We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very interesting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Museum Britannia House

Museum Britannia House
Ranked #8 of 28 things to do in Stanley
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This maritime museum pays homage to the cultural history of the Falklands.
London
Level Contributor
875 reviews
668 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 832 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by this museum - in fact it contained a far wider range of exhibits and artifacts than we expected. The history of the sheep farming islanders, a reproduction Victorian kitchen, equipment & chair relating to how dentistry was done in years gone by, explanations of involvement in both World Wars & the 1982 conflict and even homage to the English Royal family. In fact every corner seemed to reveal information on a new subject. Our favourite was the reproduction 1930 community store complete with original ledger in £'s shillings & pence. Shame the Recluse hut was closed. If you want to visit the Cape Pembroke lighthouse at the most easterly point of the Falklands, pay £5 and they will give you the key. (Key? Biggest, heaviest key we've ever seen)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank elsiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    9
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
118 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“This is an excellent museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

This is an excellent museum that used to be run by John Smith. It houses all sorts of artifacts to do with 19th century life in the Falklands and since. I sent my dentist a photo of the old dentist's chair that sent shivers down my spine. There are clothes, wedding dresses, the contents of the local shops way back when, some of which the oldsters amongst us might just remember.
There is plenty about the maritime history as well as a small natural history section.
The stuff about the Falklands Conflict in 1982 is currently in a separate building but the whole museum is due to move nearer into town close to the Liberation Monument soon.
Unfortunately, Cartmell Cottage was closed and opening does somewhat depend on when cruise ships are there (when the place can be flooded with visitors) best to check first.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank UKTurkeyTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great little museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is one of the great finds when it comes to museums. some unique artifacts. The staff are all volunteers and are very helpful. Not to be missed.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Falkland Islands Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

We spent a lot of time on our visit to the museum. Lots of things to read about & look at. Was particularly interested in the 20th anniversary (1982 conflict) book about The Welsh Guards . Recognised quite a few people. Museum entrance also includes Cartmell Cottages. Free to 1982 veterans. Group of local schoolchildren were visiting whilst we were there & they seem to be having a great time. So something for everyone. Found staff to be very friendly & able to answer all the questions we had.
Notice one of the review photos is Jubilee Villas. Is that part of the museum? Each time we attempted to visit it seemed closed

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SALLY186258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale, Pembrokeshire UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fakland islands museum”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

mmm this seems unchanged since John Smith ran the museum. nice to see Portal Point hut but no entry?? and no ability to answer my questions at the museum, nice new lady at the counter but she needs back up from the manager and to be able to answer local questions on relevant sujects

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank anna s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum Britannia House also viewed

Stanley, East Falkland
 

Been to Museum Britannia House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing