We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very well equipped and very confortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Donde German Hostel
Ranked #12 of 174 Specialty Lodging in Pucon
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very well equipped and very confortable”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed in this hostel for 2 days during the end of August. Since winter is off season, the place was very quiet and calm, just like the town itself.
We were greeted by German right after getting off the bus, and it was a great surprise since a freezing rain was pouring down. He gave us a ride to the hostel and I was really glad for not walking 10 minutes in the cold rain with a 15kg luggage.
I really liked the wooden cottage where the hostel is, and the decoration of all the rooms is so well done I wanted to live there.
Another great point was a hostel rule that said not to enter the hostel wearing shoes. You need to take the shoes off and use slippers around the house. This detail surely keeps the house cleaner, and lessen footstep noises.
The private room was perfectly clean, confortable and everything worked fine during our stay.
The location is just fine as well. As said before, it is a 10 minute to the Tur Bus terminal. Also, it is 1 block away from the O'Higgins street, the town's main street.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larainthesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    60
    14
    7
    3
See reviews for
26
101
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

This new hostel in Calle Brasil feels like you've stepped into a chalet all of your own. It's newly built with beautiful timber and furnished with local artisan style. It's fully featured with a great kitchen with all the utensils and appliances you need. The rooms on the upper level can have a fantastic view of the volcano on a clear day. There's a wonderful fireplace in the main lounge room and television in some rooms and downstairs. The owner is friendly and helpful. Breakfast was not included with our booking.

Room Tip: The upper rooms are more likely to have views of the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrenage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Fantastic new build hostel, designed in a Austrian ski cabin style. Incredibly comfortable beds and living areas, great bathroom with power shower, maid service every day, enough communal space and kitchen that you could swing a cow in. Immaculate. Recommend to people who want a bit of luxuary from the usual hostel, even more mature travellers.

However, the only downside, don't book volcano trips through this hostel as, while the guide/owner is very nice, his guiding skills are inadequate for the volcano trip. Equipment is old, torn and crampons are rusty. Very expensive for the service so would recommend Patagonia Adventures on the high street.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Firts off, we enjoyed our several night stay and would return in a flash. The Hostel looks brand new, is done in modern, stylish beautiful light woods and is furnished with the mosy comfortable beds, fine flat screen TV and appliances in a huge kitchen. The heat and hot water are great and there is a lap pool to boot! The location is perfect for everything in the area.

The maddening thing is that with the best of everthing, the finishing touches aren't done. stair railings end partway, tie isn't up to the wall, lisht fixtures were never installed and, as mentioned in a previous review, the expansive kitchen lack a sharp knife and some basic utensils.

All that said though, what a wonderful, but quirky place!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We booked a double room with shared bathroom at this guesthouse (there is also a new house in the middle of Pucon, but we stayed at the older one). The room was beautiful and cosy with a lot of wood and a very comfortable bed. Because of the low season we shared the two bathrooms with only two other guests so it was like a private bathroom. There is a huge and quite well equiped kitchen in the ground floor and a cosy living-room, too. Everything is very clean and well kept. We also liked the garden, a beautiful place to relax. You can rent bycicles and book tours at the guesthouse if you want, but they are not pushy at all. We booked the Volcano Tour with German and had a great day with him. It was a good solution for us to book it directly with him, even if it was a bit more expensive. Because of the weather we had to decide on two early mornings that we don't go on the planned day - and simply went back to bed afterwards... Others had to go to their agency in the town first.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChMBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

I think this hostel has suffered from the mixed reviews of the new hostel of the same name, which I believe has the same ownership. The old hostel is on the edge of town, but it is easy to walk to all the attracttions and there is a fantastic view of the Villerrica Volcano from the garden. The wooden cabins are with ensuite facilities are spacious and a fully equipped kitchen with free tea/coffee a nice touch.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris186273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We stayed in Las Rosas hostel.
This is a lovely hostel which feels more like a B+B. It's a beautiful building and the rooms have nice colours and attention to detail. Our bed was massive and very comfortable!
The kitchen here is the best we've had. There's loads of space to prepare and cook, and every room has its own cupboard to store food.
We really enjoyed our stay here, it felt like a touch of luxury after other places.
The only thing to suggest is a sign for the front. We arrived at night and wandered up and down the street looking for it. Eventually we knocked on another hostel's door who called German and he came out to show us the way. He was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becki b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pucon hotels
3.8 mi away
Hotel and Cabanas Monte Verde
0.5 mi away
Gran Hotel Pucon
Gran Hotel Pucon
#11 of 26 in Pucon
966 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nuevo Donde German Hostal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hostal Emalafquen
Hostal Emalafquen
#11 of 174 in Pucon
129 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hostal Andes Pucon
Hostal Andes Pucon
#8 of 174 in Pucon
129 reviews
0.2 mi away
Princesa Insolente Hostel - Pucon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donde German Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donde German Hostel

Property: Donde German Hostel
Address: Las Rosas 590, Pucon, Chile
Location: Chile > Araucania Region > Pucon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 174 Specialty Lodging in Pucon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Donde German Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing