We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sweet Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Etnico Eco Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Etnico Eco Hostel
Ranked #33 of 173 Specialty Lodging in Pucon
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Sweet Place”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Pucon is a great spot in chile with some great hostels, and this one is no doubt in standard.
Stayed here for 3 nights and would have stayed for more if they had room for us.
It's a beautiful place, not far from the center though not on the main st. At my first night there I stayed in a 6 bed dorm which was amazing! Private bathroom with hot tub! In the second one which was much bigger the conditions wasn't that good but still okay. Great kitchen, cool pool table and a sweet actual pool. It might get a bit too hot in the mornings if you sleep at the big dorm but in overall it's a nice place, even if it costs a bit more than other places in Pucon.

Room Tip: If you want to spoil yourself a bit, pay extra for the smaller dorm and enjoy the great facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amit_1990_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    24
    13
    6
    6
See reviews for
11
20
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
538 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 407 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

The hostel itself is pretty and is set in a wooden lodge at one corner of town. It prides itself on employing green practices like recycling and saving water.

Of course this means some inconveniences for guests. There are only two bathrooms/showers and waiting to shower or brush your teeth in the mornings can be a pain. The hostel houses over thirty people, so this means a ratio of 15:1 for each bathroom. I waited 40 minutes one morning because I really had to use the bathroom and had to forgo my morning tour as a result.

Staff were also a little slack and were hardly at the front desk so you always had to walk around e hostel looking for them when you needed a towel or had to check out. One night, some drunk guests were blasting loud, thumping music in the general areas till 5.30am (walls are very, very thin so noise travels easily). None of the staff bothered to tell them to quieten down. I had to get up, dress and walk out into the cold to tell them myself.

The general dorm houses 14 people, so it gets very noisy and annoying. Opt for one of the smaller dorms (4 and 6 beds) for a small fee.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mei L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

We had a nice stay here. Rooms are bright and cozy. Staff were very friendly and informative. Short stroll away from town. Goats and dogs are awesome! Great stay..oh and i got to see Villarica Volcano from my bed..

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTravelingWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdivia, Chile
1 review
Reviewed December 23, 2012

really good place they take care about you, have activities to do, good beds, good kitchen, swim pool, good ambient nice persons,a pool table,good ubication closer to the main avenue,and good BBQ's!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drauggor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 25, 2012

I had no idea what to espect when I got there but it turned out I had i wonderful time. People are coming from everywhere; the service is awesome; all the activities can be reserved at the hostel's desk; it's close to everything and it really feels safe. It might be hard to find at first because of the trees next to the fence, but it's the only "bad" thing I could say about it.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prgabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Let me start by saying that my girlfriend and I don't mind staying in a simple place if the price is right. However, this place isn't just simple, it's a dump, and the price is definitely not right. Let's start with the fact that the place looks like it was built in '72 and never updated. Not even the sheets and towels, which are now barely more than threads. We stayed here for two nights and never saw the staff do anything in terms of upkeep. NOTHING. No breakfast. No laundry. No hangers in the closet. No toilet paper in the bathroom. Missing light bulbs. Broken appliances that look like they've been broken for 40 years and never dealt with. We wouldn't have minded paying 30 US a night for this, but we paid 70. Definitely not worth it. Basically, you get a roof over your head, and are expected to do the rest for yourself. There was milk in the fridge dated from 2010. As I'm writing this, it's Dec '11. Now, I don't expect the staff to act like it's the Taj Mahal, but you'd think they'd at least put TP in the bathrooms, or replace light bulbs, or clean a bit, or fix/replace broken stuff, or clean out the fridge once a month let alone once a year. By the way, as I write this my girlfriend is going to the can with a headlamp due to the lights not being functional in the bathroom. Long story short, this place has been seriously neglected. It feels like you're staying in an abandoned hotel. Also, bring cash, because although they'll take your credit card when you reserve the place, they won't take your credit card when you try to pay. But do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wizzbiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We stayed 2 nights and we liked it. Good stuff. Huge backyard with outdoor pool. Nice BBQ area. A separate room for pool and other social games. Nice spacious kitchen to use. The rooms were clean and pretty big, enough space in a double room for sure (dont know the shared rooms). Unfortunately there are only 2 baths for the whole house (1 downstairs, 1 upstairs), entonces if you have to go to toilet urgent you might consider going outside.....

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank om260593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pucon hotels
0.7 mi away
Nativo Hostel Pucon
Nativo Hostel Pucon
#63 of 173 in Pucon
24 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nature Hostel
Nature Hostel
#139 of 173 in Pucon
5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hola Pucon Hostel
Hola Pucon Hostel
#39 of 173 in Pucon
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hostal El Refugio
Hostal El Refugio
#28 of 173 in Pucon
128 reviews
0.3 mi away
I love Pucon Hostel & Backpackers
0.2 mi away
Hostal La Nuez
Hostal La Nuez
#36 of 173 in Pucon
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Etnico Eco Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Etnico Eco Hostel

Property: Etnico Eco Hostel
Address: Colo Colo # 36 | Holzapfel & Colo Colo, Pucon 4920000, Chile
Location: Chile > Araucania Region > Pucon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 173 Specialty Lodging in Pucon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Etnico Eco Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing