We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Donde Egidio
Ranked #13 of 174 Specialty Lodging in Pucon
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WONDERFUL!”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

A friend and I were stuck in Pucon without a place to stay after couchsurfing for a couple days. In addition to all this, I was extremely sick (we went in December, during their "summer" - whatever summer means somewhat near Antarctica) and needed a nice place to stay. I spoke mostly to the woman who owns the hotel and she was very sweet and accommodating! She gave us a big room (8 beds) but only at the prices for two beds since I told her I was sick and left everyone else in other rooms. There are also rooms INSIDE of the room which is nice not having to go outside n the cold. Wonderful experience and i would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilona_alt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    19
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
33
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This hostel was super nice: The owner, Egidio, was super helpful with everyone, picking us up at the bus station and dropping us off and also driving us to a restaurant when we were hungry without charge. The rooms were very nice, and because we went in the down season, we were the only group in the hostel and they gave us better rooms than we paid for since we were a large group. Plus, since it was winter, it was always super warm in the hostel. Overall, a great place, and I highly recommend it.

The only recommendation I have is to not have him drive you to tourist places and instead to either go yourself or with a tour company, as it will have a better value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mvm305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I don't usually write reviews, but this was really a great experience. We were a pretty big group (9) coming in during the low season, when a lot of activities in Pucón were closed. The owners went out of their way to show us places, give us recommendations on what to do, keep our luggage safe, help us find misplaced items and even drive us to the bus terminal!

The building itself is clean and spacious, with nice bathrooms (not always a given in hostels) and a lot of social spaces. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallyfahrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

After realizing that a few other hostels on my list from a guide book are either full, closed or non-existent... this was the first random place I spotted on the street, gave it a try - and what a nice surprise.

Got a small private room with breakfast for some 20e a night - and I could use the room immediately, even though it was still quite early in the morning, hours before the official check-in time.

The private bathroom was a bit peculiar, as it was across the corridor from the room - but it was really "private" just for me, with a special key to access it. I believe other, larger rooms have bathrooms attached to them directly, this was an exception.

There are also two kitchen areas with a large fridge, stoves and all the utensils you will ever need during a trip - one on the first floor where the private rooms are and another one downstairs for the dormitory rooms.

As mentioned, breakfast was included - consisted of the usual juice, coffee, buns, cheese, butter... nothing special - but very nice and frankly, unexpected, considering the room price!

Wi-fi worked very well anytime I tried. Pullman bus station is just a few meters from the hostel - and so are two more bus companies with local connections. Turbus station is some 15 minutes walking distance.

The place may not look very fancy from the outside and you could pass by it easily without even noticing - but that would be a mistake, it must be one of the best deals in Pucon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_vj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Nederland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Clean but they can improve on custumor service. Not that it is bad, but u am use to very friendly and helpful staff in all the Hostels I have stayed. Here, you almost feel like you better not asked for any suggestions anymore. With the exception of the trips they offer themselves.
Also the kitchen could use a toaster and some cutting knives. Other than that, a good place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marijeja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We arrived in pucon in the eveningand, and after visiting 3 other hostels, we were very well attended by Nidia, and we choose to stay there for the location and especially the cleanliness of the rooms.

Rooms are clean and comfortable, with lockable cabinets.

Kitchen very good. Silent night.

Great care of Nidia and Egidio.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexfadul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

One of the best kitchens for cooking - you have everything you might need. Rooms are very clean, plenty of hot water, soft toilet paper:))), very comfortable beds. Nidya is very helpful and kind. Breakfast is just fine.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nocturne27p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pucon hotels
4.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique CasaEstablo
1.3 mi away
Hotel Antumalal
Hotel Antumalal
#3 of 26 in Pucon
423 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gran Hotel Pucon
Gran Hotel Pucon
#12 of 26 in Pucon
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Donde German Hostel
Donde German Hostel
#12 of 174 in Pucon
186 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Emalafquen
Hostal Emalafquen
#11 of 174 in Pucon
129 reviews
8.9 mi away
Mirador los Volcanes Lodge & Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Donde Egidio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Donde Egidio

Property: Hostal Donde Egidio
Address: Palguin 720, Pucon, Chile
Location: Chile > Araucania Region > Pucon
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 174 Specialty Lodging in Pucon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Donde Egidio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing