We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WARM PLACE IN COLD PUCON”
Review of Hostal El Refugio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal El Refugio
Ranked #35 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Pucon
Reviewed June 2, 2011

My friends and myself really enjoyed this place. Warm, lovely wood house, in the middle of town, close to bus terminals, and fresia avenue (restorants).
The owners are cool people.
NO breakfast included though.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
Thank BACKPACKERYOHOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
There are newer reviews for Hostal El Refugio
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

87 - 93 of 128 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2011

We stayed for four nights and had four busy days thanks to the extremely helpful couple (Darren and Deborah) running the place. They booked us the volcano climb, canopy ziplines (in the trees, over rivers), hot springs, and canyoning (abseiling down waterfalls). All were done with excellent companies at good prices.
The hostel is great. Comfortable beds, a lovely communal area with couches and a hammock. All facilities were good. It's no wonder the place was full and turning people away every night. Would stay here again without doubt. Loved it!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seanrmckenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2010

Upon arrival at El Refugio I was impressed by the friendly reception I received. Peter the owner and his staff were very welcoming and forthcoming with information about the hostel, activities and the area in general.

This hostel is well located in the center of Pucón, close to supermarket, restaurants and various bus stations. It's a wooden building vaguely reminiscent of a scandinavian cabin. There was a cramped but fairly well equipped kitchen and a nice lounge with a wood burning stove.

The first night I spent in the dorm downstairs and then moved upstairs as that dorm was fully booked (I'd turned up without reservation). The weather was particularly bad those first couple of days and at night I was SERIOUSLY cold. The second night I slept in my clothes. I mentioned the cold in passing to the friendly cleaning lady the following morning and she put an extra blanket on my bed, however the weather picked up a bit from then on. As there was no source of heat in either dorm and the building was obviously not very well insulated I would not recommend staying here in winter (although I saw that at least one of the private rooms had a wood stove).

There no breakfast included in the price (6,000 pesos) but apparently this is the norm in Pucón.

I would throughly recommend climbing Volcan Villarica, a day trip which I organised through the hostel (32,000). The agency which they use did not have the best equipment I saw that day but it was adequate and I would recommend it.

Overall an excellent choice in summer.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Supadappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Renz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, traveled solo
Thank Edgar F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, traveled with friends
Thank שלומי ה
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Javiera F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pucon hotels
0.5 mi away
Gran Hotel Pucon
Gran Hotel Pucon
#12 of 26 in Pucon
981 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lacustre Trip Hostel
Lacustre Trip Hostel
#7 of 175 in Pucon
76 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ruka Pucon Hostel
Ruka Pucon Hostel
#84 of 175 in Pucon
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Princesa Insolente Hostel - Pucon
0.1 mi away
Hostal Muller
Hostal Muller
#6 of 54 in Pucon
65 reviews
3.6 mi away
Okori Hostel
Okori Hostel
#4 of 175 in Pucon
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal El Refugio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal El Refugio

Address: Palguin 540, Pucon 4920, Chile
Location: Chile > Araucania Region > Pucon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Pucon
Price Range: $24 - $41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal el Refugio is proud to be "our pick" in the latest Lonely Planet for both South America on a Shoestring and Chile guides. Hostal el Refugio is a warm and friendly hostel, run by a Dutch-Chilean couple, and a great place to meet other travelers. The hostel is designed as a mountain hut and thanks to the inviting communal areas it is the perfect place to rest and recharge after a day of outdoor activities in the area. Both the owners and staff (experienced travelers) know Pucon and its environments thoroughly, and are happy to share this information and make personal recommendations. They are waiting to make your stay in Pucon unforgettable. Hostal el Refugio es mucho mas than just a place to sleep! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal El Refugio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing