We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A unique and stunning B&B with great home cooking” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fundo Los Guindos

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Octay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fundo Los Guindos
Ranked #1 of 1 Puerto Octay B&B and Inns
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A unique and stunning B&B with great home cooking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our two nights in Fundo Los Guindos. The home is amazing, full of character, there is wood everywhere, and the rooms are big with high ceilings. We took one of the two large double bedrooms available in the main house. It had a beautiful sloping wooden floor and a vaulted ceiling. The owner, Gloria, proudly told us we had the biggest bed in Chile. It was dwarfed by the size of the room and was also extremely comfortable. We walked down the track to the lake and private beach and discovered a delightful cottage tucked away in the woods that Gloria occasionally lets out to guests. Gloria's 4 dogs accompanied us on the walk there and back. The lake itself is enormous. You can barely see from one side to the other, and such is its influence, that the region has its own micro-climate. It never snows here, and the average winter temperature is 9 degrees.

Gloria treats her guests like family. Breakfasts were delightful. Freshly squeezed fruit juice, home baked bread, eggs, cheese, ham, homemade jams and honey, real coffee and a range of teas. We were treated to an aperitif of pisco sour each night. Dinner was cooked on the large wood burning range that also supplies heat to the house. The first night we enjoyed a green salad with avocado and ingredients from the garden, local beef with ratatouille and new potatoes also from the garden, and Panna Cotta served with physalis (cape gooseberry) freshly picked from the greenhouse. On the second night we were served a creamy tomato soup followed by chicken in a white wine sauce with mushrooms and tagliatelle. On both occasions Gloria joined us and we shared conversation and laughter over a bottle of excellent Chilean wine.

If we ever return to this part of Chile we would certainly stay here again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank AandAKent_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Menton, France
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

The property is not actually in Punto Octay, but 17 kms along the northern shore, DON'T let this put you off. The drive out is easy and if you look for Punto Fonk this is where to come across the most amazing property. You can see it from the road, it is an 102 year old wooden 'mansion' you won't miss it!!
Gloria, your host and owner cannot do enough for you, and if you are offered an evening meal, take it...she is a wonderful cook and answers any questions you may have. Breakfast is also a feast!
One is able to walk down to the lake shore (the dogs will show you the way!) where there is a small private beach. There are also 2 cottages for rent down there as well.
The rooms in the main house are lovely, very comfortable beds with en suite shower room and to have an aperitif out in the garden at the end of a day's driving, magical! you can get your photos of Llamas here too!

Plenty to see around this area, and easy to get to the airport at Punto Montt should you be travelling on further by air.
I highly recommend even a short stay here. Thank you so much Gloria and the dogs!

Room Tip: there are only 2 rooms so book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peacehorses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

At last somebody gives good service! this B&B certainly is worth every travelled mile and $$. We experienced somebody who is up with the chickens giving you freshly squezeed fruit juice, with fruit from her trees that we can actually "see" to be real, plus yoghurt, cold cuts, home baked bread, her own jam and cheese from a farm that we went to see ourselves (unlike CasaKo where we "heard" they had an organic garden but never got to taste anything from them, and paid the same amount of money for awful service and bad food). Gloria is a well educated and indeed interesting person who is willing to cook at your own request and boy can she cook; even made fresh Chirimoya ice-cream for us for dessert! After lliving in Switzerland for three decades, no wonder her standards are so high. The setting is spectacular with her own private beach of the Lake Llanquihue - Puerto Fonck - and also close enough to the bottom of the Osorno Volcano to go for a treck. She even went with me one day when my husband was not feeling
well. Sufice to say that we had booked for two nights and ended up staying one whole week! Thinking of going back next year.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hungrydogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview, Illinois
Level Contributor
217 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

If you want peace and quiet, great food, and a charming hostess (Gloria Weisser), Fundo Los Guindos should be considered. The main 15 room home is the ancestral residence of the owner. There also is a 5 bedroom cottage that sleeps at least 10 that is about a 1/3 mile down the hill. The 70 hecter property runs from the road down to Lake Llanquihue. There is a very private beach with a fire pit. Every breakfast and dinner was excellent and included several courses. We never once finished all that was offered. We learned something of the history of the area and Gloria acted as our concierge. One concern most people might have is that it is out of the way and not in a town. This worked ok for us and we used it as an operational base to go both north and south of Lake Llanquihue in our explorations. Before our arrival we stopped for ½ a day at Frutillar on the way from Puerto Montt. Another day we circled Lake Llanquihue, driving up Mt. Orosono and taking a boat ride out of Petrohue. A third day we ventured north to Puyenhue National Park. Another day we journeyed south to Chiloe.

The residence is only open during the summer season and it is recommended to book ahead. Ms. Weisser speaks German, Spanish and limited English. A great source for securing a booking as well as planning a trip to the Lake Country is Ms.Erika Schmitt Meister. She speaks excellent German, English and Spanish and lives in the area. Like Gloria, she really looks after her clientele. She even called ahead to some of our destinations to make sure we had safely arrived. We have used her twice and would not hesitate to do so again. Her email is patagoniaholidays.com Cell: 096 459 983

Room Tip: If you have a large group, the cabin is very private and well appointed. You have private access to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kasey1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

Fundo Los Guindos abounds in peaceful beauty. The 100 year old farmhouse is chock-full of rich woodworking and during the day is lit by wavy ripples of sunrays projected through its cylinder-glass windows. The owner and innkeeper, the charming Gloria Weisser, who speaks both German and Spanish, attends admirably to keeping her guests comfortable. The rooms are clean and spacious, the beds are perfectly comfortable, and the food served is fresh and delicious.
Part of the charm of the place is its rural location which can be a bit tricky to find. To reach Fundo Los Guindos: From Puerto Monte, take Ruta 5 north to the Frutillar exit. Follow the pavement, turning left, northeast 23.8 km to Puerto Octay. (The paved road is U-55-V, but most of the green Chilean highway signs only indicate destinations.) Arriving in Puerto Octay, turn left toward the Plaza del Armas, (indicated on a green highway sign) drive uphill and continue out of town, keeping right. Go 3.5 km. Just past the futbol stadium (on left) there is a right turn indicated by a green highway sign toward “Las Cascadas.” This is a horribly bumpy pot-hole filled stretch of dirt and gravel for @18km paralleling Lake Llanquihue and will lead directly to Fundo Los Guindos. However, there is a slightly longer alternate route that is not as teeth-jarring and probably is speedier due to the fact that most of this alternate route is paved! So skip the right turn and instead continue on the paved road for a total of 5km (from Puerto Octay). Veer right at the triangular junction (marked by some painted yellow bus shelters and continue on the paved route south (in the direction of the Osorno volcano). @20.9km from Puerto Octay, turn right onto a tree-lined gravel road through pasture-land. The road is indicated by a green highway sign reading “Puerto Fonck.” There is also a tall windmill-shaped sign in a cow pasture that reads “Fundo Media Luna.” Take this gravel road west for 5km, passing 2 churches. (The first church is on the right @2.6km) Turn right at the second church, to the driveway of Fundo los Guindos on the left.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank createwks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monchengladbach, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2011

Fundo los Guindos and its owner Gloria Weisser is the little gem with so much character that you probably won't find again. As often, such special places are hard to find as it is situated on a dirt road 17km from Puerto Octay's Plaza de Armas (you will need a 4WD, but they are planning to pave the street in 2011), at a place called Puerto Fonck. The house is a huge wooden house with high ceilings (more than 3m) and big rooms.
There are only two doubles available inside the main house but two cottages closer to the lake for up to 12 persons. Fundo los Guindos has an own private beach access and the views at sunset are simply beautiful! The lovely equipped rooms with large beds and the best mattresses and linen we have seen in South America will make you sleep and dream well. Additional you will find and feel the genuine hospitality of Gloria and if you have the chance to have dinner prepared by her you will for sure never regret it. She is an amazing cook and knows how to delight your senses. Equally the breakfast is breathtaking. Fresh fruit salad, homemade bread, cheese, eggs, homemade jam and honey, real coffee a whole assortment of tea...lets just say you have to go thereand experience yourself to understand what we mean!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reiserausch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2010

Just visited Southern Chile in November 2010 and found this hidden gem in Puerto Fonck, around 50km from Puerto Varas. The place is outstanding: a 100 year wooden house with a pond in front, old trees around, 2 gorgeous cabins hidden from the noise and a fantastic private beach by Lago Llanquihue. An idilic setting to pamper yourself into reading, sleeping, painting or just forget about urban life and daily concerns
Gloria, the owner, deserves a special mention. As she told us, she treats her guests as friends and you can tell so. She is a magnificent cook and the dinner we had in her house is priceless. No one could possible pay such care and devotion! Breakfast, the next morning was equally amazing! Besides that, she is a sofisticated, warm and educated person, and you can engage in interesting conversation with her about almost any topic.
Los Guindos is a unique place, a hidden gem and Gloria wants to keep it that way. We feel extremely happy to have had the chance to spend one night there.
I don't have enough words to reccommend it!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank agarridolarrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Octay
0.0 mi away
Hotel Lodge Las Cascadas
Hotel Lodge Las Cascadas
#1 of 3 in Puerto Octay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Triwe
Hostal Triwe
#2 of 3 in Puerto Octay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Werner
Hotel Boutique Casa Werner
#1 of 1 in Llanquihue
5.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Borde Lago
Hotel Borde Lago
#19 of 28 in Puerto Varas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zapato Amarillo B&B
Zapato Amarillo B&B
#1 of 6 in Puerto Octay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa de la Oma
Casa de la Oma
#4 of 19 in Frutillar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fundo Los Guindos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fundo Los Guindos

Property: Fundo Los Guindos
Address: Puerto Octay, Chile
Location: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Puerto Octay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Octay
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing