We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stanley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Malvina House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stanley
Certificate of Excellence
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A lovely hotel”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We stayed at the Malvina for 2 nights at the end of a 15 day visit to the Falklands. The hotel is situated overlooking the harbour in the centre of Stanley. It is modern and well furnished, spotlessly clean, quiet and the staff are very friendly, helpful and efficient. Our room was spacious with wardrobe, long dresser with tea and coffee making, flat screen TV, a sofa, table and a very large and comfortable bed. The window formed a bay and the window seat was big enough to sit in with views over the harbour. Bath robes are supplied. The bathroom was a good size with a wide shelf for bits & bobs. The shower was over the bath but was powerful and very hot - we had to turn ours down to the minimum heat to make it comfortable. We were on full board and all meals were excellent. Obviously fresh fruit is hard to come by and very expensive (bananas as £1 each!) so don't expect it with breakfast but the buffet has the usual cereals, yogurt, toast, croissants and a full English breakfast is served at the table. Tea and coffee are from flasks but was perfectly ok. For our evening meal we had a separate menu for full board, but this contained a choice of two starters, two mains and two puddings and the food was excellent, especially the toothfish and the squid. We were also able to get cappaccino, the first we had had since leaving Brize Norton! Breakfast is usually served from 7 a.m. but the buffet is available from 5 a.m. if you are on an early flight home. We can thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Try for a harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Diana089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    55
    10
    6
    0
See reviews for
16
43
23
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I was staying there on a business trip for the whole week, the rooms are very clean and modern and I had a room that looked out onto the harbour. The staff wee always friendly and very helpful with advice and the restaurant was really good....the chilli squid is recommended as well as the toothfish. Occasionally there are a few items missing from the menu if the fresh supplies from Chile don't arrive on the plane....but we were never disappointed with the dinners. The breakfast buffet was good although I would have liked some fresh fruit, but again I think this is down to the supply chain.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saimanjai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Very nice hotel.. Nice view of the harbor. The staff is very friendly and will go out of their way to accommodate you. Make sure if you are traveling from the US to bring a power coverer for your electronic devices. If you forget one, the store is about a 5 minute walk. The cost is about 9 bucks. There are NO ATM Machines on the island. If you wish to get the local currency, you can get that at the local bank via a cash advance. The restaurant in the hotel is superb.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank dmajkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleby Magna, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

This is the best hotel in Stanley. The rooms are well equipped spacious and comfortable. Staff are friendly and helpful and the restaurant is first class,arguably the best in town, serving local produce where possible. Well worth the stay.

Room Tip: Try for a water facing room and look out for dolphins
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
379 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

The Malvina House is centrally placed in Stanley, cIose to all of the attractions and easy to find. I spent eight nights here at the end of October and used the restaurant for the majority of evening meals and at breakfast. The rooms are very clean and reasonably spacious with tea and coffee facilities but no fridge or mini bar. The room has tv with limited channels, the three main UK channels and some Spanish speaking ones as well as the local Falklands TV station. There is wifi reception but this has to be purchased at £5 for one hour and £15 for 12 hours and the internet is extremely slow so the single hour goes very quickly. The bathroom was clean and water pressure good with a bath and shower over it, the water particularly hot. The bed has to be one of the most comfortable I have slept in. My room overlooked the large rear car park but was not noisy, the front rooms have a water front view. There is no ironing board but having asked for one, this was provided straight away.

The restaurant was excellent, a good selection of food and of very high quality. The pork belly, reindeer, and roast chicken particularly good. The wine list was varied and the house reds reasonably priced and good quality.

Breakfast was always good and plenty of it. The restaurant was very spacious on three levels and with good views across the water to wireless ridge. There is also a good bar where food can also be ordered. The hotel has a spa that you can book exclusive use of at £15 an hour but I did not use it so cannot say what it is like.

Without exception the staff were really friendly and helpful and no request was too much, it really made a difference. I have to say that looking at photographs of Stanley beforehand, I was not expecting too much but Malvina House (which is nothing to do with any Argentine connection) exceeded my expectations and if I go back would have no hesitation in staying there again.

Room Tip: Ask in advance for a room at the front away from the bar and restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Viatori-lasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

The Malvina House Hotel has a really good restaurant with a good selection of meals made with locally sourced produce cooked to a good standard and has never disappointed during my 6 months in the Falklands. The toothfish, reindeer and lamb are my favorite main meals - the lamb is a very generous portion. And the Chilli Salt Squid starter is epic! I haven't stayed there myself but my friends and colleagues have described the rooms as clean and simple with comfy beds. Described as better than a Travel Lodge but not quite as well decorated as a Premier Inn.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank kwai1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton-le-Moor, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
385 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Wonderful location, convenient to the amenities of Port Stanley and close to the Falklands War memorial. Modern facilities with all you would want ... Rooms not huge but adequate .. S me look to the front and over the water eg number 37.
Had excellent food prepared by chef
Porridge at breakfast a must

Room Tip: Ask for view of water
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avocettoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Malvina House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malvina House Hotel

Property: Malvina House Hotel
Address: 3 Ross Road, Stanley, East Falkland FIQQ1ZZ, Falkland Islands
Location: Falkland Islands > East Falkland > Stanley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stanley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Malvina House Hotel is Stanley's Premier hotel, situated on Ross Road close to local attractions and amenities. All rooms are en-suite with bath and showers, IDD telephone, Flat Screen TV, Tea/Coffee making facilities, Hairdryer, and WIFI enabled. We have a comfortable lounge bar and a 120 cover restaurant serving quality fresh cooked food using local products where possible created by our Michelin Star experience chef Matt Clarke. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Malvina Hotel Stanley
Malvina House Hotel Falkland Islands/Stanley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing