gran Hotel Pucon
#12 of 25 in Pucon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Pucon Green Park Hotel
Pucon Green Park Hotel
#10 of 25 in Pucon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique CasaEstablo
0.6 mi away
Lounge Brasil
Lounge Brasil
#2 of 52 in Pucon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frontera Pucon Hostel B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frontera Pucon Hostel B&B

Property: Frontera Pucon Hostel B&B
Address: Pedro de Valdivia 36, Pucon 4920561, Chile
Location: Chile > Araucania Region > Pucon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Pucon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Frontera Pucon Hostel B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Brazilian couple who, after going through many partsof South America (many of them on a motorcycle), chose Puconto live. And as travelers, we know that the better of staying ina hostel is the integration of all people, the freedom, the relaxed atmosphere.But we should not give up the comfort because of that! With thisin mind, we create a place that combines the qualities of a hotel with the best environment that a hostel can offer.We are waiting for you with the best tips about the city! In Pucon, come to Frontera Pucon Hostel B&B and feel like home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Frontera Pucon Hostel B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing