We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like staying at home and having a great time!”
Review of Hostal La Maison

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostal La Maison
Ranked #25 of 195 Specialty Lodging in Pucon
Reviewed March 3, 2012

We had a great stay at La Maison with Etienne, a great multi-language speaking franco-chilean. It was like staying at home and even more, since he knows all about the region and activities, as well as half of the people in town and helped us out with a lot of stuff. The hostel is one of the original houses of the city, clean and cosy, with a nice common room, kitchen and nice relaxing garden after the daily activities. You can make BBQs, the chilean specialty. The hostel is in the city center, right near the local supermarket, transportation, bars and restaurants, as well as the Villarrica lake. A fantastic experience. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachelt427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 64 reviews

Reviewed February 29, 2012

We had a great stay with Etienne in his homely hostel in Pucon. Actually one of the original houses in the town so the location is perfect and very central! Close to the lake and beach, only a block back from the main street, and close to all the great cafes, bars and restaraunts of the town but still really quiet and peaceful. Nice garden, comfy beds, stocked kitchen, super fast wifi, big tv with cable/dvd in the lounge and a host that will go to any lengths to make sure your stay is comfortable and you have everything you need. Etienne even drove and visited the thermal springs with us and also dropped us at the bus company with our packs when it was sadly time to leave! Like staying with a mate! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

We had a fantastic stay at La Maison in Pucon. The host is fabulous, knows alot and is willing to help. The place is clean and homely with a nice television in the lounge, lovely kitchen and fabulous relaxing garden. We stayed in the little cottage which sleeps 8 and would be perfect for groups. The location is also excellent, close to everything you need, walking distance to the adventure shops, cafes, and beach. Would definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P0llyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Very nice hostal on a perfect location in Pucon. The host Etienne and his mom make you feel like home. The hostel is one of the oldest en most authentic houses of Pucon.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baardmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Best place we stayed in for our trip to Chile. Etienne was very nice and had good suggestions. The beds were fine, the bathrooms and kitchen were clean and tidy. Would recommend this to anyone.
One recommendation though. A PC for those who travel with no wi-fi device.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Intownj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Pucon is great and Hostel la Maison makes it better!
Our plan was to spend just a few days in the hostel while we found something else, but once we arrived to La maison we realized that it was the best place in town for what we were willing to spend.
Very well located (walking distance to all the places in town), La Maison is a familiar old classic Pucon house in which the owner, Etienne (always smiling), really made our time there unique. Very well connected and always concerned about us he had the precise tip or the tourism advice that made our days in Pucon unforgettable.

The atmosphere at evenings was great… a big table, warm fireplace, wine and conversations with the other guests sharing helpful info of the wonders Pucon has to offer.

Excellent experience, I would love to go there again in summer! We loved Pucon and La Maison!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jorgeiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

The house was very comfortable and the host was very gracious and went out of his way to help and make sure that I was comfortable.

The price was impressive and I felt very secure and well informed about the things to do in the town. All in all a great experience and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccs-ss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pucon hotels
3.9 mi away
Okori Hostel
Okori Hostel
#6 of 195 in Pucon
127 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lacustre Trip Hostel
Lacustre Trip Hostel
#12 of 195 in Pucon
83 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal La Nuez
Hostal La Nuez
#48 of 195 in Pucon
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Guest House Victor Gallegos
0.3 mi away
Princesa Insolente Hostel - Pucon
0.4 mi away
Hostal Emalafquen
Hostal Emalafquen
#18 of 195 in Pucon
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal La Maison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal La Maison

Address: 261 Lincoyan, Pucon 4920512, Chile
Location: Chile > Araucania Region > Pucon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 195 Specialty Lodging in Pucon
Price Range: $46 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal La Maison 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal La Maison is a cozy house located in the very center of Pucon, close to all the attractions. You can go for a swim to the lake, it's only 3 minutes walk from the hostel. Then you can go see a beautiful sunset at the Posa, wich is Pucon bay. You have a beautiful garden to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hostal La Maison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing