We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice experience”
Review of Magma Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Magma Lodge
Ranked #52 of 174 Specialty Lodging in Pucon
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very nice experience”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

My wife and I did not know what to expect and were surprised by the "domos", igloo shaped cabanas by the lake. Very nice view, comfortable bed, nice people run the place. Bottom line... good value for the money.

Room Tip: The double rooms are few feet closer to the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eduardo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    26
    13
    8
    4
See reviews for
22
43
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

I spent 3 great days at the Magma Lodge just outside of Pucón. Accommodations were in individual "domes" set in the woods by Lake Villarica. The domes are simply but interestingly furnished, with wooden floors, a comfortable bed with a big fluffy duvet, huge windows, and a circular skylight at the top of each one giving a view of the sky and the stars at night; they also have heat and AC, It was pouring rain when I arrived, but I was very cozy in my dome ,and I slept listening to the rain all afternoon. There is a restaurant on site (in a large dome, of course); although its menu was somewhat limited, the food was surprisingly inventive and good. They brought my dinners to my dome and set up a little dinner table on my deck so that I could eat and watch the sunsets. Staff were genuinely friendly and helpful. The manager, Raimundo, even sent someone to the town across the lake to pick up my cell phone which I had forgotten in my previous hotel. The location is -10 minutes by car outside of Pucón, but most people have cars (and families!). However, I was quite happy to spend all my time there, except for an excursion they booked for me to Huerquehue National Park, after which I really appreciated the wooden hot tubs heated by charcoal stoves that are set up under the trees.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UncleBobZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Magma Lodge has an amazing location right on Lake Villarica. The view from my dome was awesome. The dome was clean and comfortable. It had heat and (i think) ac. We were able to borrow their kayaks and paddle around the lake. Breakfast in bed was a great treat every morning! It was our favorite place we stayed in all of Chile. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the second dome on the left side of the property (facing the lake) and had a BEAUTIFUL...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tori_Font
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Fantastic, creative, unique. Really liked the accommodation here.  The bungalows, which are more like deluxe igloos, are comfortable, well-appointed and different from anything I have ever stayed in. All bungalows have lake views and some include an upstairs bedroom. 

The breakfast is ok, the staff are friendly and enthusiastic. Pucon town centre is a short drive from the lodge. 

Recommended,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Magma Lodge is set in a wonderful location with domes under pine trees a few meters away from the lake shore. It is an incredibly romantic setting where you can watch the sunset from your wooden balcony sipping a Pisco Sour. However, this in not a luxury hotel and your expectations regarding comfort should not be compared to one. The domes are effectively luxury tents which obviously affects the termic and acoustic isolation. I did not mind the differences in temperature since you can always use the air conditioning and the separate heater but I was a bit disappointed with the noise of the passing cars in the background. It was not very loud but it takes away the sensation of being fully immersed in nature. If it wasn't for that I would have given it a 5 rating.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccgp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Magma Lodge is a unique place, set in gorgeous surroundings on the shores of the beautiful lake. The rooms spread under the tall pine trees have been constructed as semi-permanent units on wooden platforms surrounded by a large terrace with washing-up area. But the most unique aspect of these rooms is that they are canvas domes, reminiscent of an igloo/slash tee-pee. They are quite spacious and cleverly designed, those accommodating familes have a mezzanine with a double bed. The bathrooms are not very big, but well equipped and maintained. The common area is a confortable lounge (with a T with a bar and restaurant with a very large outdoor wooden terrace facing the lake where meals are served (breakfast and "a la carte")' Guests can enjoy the beach, lovely walks, fishing from the pier and kayaking/canoeing.
The young management and staff are very friendly and helpful. They can help organise transfers from Temuco airport and help in chosing and reserving the many activities which the region offers (rafting, fishing, hikes, visits to the different "termas" etc..).
Everybody in our family truly enjoyed our stay, including our 2 teenage boys.
I highly recommend a stay at Lodge!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beaulaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortaleza, CE
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2011

Great place to stay! The kids really loved the area around the DOMOS and the Canopy! The breakfast could be a bit better! In hot days the domos could get very warm but at night they cool down. Overall a great place to stay!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cintiafsampaio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pucon hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel and Cabanas Monte Verde
0.8 mi away
Hotel Antumalal
Hotel Antumalal
#3 of 26 in Pucon
422 reviews
1.5 mi away
Alun Kuyen
Alun Kuyen
#14 of 26 in Pucon
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cabanas Portal
Cabanas Portal
#18 of 174 in Pucon
44 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hotel Salto del Carileufu
7.9 mi away
Cabanas Metrenehue - Parque Metrenehue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magma Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magma Lodge

Property: Magma Lodge
Address: Sector El Carmelito, Pucon, Chile
Location: Chile > Araucania Region > Pucon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 174 Specialty Lodging in Pucon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Magma Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Magma Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing