We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Christmas stay in Etnico hostel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Etnico Eco Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Etnico Eco Hostel
Ranked #32 of 169 Specialty Lodging in Pucon
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Christmas stay in Etnico hostel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

This hostel is a superb place to relax and to use as a base to venture for activities around Pucon. The house has big living room and kitchen, and and a nice garden with terrace and BBQ. Pao and Rodolfo -the owners of the hostel- are lovely people and help in any way they can with activities around Pucon. Bikes can be rented from the hostel and Rodolfo is a rafting guide and can organise rafting trips... Very recommended! Paddle for your life!! :-)
When we stayed at Etnico (December 2013), the owners had just taken over the hostel, so I am sure it will only get better in the future...

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    23
    13
    6
    6
See reviews for
11
20
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed at Etnico in December 2013. The managers are friendly and we appreciated their environmental focus--they provided plastic bags for reuse and also had composting. The rooms are somewhat outdated but comfortable and very clean. The hostel has a nice, warm atmosphere and a big yard. There are bikes to rent and there is free wifi. They do not offer breakfast but there is a well-organized kitchen for everyone's use. Our favorite part was the cherry tree outside where we stocked up on ripe fruit. Note that we reserved a double room and did not stay in the dorm. It is well-located in Pucon, a short walk to the grocery store and downtown.

Room Tip: We had our own bathroom with the double room so did not have to wait in line like some of the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMD2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franz Josef, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

I ve heard very well about the hostel before going there myself. The place has a great atmosphere and is full of nice people around, and the staff is really friendly. But the shower is cold, and a bit dirty also, there isnt a constant cleaning. It was quite busy during the weekend and everyone was really nice and there was a great vibe. The location is also really good, I would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrunoGehem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

I thought this was a pretty nice hostel. Stayed during low season so not many people were around but I enjoyed the environment and the staff were very helpful. They took me and my buddy out to the local bar to watch a football game. Overall, good location, nice atmosphere and a good place to party i hear during high season.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mcell_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

I've passed great moments in Etnico Eco Hostel.

There were few people hosted there and we had serenity to relax during the night and proximity from the main street to get there early in the morning. There is good places in the surroundings.

The staff is very helpful and do everything to make you feel comfortable.

The dorms are a little cold, but it's not a big deal because they provide plenty of blankets if necessary.

You also have full access to the kitchen anytime.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank THendler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
138 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

The place was recommended by my previous hostal which was good. But this house was horrible. Two big smelly, hairy dogs (who jump in the pool, so you don't want to swim in there anymore..) Inside everything was dirty, smelly and moisty. It was very noisy and it looked like the used temporarely build bathrooms. If you don't mind drugs, you can go there. It irritated me because the kept asking me to take it (you are Dutch...) so I left the place real quick!

Room Tip: If you still want to go here, pick a room downstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flipflopfiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Pucon is a great spot in chile with some great hostels, and this one is no doubt in standard.
Stayed here for 3 nights and would have stayed for more if they had room for us.
It's a beautiful place, not far from the center though not on the main st. At my first night there I stayed in a 6 bed dorm which was amazing! Private bathroom with hot tub! In the second one which was much bigger the conditions wasn't that good but still okay. Great kitchen, cool pool table and a sweet actual pool. It might get a bit too hot in the mornings if you sleep at the big dorm but in overall it's a nice place, even if it costs a bit more than other places in Pucon.

Room Tip: If you want to spoil yourself a bit, pay extra for the smaller dorm and enjoy the great facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amit_1990_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pucon hotels
0.4 mi away
Lacustre Trip Hostel
Lacustre Trip Hostel
#14 of 169 in Pucon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostal Pucon Sur Backpackers
0.2 mi away
Hostal La Nuez
Hostal La Nuez
#39 of 169 in Pucon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Nativo Hostel Pucon
Nativo Hostel Pucon
#59 of 169 in Pucon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal La Maison
Hostal La Maison
#33 of 169 in Pucon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ruka Pucon Hostel
Ruka Pucon Hostel
#46 of 169 in Pucon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Etnico Eco Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Etnico Eco Hostel

Property: Etnico Eco Hostel
Address: Colo Colo # 36 | Holzapfel & Colo Colo, Pucon 4920000, Chile
Location: Chile > Araucania Region > Pucon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 169 Specialty Lodging in Pucon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Etnico Eco Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing