We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families”
Review of Petrohue Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Petrohue Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We brought our family of 5 here during a rainy winter weekend (spread across 2 rooms on the 4th floor), and although there were few other guests in the hotel, we had a great visit. Setting is great, and the hotel has the feel of an old national parks-style lodge (even though it was rebuilt about a decade ago). Service was excellent, including a couple of beyond-the-expected efforts by the staff. The restaurant is not gourmet, but we had good meals and its very convenient relative to any other options (or lack thereof) in the area. We highly recommend it.

Room Tip: 4th floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 120 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2014

We arrived at the hotel by bus and boat from Bariloche, Argentina, and fell in love with the place as soon as we spotted it from the boat dock. The location is spectacular with the snow covered volcano towering over the site.

We had a room on the top floor with a balcony (2 rocking chairs) overlooking the lake for 2 nights. I don't think there are any 2 rooms alike, but all of them that we caught glimpses of were beautiful.

The common areas are also beautifully decorated with unique rough hewn furnishings. The huge fireplace on the first floor is magnificent.

The hotel arranged an all day hike with a guide for us the one full day we were at the hotel, We covered a lot of ground and learned a great deal about the flora and fauna of the area. They sent a small boat to pick us up and bring us back to the hotel at the end of our hike.

We have stayed in a lot of hotels while traveling over the past 20 years and this is one of the best experiences we have ever had. It was far more than we were expecting at this location.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AhabofLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed at 6 hotels in the los lagos region and this was by far the most disappointing. It is a gorgeous old timber frame lodge built in the 1910s and resembles the lodges at Yellowstone or Yosemite its set in a nice location next to emerald green lago de todos los santos and inside the national park. Its well off the beaten path. Good: the staff are very attentive and helpful, and there are a ton of them in the dining room, its easy to hike or go out on the lake from the hotel location and they have a guide service outside the lodge that does lots of adventure sports. Bad: our girls room smelled of mildew like it hadn't been occupied in months, there's no option for adjoining rooms or suites for families only the cabins, the indoor/outdoor pool is not heated and didn't look well maintained, the hottub is wood fired and costs an additional $30, the food at the restaurant isn't that good and its the only option without having to drive for 30 min or more. I expect things to cost alot out in the middle of no where but compared to huilo huilo where you get wifi and a modern luxury room, this place isn't worth the cost. They need to modernize badly and hire a new chef.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aegir101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Very bad service at front desk, we stayed at a very nice amd warm "log-cabin" outside the main lodge building. Fireplace did not work, even though it was full of ash and burnt logs. One of the bathrooms had a water leak, promptly noticed to staff but NEVER fixed. We payed US$350/night, very poor service.
Food bland, no taste. Wifi terrible and refused to share management's wifi password which was the only network available in our cottage.
Staff at the Expeditions hut were outstanding!! They know their stuff and the tours they sell.
If you want to go fishing there are a lot of much better places than this Lodge.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frederico T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Petrohue lodge is very special. It is beautifully built and the views,of the lake from the living salon are beautiful. We had a gorgeous room on the top floor with a balcony and a large sitting area. The staff are lovely and very knowledgeable. The food was very good. A delightful place.

Room Tip: Ask for room 405 on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Spent our last two nights in Patagonia at this refurbished lodge. There are a lot of old photos around the hotel that depict it's history. The wood architecture is beautiful (although you feel a little guilty when you come in soaking wet from the rain). We had a suite on the top floor with a view over the gardens. The room was very comfortable with a very nice preloaded CD of classical music. Although a bit chilly the heat was never turned on while we were there but we were still comfortable. The bathroom was very nice with a modern shower and large hot tub. The staff was a bit stand offish and catered more to the other guests who appeared to be Chilean or repeat customers. Our guide for the kayak trip was friendly but not overly informative.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobN06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We spent two days at the Lodge as part of a lakes crossing package. While not sure how much the whole package cost, we thoroughly enjoyed the experience. They rightly promote the lack of a TV and phone as an advantage as it really does give an opportunity to get away from it all and relax. The lack of wifi in the room was more than made up for by the presence of plenty of quiet sitting spots where you could sit and read or do whatever you wanted on the internet. Our package included a free activity which for us was a half day kayaking tour. This was also very good and we had the best of days with two really nice guides. The meals provided were fine even if the menu options were limited. We did a couple of nice walks in the forest and up the hill toward the volcano, which were also sensational, except for the horseflies which we brought under control with copious quantities of insect repellant. We liked the little touches like bringing us chocolate to our room after dinner and in the restaurant, the waiter made sure we got a spot we wanted looking out over the gardens by reserving us a table without us asking. The gardens are magnificent and for a quiet getaway, this was a very nice hotel, highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you don't like climbing stairs, make sure you go for a room on level 2! This is not a good ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank conatus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parque Nacional Vicente Perez Rosales
20.2 mi away
Hotel Peulla
Hotel Peulla
#2 of 2 in Parque Nacional Vicente Perez Rosales
61 reviews
20.2 mi away
Hotel Natura Patagonia
13.4 mi away
Hotel Lodge Las Cascadas
Hotel Lodge Las Cascadas
#1 of 3 in Puerto Octay
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Hotel AWA
Hotel AWA
#8 of 27 in Puerto Varas
71 reviews
6.9 mi away
Teski Refugio Volcan Osorno
Teski Refugio Volcan Osorno
#15 of 86 in Puerto Varas
38 reviews
18.2 mi away
Cabanas Anulen Puerto Varas
Cabanas Anulen Puerto Varas
#2 of 86 in Puerto Varas
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petrohue Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petrohue Lodge

Address: Ruta 225, Km 64, Parque Nacional Vicente Perez Rosales 00000, Chile
Location: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Parque Nacional Vicente Perez Rosales
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Parque Nacional Vicente Perez Rosales
Price Range: $238 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Petrohue Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Petrohue Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petrohue Lodge Chile/Parque Nacional Vicente Perez Rosales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing