We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LEGENDARY”
Review of Hostal El Refugio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal El Refugio
Ranked #35 of 187 Specialty Lodging in Pucon
Reviewed February 28, 2014

This hostel is absolutely amazing. I had such a wonderful experience. I originally booked for one night but I ended up extending for one week! The girls who work at the hostal (Eva, Lizzy, Alli, and Negra) are so helpful and fun. They know a lot about the actvities the area has to offer and they gave great advice on what to do. They planned various BBQs and burger nights. It was a great way to meet other travelers.

The hostal is located in front of two bus stations and is super convienent to travel to the surronding areas to see the hotsprings, national park, etc. It is only two blocks away from the main road and a 5 minute walk to the beaches.

The volcano trip was fantastic. The guides were so communicative and very professional. The hostal works through a private agency so the transport picks you up and drops you off at the hostal. The climb was incredible and it is a truly glorious view from the crater. I highly recommend booking this tour through the hostal.

The hostal is very cozy with great common areas. The bathrooms are frequently busy and toilets are sometimes clogged (but who cares about bathrooms when your traveling anyway??) The hostal has a great vibe and I think attracts people with good positive energy that are socialble.

Room Tip: The domes out back are fun and cheap!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

47 - 53 of 128 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2014

We are travelling as a couple and decided to take a double room for some peace and quiet after trekking around Chilean campsites.
We chose this hotel despite the factcit cost double what another hostel, not 5 minutes away cost, because the staff, two dutch sisters, were extremely friendly and the lounge area was alive and inviting. We got our room, used the kitchen, got free towels and a free lock. But then we used the bathroom. The makeshift shower worked but the toiled was repeatedly clogged bc people had trown toiletpaper (forbidden acording to a sign), and had not thrown it into the overflowing toilet paper bucket. Then in bed... We could hear people talking in every room as if the walls were made of paper. We heard the footsteps of people above us, people throwing up in the bathroom because of too much alcohol and every time someone flushed. We fell asleep around 3. morning began at 5 or 6 when te first guests began leaving and at 9 am someone was sawing and hammering in one of the rooms.
Soo... If you are out to party all night and are a deep sleeper when you're drunk, I think the place can be alot of fun, other than that, I would not stay there again for that money.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cmpngjnkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Lovely staff that were helpful with activities around the area. The hostel was really noisy at night which was terrible for sleeping, the kitchen and hostel in general was really dirty. There we so many people crammed into the hostel with domes turned into dormes out the back and dorms inside that it felt over run with bodies. I think thee would be better places to stay in pucon.

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank Tash B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Writing this review while staying at the hostel: it's 2am and the party at reception is still going strong. Cannot wait to check out as soon as possible. The noisiest place I've encountered in all of South America. Plus the rooms are tiny, the bathrooms few in number, and no breakfast service.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1mpartial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

I had a great time at this hostel in Pucon. The staff are really helpful and fun. They can book any of the activities there. The hostel is also a great place to meet other travels. The only drawbacks are that the rooms are kind of small and there are not enough bathrooms. Things can get kind of rowdy in the evenings too, which is annoying when you have to wake up early for the volcano. Regardless I would really recommend this hostel

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa_Kant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I know because I stayed in 3 of them.

The hostel is very comfortable and incredibly fun. If you are cooking together in the kitchen, eating in the dinning room or just laughing in the Lobby and feeding wood to the fire, the energy is just positive in this hostel. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lavi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I stayed at El Refugio three nights instead of the intended one, not just because Pucon is a great place to visit but also because the hostel is a great place to be.

The staff are travelers, like us, and are (currently) very friendly and helpful and despite having plenty of activities on offer, do not push them on you, certainly not in the usual hard sales manner that many other hostel agencies do. They were very forthcoming with helpful information and were simply part of the group. There is no denying that they like a party but again, its certainly not forced on you as in some of the renowned party hostels.

The facilities are fine in my eyes, the shower (upstairs) worked perfectly with decent hot water although the downstairs toilet was a little suspect (maybe don't risk a number 2). They have two functioning kitchens with one out back with the tents. I say tents but they are actually rather large dome things which comfortably hold proper beds so well worth saving a few dollars and staying in these...at least in the summer.

The location is ideal, right opposite the Pullman bus terminal and 30 seconds from the JAC and local bus terminals, from where you can take trips to the Huerquehue and El Cani. Its also a block away from Higgins, the principal road in town.

I stayed in the eight bed dorm, which is huge and has comfortable beds with big lockers for your gear. Its a little pricey at 10,000 pesos (20 dollars) but I have come to expect this of Chile after two weeks here. As above, certainly check out the tents out back as they are probably worth saving a few dollars, especially in the summer as the upstairs dorm gets quite hot during the day.

All in all, its a great hostel and I had a lot of fun here so would gladly return. One caveat being that whilst I had no problems sleeping, if you are a light sleeper, be aware that it can be a little noisy as it has a great fun-loving atmosphere, which inevitably leads to late night drinking.

Lastly, I did the Volcan Villarica day trip through the hostel which I was very pleased with (check out my review for further information)...I am not sure with comparative prices but they charged 40,000 pesos (80 dollars) including all of the equipment, transport and guides (typically 1 guide to 3).

Room Tip: Probably worth saving a few dollars and staying in the tents in the summer at least...they are actua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank randallml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pucon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hostal Emalafquen
Hostal Emalafquen
#18 of 187 in Pucon
133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Princesa Insolente Hostel - Pucon
3.7 mi away
Hotel and Cabanas Monte Verde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cabanas Huarranchi
Cabanas Huarranchi
#101 of 187 in Pucon
20 reviews
0.1 mi away
Guest House Victor Gallegos
0.9 mi away
Hostal Andes Pucon
Hostal Andes Pucon
#8 of 187 in Pucon
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal El Refugio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal El Refugio

Address: Palguin 540, Pucon 4920, Chile
Location: Chile > Araucania Region > Pucon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 187 Specialty Lodging in Pucon
Price Range: $15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal el Refugio is proud to be "our pick" in the latest Lonely Planet for both South America on a Shoestring and Chile guides. Hostal el Refugio is a warm and friendly hostel, run by a Dutch-Chilean couple, and a great place to meet other travelers. The hostel is designed as a mountain hut and thanks to the inviting communal areas it is the perfect place to rest and recharge after a day of outdoor activities in the area. Both the owners and staff (experienced travelers) know Pucon and its environments thoroughly, and are happy to share this information and make personal recommendations. They are waiting to make your stay in Pucon unforgettable. Hostal el Refugio es mucho mas than just a place to sleep! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing