We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go For It - Worth every halfpence.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bluff Cove Lagoon

Bluff Cove Lagoon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Lagoon on our ranch, Bluff Cove, is home to 3,000 Gentoo Penguins, a growing colony of King Penguins, and an abundance of other spectacular wildlife on a beautiful wilderness beach only reached by our 4x4 vehicles. Home-baking and delicious local flavours are served with live music in the Sea Cabbage Café. The Museum tells the story of Bluff Cove. Our award winning tour is a fabulous combination of Falkland wildlife, heritage and hospitality.
Irvington, Virginia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Go For It - Worth every halfpence.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Well, it was expensive. Go for it anyway. This may have been the best organized tour I have ever been on. It was certainly the most interesting.
First -- the van driver --and only 16 in a van -- was very informative. Of course, driving on the "wrong" side of the road made the trip a little thrilling -- but not as thrilling as the 4 WD from the highway to the lagoon. There are many amusement park thrill rides that don't pack the same punch. Again, the driver was super and very well informed and interesting.
The penguins -- well, I've run out of superlatives, so I'll just say have to be seen to be believed. And after standing about in the 50 MPH wind and then walking about a mile to the pick-up point what are we offered but a perfect cup of hot tea with a choice of 24 (yes, TWENTY FOUR) kinds of homemade goodies. This is included in the price of the tour.
The owner and his wife were both on hand to see that everything went smoothly and were great sources of information -- as well as being just plain NICE.
Go for it. I'd do it again in a heartbeat!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DnYC176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    7
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas TX
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Penguins and off road adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

We started with a fun, but bumpy ride in a Land Rover 4x4 for a few miles to the Cove. All of the drivers and locals know each other and help make the experience enjoyable. The Gentoo and King Penguins were everywhere to observe at the Cove. The walking was rough and remember that the penguins leave LOTS of their droppings. You can't avoid that . At the end of the walk was a delightful cafe with homemade cakes, cookies and hot drinks. Staffed by locals including an accordion player. The museum is quite interesting too.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank dmbkDallasTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Bluff Cove with Celebrity”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

We visited Bluff Cove in February 2014 on a ship's excursion (Celebrity Infinity). We rarely use cruise line excursions as they are limited and overpriced. However, as we booked late, there was no opportunity of booking with locals and booking on the pier seemed unlikely. The trip was amazing and worth every penny. A mini-bus trip over hard roads for about 30 minutes and then off road and bumpy (an experience itself but don't do it if you have back problems) for 30 minutes. We were lucky with the weather - sunny. the hour that you get there was great: A small but beautiful colony of king penguins; a very large and hilarious colony of gentoo penguins (their antics still have us howling with laughter - make sure you video - stills do not do them justice, you are close and they wander outside the "controlled" area); magallanic penguins are often on the beach but were not there for our visit (not a problem for us as we saw hundreds at Peninsular Valdes/Puerto Madryn); lots of skuas, geese and other birds (I had a beautiful 2 banded plover a yard from me with no fear). We did not see dolphins but I was that enthrlled by the penguins that I did not look out to sea. We did see dolphins near the memorial in Stanley. It was one of those trips when you cannot believe what you are doing even when you are doing it. We finished off the day with a couple of drinks at a pub in Stanley. Do not penny pinch and miss this. The only trip that might have been better is Volunteer Point (fully booked when I tried - it is a long trip and leaves little time for anything else) - but I am very satisfied.
The free cake and tea at the hut was nice although I spent little time there as I enjoyed the penguins so much.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“WOW...WOW...WOW!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

What an experience! First the ride of my life then the view of the bay with all the wildlife finished with a cup of tea, pastries and a museum tour. Thank you so very much for the true southern hospitality. This is definitely a "do over" if given the opportunity!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank ShariHorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheektowaga, New York
Level Contributor
164 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“The BEST excursion in Stanley”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

This had to be the BEST excursion in Stanley, Falkland Islands. From the van ride, the Land Rover ride over the peat fields, the penguins, and the Sea Cabbage Cafe, everything is SO WELL ORGANIZED. This tour is a community effort. The drivers share so many interesting stories and they drive you right down to Bluff Cove within an easy walking distance to the penguins. You have an hour to walk close to the penguins and take tons of pictures, stroll around the bluff, then enjoy tea and a HOMEMADE treat at the Sea Cabbage Cafe. You're even serenaded by an accordion player. Hattie even shared her recipe for the lace cookies with us! What hospitality! If you're on one of the cruise ships, be sure to sign up for this penguin tour in Falkland Islands. The tour is 100% better than the penguin tour at Punta Arenas, Chile, where you have to walk 1 mile to see about only 25% of the number of penguins that you see at Bluff Cove. And, there's no complimentary Sea Cabbage Cafe at Punta Arenas! Bluff Cove Lagoon is definitely worth it! This tour made Falkland Islands such a memorable experience.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GLaSota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bluff Cove Lagoon also viewed

East Falkland, Falkland Islands
Stanley, East Falkland
 
Stanley, East Falkland
Stanley, East Falkland
 

Been to Bluff Cove Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing