We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a nice park for a day walk”

Huerquehue National Park
Ranked #2 of 68 things to do in Pucon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“a nice park for a day walk”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

 Very nice track most of it in the woods. few waterfalls.
The track features a tough climb. recomended

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank itziks100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    792
    239
    38
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Could have spent all day!”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The park was almost empty the day we visited. There are many paths to hike. We took a pretty short, easy path to hike with our children ages 2,4 and 6. Beautiful views of the lake. The entire valley was covered in fog but the park, being up quite a bit higher, was clear as a bell.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MegSSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trois-Rivieres, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good day hikes”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

It was a great place to do some day hiking... Off the beaten track but easily accesible.

The only thing is that we saw a lot ot stray animals and cats... which distracted me from the feeling that we were in the wilderness and makes me worried for their native bird population...

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PurrpleHays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So beautiful”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I know that Pucón is more popular in the summer, but winter there is amazing. We visited the national park one day of our trip (with a tour guide who did the trip for us unofficially but for a lower price), and it was so beautiful, I was amazed. We took the path that led to the waterfalls (cascadas) and the lakes, and the trek up was exhausting but so worth it. It was amazingly beautiful.

Practical advice: (1) Don't wear sneakers. Wear waterproof boots, even if you have to pay to rent some at a tour agency. This will keep your feet from getting wet, as it is extremely muddy.
(2) Wear a warm waterproof coat, but don't go too bundled up. Especially when you are going uphill, you will get warm.
(3) Bring your camera! It's beautiful :)
(4) Bring food to eat. Because the trek will be long (we hiked from 9am to 5pm), you will lose energy if you do not have food with you. I ate breakfast and brought an apple and a sandwich. I ate the apple on the way up and the sandwich at the top by a lake, and this helped give me the energy to keep hiking. Otherwise, I would have been miserable.
(5) There is public transportation that leaves at 8:20am and gets back around 6pm. It was 3.800 pesos roundtrip, so a little less than $8 USD.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank mvm305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Cold but worth it”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We went mountain climbing with a guide from Mountain Villarrica. Although we were initially suspicious of the price (half what everyone else was charging), it turned out to be a great experience! We walked up for 4 hours to get to the lagunas, It was cold and humid, so I would not recommend it in the winter for the faint of heart, but the winter landscapes are truly magical!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sallyfahrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huerquehue National Park also viewed

Pucon, Araucania Region
Pucon, Araucania Region
 
Pucon, Araucania Region
Pucon, Araucania Region
 

Been to Huerquehue National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing