We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, loud, nice lake location”
Review of Petrohue Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Petrohue Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Knoxville, TN
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Overpriced, loud, nice lake location”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Not a good experience here. The main problem is the price/quality ratio. The hotel is nice. We were in a superior room from $250 and the room was large, the bathroom was nice, everything was good. But the level of quality given the price was underwhelming. Given other places we stayed in the region, this place is way out of line. Of course they have a great lake location, but I would argue that many places on Lake Llanquehue have just as good a view for much less money and are as nice or close to as nice as this place. Todos Los Santos is a great lake, but not enough better than other lakes in the area to justify the high price.

Also, the lodge has a large and nice common area on the first level, but the sound travels easily up the large stairway. When we were there an obnoxious tour group was there and they were very loud until midnight, which kept us from sleeping. We asked the hotel staff to do something about the group but took little action. I understand people wanting to enjoy each other and be noisy. But in a place like this, I am looking for a quiet experience of relaxation. Being kept awake by noise is inconsistent with expectations for a place that bills itself as a place to disconnect and unwind. Part of it is a design flaw in the way the space is built. No place for a group to be noisy and not be heard in the entire building.

I will avoid this place on return trips.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nkelly9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    41
    16
    6
    5
See reviews for
31
60
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

I travel the world and there is one thing I despise, is arrogance. We can to this hotel and it was the low season, they said it was around $300 night, I don`t mind paying for it, but a tourist trap i will not tolerate. Therefore, we went 500 meters to a cabin run by Mr Alejandro (german last name), he gave us a room. He cooked our freshly caught trout in the lake of all saints, had a huge jug of wine and later went out to gaze at the Osorno Volcanoe with a full moon. This was definitely a one time experience. The next day we had fresh wild boar, he had this hung up in his shed, didn`t need any refrigeration due to that it was 40 degrees F outside!, what a time!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tomCat7908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2011

This would have to be one of the most beautiful locations anywhere - under a snow-clad volcano on an emerald lake in a national park. The hotel is extremely comfortable; and the rooms are very large with outstanding views. There are no TVs or phones in the rooms, and the ambience is - well - just lovely. Our room had an open fire, a balcony and windows overlooking just about everything, so we were tempted to just sit and stare, but we did venture out on excellent walks, the cost of which were included in the rate. All meals were included; their quality was very good and the quantity was huge. Service was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, UK
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2011

This is a very good hotel in a magical location with spectacular views of Osorno volcano and sitting on the edge of Lake Todos los Santos. This is the place where the ferry to Puella leaves, from where people travel on to Bariloche in Argentina so it is busy during the day but quiet at night.

The hotel is a majestic stone and wood-gabled building complete with tower. We had a beautiful room with large balcony and fine view of the lake. There is a comfortable lounge with log fire. Dinner is a set meal with two choices - basic but good. The staff were helpful and friendly.

On our first night the hotel was dominated by a large and loud tour party who rather took over. On our second night it was more pleasant with couples and small groups.

On our first day we took the ferry to Puella which is a wonderful, memorable and highly recommended trip, although the boat was heaving with the package tour crowd. Puella was a disappointment with the owners taking the opportunity to try to sell as much as they can to their captive visitors. We were hoping to do some walking but were only offered expensive guided walks. There is a however nice short walk to a waterfall.

On our second day we drove into the Rio Cochamo Valley - spectacular and stunning and yet to be opened up to tourists - you'll need a 4X4.

In general however a very good experience and would highly recommend the Petrohue Hotel.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Spineynorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panama
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2010

Granted....This hotel is miles from anything in a national forest, i think, but their policy with being an eco hotel, I have issues with. We arrived to the end of the road to the jumping off point for adventure trips and a catamaran that leaves Lago Todos los Santos for Bariloche Argentina. Due to a whole lot of rain, we decided to stop for lunch, which was fabulous, then checked into the lodge. The hotel is very nice and they advertise as the "Only Luxury Lodge in Chile". We go up to our room, which is on the 3rd floor and overlooks the lake. 18 degree celsius and cold. It is raining cats and dogs. I think a nice warm bath is in order and John heads for the bed for a nap.......then no heat and no hot water!!!! They do not turn on heat until 6:30- midnight. They have no T.V or wifi? What kind of crap is this? for $250/nt. There is a laminated folder that explains how you can help them conserve energy. I did talk to the manager, and she had the boiler cranked up. also, they lend us an internet wireless connection thing, so it worked out fine. I just don't get the eco thing....you would think they would give discounts for saving them money?
I have to say the restaurant at the hotel was great and they made me pancakes for breakfast the next day. Would I recommend this hotel to a friend????? NO, but I would recommend eating there.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2010

My wife and I throughly enjoyed the hotel, the food in the restaurant and especially the lake Todos los Santos and volcano Osorno views. A bit expensive but great location !

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andresonville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2010

I stayed at one of the beachside cabins of Hotel Petrohue for 2 nights.

The setting of Hotel Petrohue is amazing. The cabins (much are located opposite the hotel) offer a great choice if you want to self cater. The cabin was equipped with everything you could possibly need for a few days or week stay. Bed are comfortable, shower is warm and there is ample firewood for the fireplace. There are a few cabins in close proximity but you are given enough privacy .

If you are thinking about staying in the cabin, the only thing you will need to ensure you have is ample food. There is no supermarket or food supply store anywhere nearby, so make sure you bring everything before you arrive. I did eat at the hotel restaurant on the 1st evening, and it was ok. The food was nothing to rave about.

The location of the hotel is simply beautiful. It is definitely remote, but if you didn't want the remoteness then you wouldn't be looking for a hotel in the area. Make sure you take the day trip cruise through Todos los Santos Lake over to Peulla Village. Enjoy spectacular scenery and a nice lunch before hoping back on and returning it Petrohue.

There are also some nice walking trails around Petrohue to go on and get closer to the Osorno Volcano, but make sure you get good directions from someone at the hotel. The National Park office (which is close by) gave incorrect directions and the trial is not easy to follow without them.

I'm really glad I stayed in a cabin and not in the hotel while I was in Petrohue. I feel I got a real sense of the tranquillity and magic that Petrohue has to offer.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wheresjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parque Nacional Vicente Perez Rosales
20.2 mi away
Hotel Peulla
Hotel Peulla
#2 of 2 in Parque Nacional Vicente Perez Rosales
58 reviews
20.2 mi away
Hotel Natura Patagonia
17.2 mi away
Hotel Awa
Hotel Awa
#10 of 27 in Puerto Varas
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Hotel Lodge Las Cascadas
Hotel Lodge Las Cascadas
#1 of 3 in Puerto Octay
62 reviews
0.0 mi away
Quila Hostal
Quila Hostal
#2 of 8 in Ensenada
13 reviews
6.9 mi away
Teski Refugio Volcan Osorno
Teski Refugio Volcan Osorno
#15 of 79 in Puerto Varas
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petrohue Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petrohue Lodge

Property: Petrohue Lodge
Address: Ruta 225, Km 64, Parque Nacional Vicente Perez Rosales 00000, Chile
Location: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Parque Nacional Vicente Perez Rosales
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Parque Nacional Vicente Perez Rosales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Petrohue Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Petrohue Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petrohue Lodge Chile/Parque Nacional Vicente Perez Rosales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing