We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like home!”
Review of Hostal La Maison

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hostal La Maison
Ranked #24 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Pucon
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Very nice hostal on a perfect location in Pucon. The host Etienne and his mom make you feel like home. The hostel is one of the oldest en most authentic houses of Pucon.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baardmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
There are newer reviews for Hostal La Maison
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 61 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2012

Best place we stayed in for our trip to Chile. Etienne was very nice and had good suggestions. The beds were fine, the bathrooms and kitchen were clean and tidy. Would recommend this to anyone.
One recommendation though. A PC for those who travel with no wi-fi device.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Intownj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Pucon is great and Hostel la Maison makes it better!
Our plan was to spend just a few days in the hostel while we found something else, but once we arrived to La maison we realized that it was the best place in town for what we were willing to spend.
Very well located (walking distance to all the places in town), La Maison is a familiar old classic Pucon house in which the owner, Etienne (always smiling), really made our time there unique. Very well connected and always concerned about us he had the precise tip or the tourism advice that made our days in Pucon unforgettable.

The atmosphere at evenings was great… a big table, warm fireplace, wine and conversations with the other guests sharing helpful info of the wonders Pucon has to offer.

Excellent experience, I would love to go there again in summer! We loved Pucon and La Maison!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jorgeiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

The house was very comfortable and the host was very gracious and went out of his way to help and make sure that I was comfortable.

The price was impressive and I felt very secure and well informed about the things to do in the town. All in all a great experience and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccs-ss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

My partner and I had an amazing stay with host, Etienne at Hostel la Maison in beautiful Pucon. The house is one of the originals in Pucon and subsequently in a fantastic location! The host is super accommodating ensuring you feel 'at home' at once, also going out of his way to ensure you experience the highlights of the area. Many thanks Etienne, can't wait to come back... One day!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JRePerth_Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

I stayed at "La Maison" for a couple of nights in winter. It was a very different experience from any of the other hostels during my trip - in a positive way! The hostel is in a pretty wooden house in the centre of town, small and very homey, with a cozy living room (incl. TV+ fireplace), a communal kitchen and a nice garden in the back (which must be a good place to hang out in summer). I was the only guest at the time and Etienne, the multilingual owner who converted his old family home into a hostel, took very good care of me. He took me places, made sure that I didn't get cold and was generally very sociable and forthcoming. If you're looking for wild partys, "La Maison" might not be the right place, but it's definetely a hostel you can call a "home away from home". :-)

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tristessa12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2011

I stayed in La Maison for two weeks in December. The houses are very centrally located, with a lovely garden and view of the volcano. The houses have an interesting history, and the host, Etienne, will be glad to share it with you. Etienne and his family have spent their summers in Pucon for decades, and he is very knowledgeable about the surrounding springs, rivers, waterfalls, eateries, horseback riding, hiking, etc. etc. The kitchen and common area are very homey, I felt like I was staying with family. I highly recommend Hostal La Maison and plan on going back again next December.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizabethbevington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pucon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Patagonia Pucon
0.4 mi away
Hostal Emalafquen
Hostal Emalafquen
#10 of 175 in Pucon
130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lacustre Trip Hostel
Lacustre Trip Hostel
#7 of 175 in Pucon
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ruca Suite
Ruca Suite
#39 of 175 in Pucon
28 reviews
0.4 mi away
Donde German Hostel
Donde German Hostel
#11 of 175 in Pucon
186 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Geronimo Pucon
Hotel Geronimo Pucon
#21 of 175 in Pucon
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal La Maison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal La Maison

Address: 261 Lincoyan, Pucon 4920512, Chile
Location: Chile > Araucania Region > Pucon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Pucon
Price Range: $43 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal La Maison 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal La Maison is a cozy house located in the very center of Pucon, close to all the attractions. You can go for a swim to the lake, it's only 3 minutes walk from the hostel. Then you can go see a beautiful sunset at the Posa, wich is Pucon bay. You have a beautiful garden to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hostal La Maison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing