We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just right”
Review of Shorty's Motel

Shorty's Motel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stanley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shorty's Motel
Ranked #5 of 5 Stanley B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Shirley and the staff are an asset to Marlene the owner. We had a very comfortable double room (no 6) with its own ensuite bathroom.

The room was cleaned and refreshed every other day as we were staying for 7 days. Overall the room was a good size with everything available to hand and the shower / water was always hot when you needed it.

Breakfast was substantial and provided in Shorty's Diner opposite.

Staff were always helpful and served with a smile.

Also offered laundry service and after 8 months travelling this is the best laundry service we have experienced, our clothes smell new again. Fabric conditioner we have missed you......

Thank you all at Shorty's we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (12)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 12 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2009

We stayed at Shorty's one night before we left the Falklands because our first choice of accommodation was already booked. We found it to be comfortable and pleasant, but not especially fantastic. I think their typical clients are military personnel that come from Mount Pleasant who stay in Stanley for weekends off so it's fairly bare bones.

Shorty's is located higher on the hill on the eastern part of town. Not that Stanley is very big or anything, but it is a bit out of the way of the main drag. Shorty's Diner is actually a fairly popular place to eat on the island and the motel is right next to the diner (but like everything in Stanley, closes early so you won't be bothered by diner traffic at night). It looks very much like a motel in some small town in the States. There are maybe 5 or 6 rooms, all with doors that directly open to a covered walkway.

We were in a room with 2 twin beds and the beds were comfortable and the room was plainly decorated. It was definitely a bit small, but manageable. We had a TV which was very nice, but the only channel was the BFBS. The bathroom was a decent size and the shower had great water pressure and the water was hot.

Breakfast was included in the price and was a standard English breakfast. Not especially great, but it got the job done. We payed 70 pounds for the night which, in dollar equivalents, made the place feel overpriced. But if you need a decent place to lay your head down en route to bigger and better things, Shorty's definitely fits the bill.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wlfmn77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Will_Chile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Danilo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gusti1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shorty's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shorty's Motel

Address: West Hillside, Stanley, East Falkland, Falkland Islands
Location: Falkland Islands > East Falkland > Stanley
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Stanley
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Shorty's Motel Falkland Islands/Stanley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing