We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“character and comfort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zapato Amarillo B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Zapato Amarillo B&B
Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“character and comfort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

Almost a swiss chalet but with distinctive Chilean touches. Good food and very helpful hosts. Several languages spoken - always helpful for those of us whose Spanish is limited. The double room we stayed in was comfortable - the fireplace welcome even in November. Liked the turf roofs on all the buildings. The evening meals were good and worth staying in for - it did not look like there was too much available in nearby Puerto Octay.

Room Tip: Range of options to suit budgets from doubles with private bathrooms to a quirky backpackers' do...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sonia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
45
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mayne Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2011

We only spent one night in this marvelous little gem in early December 2011. It was easy too find as the signage is excellent and my wife totally relaxed in the garden. We arrived around 2:00pm with plans of getting booked in and then do some more exploring around the area in the afternoon. Once we got there my wife simply did not want to leave so we spent the afternoon and evening just enjoying the garden and the property. The hosts (Swiss and Chilean) are very friendly and speak a number of languages including English. We would recommend this hotel to any age group and especially to anyone who appreciates the sod roofs.

Room Tip: Book one of the sod roof cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maynetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

We stayed in a double room at this hostel. It was slightly tired, and a bit chilly at first - it rains a lot around there! The rooms seemed expensive for what you were getting (compared for example with the Bambu Lodge in Pucon). But the quality /price of the evening meal, and the friendliness of the hosts made up for it. It was good to sit at a big table with the other guests and share experiences. Breakfast was tasty too!
Location is a little way out of town - not sure how easy it is to reach without your own transport

Room Tip: Octagonal dorm looks fun - no-=one was in it while we were there
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pining_ex_londoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2011

We stayed some nights in the hostel of Nadia and Armin and that wasn´t our last stay there. This hostel is one of the best hostels in Chile, perhaps in South America. You start your day with a delicious and rich breakfast (great selfmade bread, cheese, ham, selfmade jam, cereals, fruits...). In the evening they prepare a fantastic diner for their guests, awesome! In a restaurant you´d pay a lot more for this excellent diner....
We spent our nights in the dorm with a 360° view over the hills to the vulcany. All the facilities and the dorm were really, really clean, so we felt like at home. They offer even to rent bicycles and scooter. Next time, we´ll spend more days there!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LA T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
224 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2011

This is a very well maintained hostel. There are four buildings 50 meters of the road. We stayed in a double room with shared bathroom which was located in the main house. There is also a quirky dorm that sleeps eight with sky lights.
The hosts were great. Knowledgeable and enthuasiastic about what we could do without trying to "sell" tours. We were given a photocopied map of a trek and they arranged for a taxi to take us to the start of the trek around volcano osorno.
The breakfast was a well prepared cold continental spread. We catered for ourselves in a small but functional kitchen. The Internet was a little temperamental but there is wifi and one computer available.
The only negative for us was the slightly isolated location. Puerto octay is only 30 minutes walk away but it's an uphill slog. Also only 5 buses pass to connect to the other villages making day trips to las cascadas and paseo de desolacion long days. But these are minor concerns if you are prepared! Luna the host family's dog/ bear is adorable as are the two cats.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChinaRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

This is a amazing place, it's a paradise! They have this amazing octogonal building, a room that you can sleep looking the stars at night and during the day is a perfect view of Osorno vulcano. Nadia e Armin, the owners, are very helpfull, kind and friendly persons. Everything there is done with love and dedication, built with every detail. The breakfast is delicious and healthy. You can feel happiness and peace there.

Room Tip: If you don't want to share the room, ask for a private one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mimilady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2011

Zapato Amarillo is an amazing place run by a lovey family. The grounds are beautiful with a great view of Volcano Osorno. My fiancé and I stayed in the dorm since it’s a little more expensive than the other places we’ve been staying in Chile (dorm: 9.000 CP/person), but we were more than happy with everything. The beds were very comfortable, the bathrooms were nice and everything was very clean. The breakfast was fantastic – homemade bread, jams, yogurt with fruits, meat, cheese, and some kind of Swiss/German fruit tart – seriously amazing! There is also a nice space to cook your own meals since I believe dinner there is quite expensive (7.000 pp) and the options in Puerto Octay are slim, but there is a grocery store. It’s about 1.4 miles outside of town, 30 mins walking, or you can hail the bus… or easily/safely hitch hike and be there in 2 mins. There of many excursions you can do from there, but we found it was nice to just relax and read in such a nice setting!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wake04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Octay
15.3 mi away
Hotel Lodge Las Cascadas
Hotel Lodge Las Cascadas
#1 of 3 in Puerto Octay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hostal Triwe
Hostal Triwe
#2 of 3 in Puerto Octay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
24.3 mi away
Termas Puyehue Wellness & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.4 mi away
Hotel Diego de Almagro Osorno
23.9 mi away
Hosteria Entre Lagos
Hosteria Entre Lagos
#4 of 5 in Puyehue
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
15.6 mi away
Hostal Tai Tai
Hostal Tai Tai
#5 of 6 in Puerto Octay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zapato Amarillo B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zapato Amarillo B&B

Property: Zapato Amarillo B&B
Address: Ruta U-55 | Km 2.5, Puerto Octay 9999, Chile
Location: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Puerto Octay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Octay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bed and Breakfast Family Hostel with the legendary green rooves, surrounded by country scenery of enchanting beauty . Here the traveller will find a welcoming place where one can relax, enjoying a delicious breakfast with other guests, for instance, muesli, dairy products, jams, home-made bread, etc., at the same time providing a panorama of the Osorno volcano, as a back-drop. This comfortable, country hostal run by a Swiss-Chilean family, offers a warm and welcoming infrastructure, designed in local wood, dominating the natural surrounding beauty with its grass roofs. We provide double and matrimonial beds with private or shared bathroom, and an original octagonal dormitory for 7 people, with panoramic views. We offer dinner daily to whoever would like to try out our specialities, which are characterized by cooking on low heat. We also offer a kitchenette for exclusive use of guests in the communal area, and, in order to enjoy the open air: terraces, ample gardens, and spaces, containing lavender, rhododendrons and hydrangeas, surrounded by meadows and nearby woodland. For those who enjoy a quiet day, or an intense day exploring the environs, we also offer an invitation to discover, and become captivated by our gastronomic treats. We offer various Chilean specialities, such as baked salmon, pastel de choclo (corn pie), various vegetarian dishes, or dishes based on cheese, such as Swiss fondue or raclette. These are some of the most popular dishes at dinner. We, Nadia and Armin invite you to come and discover this exceptional part of Chile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Zapato Amarillo B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing