We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our favorite places!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lomas del Lago Cabanas
Santiago, Chile
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“One of our favorite places!”
Reviewed February 17, 2012

We enjoy traveling and staying in cabins when we travel in Chile, particularly for the privacy, the kitchen and the wood burning stove. We traveled with 1 young boy (4 years old), one set of grandparents and ourselves - 5 in total. It was too cold to use the pool but plenty of space for a young boy to run around, a small play ground and an amazing view of the lake and volcanoes. Well located, away from the highway but good base to travel around the region, including Chillan (day trip), Osorno and several of the falls. Very quiet and beautifully kept.

Our place had two twin beds, one double bed, a bunk bed and a couch + two bathrooms. Small kitchen, dining table and sitting area with TV. It's rustic and one of the nicer cabins we've staid in. Fruitillar / Osorno area is incredibly beautiful and you need 3 days at least to enjoy the area. Groceries are reasonably convenient, there's an Unimarc in town.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank satellite_answr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    18
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
41
12
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level 6 Contributor
907 reviews
486 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 956 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2011

As long as you have a car, this is a great place to stay in Frutillar -- especially for a family. Chileans vacation in "cabinas" and you should to, so long as you get a nice one like this place.

The cabins are in a well landscape compound on a hillside just outside of Frutillar with a great view of the lake and volcano (if the weather is clear). They are not luxurious, but comfortable and cozy. Free wifi and satellite TV are a big plus. The owner is friendly and speaks good English (he can be a little slow responding to emails, but don't give up).

Bajo Frutillar is a lovely, quiet town with nice restaurants and architecture, much of it German-themed (from its early settlers). There's also a nice German museum. A very pleasant place to base yourself in the Lake District. Especially for a family, the value at this property can't be beat.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave's_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chile
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2010

Born in the USA and married to a Chilean, I never had the opportunity to visit the southern region of Chile. My trip to the South was magnificent. Our stay at Lomas Del Lago was the icing on the cake. Its always nice when your accomodations meet your destination expectations, clean, good working order, and great service. Our daily breakfast service was very good, highly reccomended! The owners went out of their way to make our stay as welcome as possible, what else could you ask for? We will most definately return, and use this lodging as our permanent vacation place.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iceland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2009

We stayed for 10 nights in the Lomas del Lago cabins in Frutillar in last April - what a wonderful place!!! The cabin was perfect with a fireplace and a wonderful view of Mount Osorno. We have been travelling in South America for 11 months and our time in the Frutillar cabin is one of the best. Beautiful nature, tranquility, wonderful owners that are very helpful and friendly. If you are staying in Southern Chile, this is the place to stay!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gs09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
Reviewed October 16, 2008

We loved our stay at these cabins. The view was breathtaking and the accommodations were very comfortable. We would definitely stay there again and recommend it to anyone. The staff was extremely helpful with directions and recommendations for activities in the area. You will not regret your trip to one of the most beautiful places I have ever visited.

  • Liked — Views, Location
  • Disliked — Access road had many potholes
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank martianlegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
Reviewed March 13, 2008

We travelled the Lake District on our way to Patagonia, and each night stayed in a different town .
Lomas del Lago was absolutely perfect for us tired travellers: clean, comfortable beds, lots of hot water, kitchennette with everything you need to cook your own meals, a wooden stove, and in the morning the maid brought us the most incredible breakfast, for 6, including gourmet fruit, fresh baked cofee cake, eggs, juice, coffee, tea, ham, cheese, bread, you name it!
I liked the fact that we could pay in dollars, since we were running out of chilean pesos, and they take cash as well as credit cards. The place is family owned, very polite and kind people, they make you feel very welcome and right at home.
The only thing, we could've used some help early in the morning to light up the stove. Pretty cold morning and us city people don';t have much practice lightening up a wood stove. Maybe when they bring the breakfast they can light it up as well.
We would stay over again in this place and surely recommend it to anyone looking for a classy place that is not out of price range. Great value, and great experience.

  • Liked — The service
  • Disliked — Not much to do around this town.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MonicaLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas V I
2 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2008

We just happened to see the sign as we were driving through Frutillar and stopped to look. The manager and co owner Alvaro was very gracious, spoke excellent English and happened to have an open unit for the days we needed. The units were just beautiful with full kitchens and fire places and views of the volcano that were incredible. Everything was super clean and the units were in superb condition. Best of all was the graciousness
of Alvaro, his wife and his parents. We could not have asked for better hosts. My wife and I highly recommend a stay here!!

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sharptop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frutillar
0.8 mi away
Hotel Frutillar
Hotel Frutillar
#3 of 6 in Frutillar
28 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Ayacara
Hotel Ayacara
#4 of 6 in Frutillar
126 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Werner
Hotel Boutique Casa Werner
#1 of 1 in Llanquihue
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Hotel Cabana del Lago
Hotel Cabana del Lago
#4 of 27 in Puerto Varas
1,869 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cabanas El Bosque Patagonico
Cabanas El Bosque Patagonico
#15 of 21 in Frutillar
22 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cabanas del Teatro
Cabanas del Teatro
#1 of 21 in Frutillar
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lomas del Lago Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lomas del Lago Cabanas

Property: Lomas del Lago Cabanas
Address: Nadi Redondo - Parcela 11 | Casilla 48, Frutillar, Chile
Location: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Frutillar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Frutillar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lomas del Lago Cabanas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Lomas del Lago' cabins has 8 fully equipped comfortable cabins surrounded by beautiful gardens and unparalleled views of Lake Llanquihue and volcanoes Osorno, Calbuco, Puntiagudo and Tronador in Argentina and green farm al around. Located away from the noise and activity of the town, the fully equipped cabins offer our visitors calm and peaceful environment in comfortable installations. Good service and gentle attention are part of our hallmark. Our facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible are swimming pool, playground, roasters, bicycles and bikes, etc. We also provide services with additional charge as Southern breakfast, washing / ironing of clothes, custom service, familiar hot tub with whirlpools and others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lomas del Lago Cabanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing