We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genial”

Emporio y Restaurant Meli
Ranked #8 of 37 Restaurants in Frutillar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The food we eat today and what our ancestors ate is part of our roots, our culture, our history; is a reflection of who we are and where we come from and is this story that we want to rescue and share Emporio Meli. Come and enjoy the best of the countryside and the sea in Frutillar.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Genial”
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Great food and the attention was incredible. Ask for the salmon, it was awesome!!! The place is great, its a totally go!!!

Helpful?
Thank Oscarsolimano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frutillar, Manager at Emporio y Restaurant Meli, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Great to here your opinion, we hope to see you back soon.MELI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    44
    15
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Varas, Chile
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best ceviche ever!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

After sometime under renovation yesterday the Meli restaurant opened its doors to the public again. I was looking forward to try the new menu and I chose this one dish. A wonderful ceviche with its flavors balanced to perfection and a beautiful presentation. I enjoyed it so much!

I am looking forward to go there again and try the other dishes in their menu. I noticed that at the adjoining emporio (a small grocery store in the same building) they sell a variety of fresh bread baked at the Meli every day.

There is also a vegetable garden set up by the restaurant where they will be getting their fresh ingredients for their meals (its spring now in Chile and gardens are just starting to show their vegetables).

All this with the beautiful setting by the Llanquihue lake makes it a must to visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RosaVaras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frutillar, Manager at Emporio y Restaurant Meli, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Great to here your opinion, we hope to see you back soon.MELI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Varas, Chile
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“a major upgrade to hanging out in Frutillar”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

we had passed by several times and spotted a nice modernist-german style place by the lakefront, as you head out towards Punta Larga (south from Frutillar's main coastal drag).

curiosity got the better of us, and since we've been to Se Cocina and Lavanda, we drove to Meli.

first impressions:
great use of materials, proportions, and colors. There is a sense of style here that is hard to find in the south of Chile. a mix of simple wood, stone, and light, combine with a simple, attractive garden, a perfectly manicured lawn stretching all the way out to the waterfront, and a little jetty.

entering the small dining area, past the spices and goodies arranged in black-wood open faced cabinets, you sit down on a firm table made of recovered wood (it's a rare variety known as abedul, I have a cutting board made of the same!). a blackboard shows the days specials.

the man in charge is Nicolas, and we learned he was brought up in Boston and worked in Vancouver, in the hospitality industry. He knows his stuff! we tired different sandwiches and a delicious roast tomato-eggplant soup (so good that I looked up the recipe the next day and made some of my own).

all good. plus he placed a big complimentary basket of homemade potato chips,
better than the original Cape Cod potato chips of my youth! and that's saying something.

pisco sours were good, and the bill was very reasonable.

we were told that Meli will be open all year, and all day, so another positive point for a lovely town that can be a little slow in the off season.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ABIIIChile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frutillar, Owner at Emporio y Restaurant Meli, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por su opinión.
MELI esta abierto después de una larga remodelación de su cocina.
Lo esperamos.!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emporio y Restaurant Meli also viewed

Frutillar, Los Lagos Region
 
Frutillar, Los Lagos Region
Frutillar, Los Lagos Region
 

Been to Emporio y Restaurant Meli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing