We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, good value, great staff”
Review of Ruka Pucon Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ruka Pucon Hostel
Ranked #47 of 174 Specialty Lodging in Pucon
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Lovely place, good value, great staff”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I had a great stay there. The staff (=the owners) are living next door and are accomodating, very friendly and very helpful.
The area is very quiet, there are a grocery store at the corner and a supermarket 50m away.
The hostel is well maintained and very clean (including the kitchen). Wifi works properly.
You can relax outside in the shadow or inside in the large living room.
It might be a bit far from the center (bars, restaurants, shops... = 10/15min walk) but it´s close the the Ruta bus terminal and it guarantees quiet nights.
A very good option for budget travellers and a great value on overall. Recommended !

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beto s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    7
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
19
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ulm, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 22, 2014

This hostel is fantastic!! The owners are really warm, kind and helpful! The hostel is homely, clean and well-equipped. The internet was working excellent (WiFi). There is a large living-room where you can relax and the beds are very comfortable. It takes about 15 minutes to walk into town but it was nice not to be that close to the busy town centre. I would definitively choose this hostel again!!! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lis91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights in a quiet part if Pucon. Easy walking distance to the centre but away from the crowds. House is spotless, hosts really friendly, great value all round with a fascinating sustainable garden and quiet commitment to recycling not often seen in Chile.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chilebyvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Spent two nights here and really loved it! Although it was quiet and one night there was only myself and my husband it was soooo nice just to relax with the fire and a bottle of wine!

It's very homely and the wood burner keeps it really warm even when it was soooo cold out side!

Comfortable beds, good equipped kitchen, great hot showers and a very welcoming family!

A bit of a walk from the centre but not too bad and if your feeling particularly lazy it's very cheap to get a cab back!

Would def recommend!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cassieandmatt13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulm, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Even after having read all the previous reviews on tripadvisor, I wasn't expecting to find such a nice place in Pucón!
The hostel is really a home away from home. Got a very warm welcome from the owners - somehow there was no problem with communication even though I don't speak more than 3 words of Spanish (there's a live-in English speaking staff but she wasn't there at the moment). The large living area with the well-equipped open kitchen right next to it are just inviting you to sit down, relax, have a drink and chat with the other guests. The rooms are a little small but perfectly clean (as is everything else). Good internet connection (wifi), no problems there.
The walk into town is about 15 min, but it was rather nice to be a little away from the busy town centre. And even in the evenings on my own I never felt insecure when walking this short distance.
I was also lucky to enjoy one of the BBQ evenings - really great food and we had a lot of fun!
Can only recommend the place and would love to come back!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

This is a great hostal which we booked based on tripadvisor reviews. The location is inconvenient in that it is a 15 min walk to town but also nice in that it is right next to a grocery store and in a very quiet area. We were happy to be removed from the party scene in town. We made several trips into town each day no problem. The rooms and kitchen are nice and clean. The people working there are very friendly and knowledgable. Take their recommendations for day trips and tours! pucon has a lot to offer and we even extended our 3 days into 5! Thanks ruka pucon!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Thank you Philippe, you're the best! Our stay at this cosy little place was wonderful. Being taken there upon recommendation from my travelling buddy was the best decision i ever made. The hostel is run by Philippe with help from his parents who pop in from time to time, to keep every need satisfied for the guests. The dorm rooms of 3 people were perfect and the beds were unbelievably comfortable. The living area is very sociable and easy to relax in. The kitchen is well stocked and has everything you could need. There is wifi alongisde 1 computer offered for public use.
Philippe and Max are really friendly and really get involved with the guests, (we had pizza evening, made in his very own outdoor pizza oven). The hostel is a little way out of town, maybe 10 minutes walk, but don't let this put you off, the extra distance makes you feel like your part of the community rather than any other backpacker who has stumbled out of the bus station. The rooms and hostal were perfectly clean and the really safe. The whole place only has room for about 12 people or so, which means the hostal turns into a family.

I would highly recommend this hostal to anyone who wanted to feel like they would at home. Philippe is also a tour guide, so knows infinite amounts about the pucon area and the whole continent, including patagonia. Please please please, check this place out. :) Thanks! Steve

Room Tip: Dorms are very small and cosy, they try to fill up the larger dorm first. I was with a friend in a d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveC537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pucon hotels
0.6 mi away
Hostal Emalafquen
Hostal Emalafquen
#11 of 174 in Pucon
128 reviews
0.7 mi away
Princesa Insolente Hostel - Pucon
0.6 mi away
Hostal Rio Libre Pucon
Hostal Rio Libre Pucon
#85 of 174 in Pucon
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cabanas Huarranchi
Cabanas Huarranchi
#83 of 174 in Pucon
20 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hostal La Maison
Hostal La Maison
#24 of 174 in Pucon
61 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Geronimo Pucon
Hotel Geronimo Pucon
#18 of 174 in Pucon
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruka Pucon Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruka Pucon Hostel

Property: Ruka Pucon Hostel
Address: Del Pillan 101, Pucon 4920840, Chile
Location: Chile > Araucania Region > Pucon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 174 Specialty Lodging in Pucon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hostel is a family business, managed and maintained by its owners, who's goal is to provide you with an entertaining, easy, comfortable and happy stay. In addition to lodging, we will organise all of the activities you may wish to do in and around Pucon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Ruka Pucon Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing