We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive but worth it. Beautiful trip.”

Ranked #4,149 of 3,862 things to do in Argentina
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Expensive but worth it. Beautiful trip.”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We hesitated before booking this trip due to the extremely high cost, however it is a once in a lifetime experience and we went ahead. No regrets whatsoever, we were blessed with perfect weather and the views along the way were absolutely stunning, even after 3 months of travelling in S America. The boats and buses were all very comfortable and the guides gave just enough information and commentary to be interesting without being intrusive. A fantastic day, wholeheartedly recommend the trip. Couple of points : we took along a packed lunch rather than eating at the expensive lunch stop (although actually it turned out to be pretty reasonable). There is actually a small store in the village, plus a walk etc, it is not just the hotel as the guide indicated. Great ice cream! Also I would expect the port fees and Rio Petrohue entrance to be included in the already high price.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    52
    17
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
220 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Very scenic and beats a bus trip hands down!”
Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile



We opted to do this bus/cruise trip over one day in order to cross over from Bariloche to Puerto Varas in Chile. We thought that the two ay option where you break the journey for 24 hours was too long. Indeed when we got to Puella where you stop we realized our choice was a good one because there is nothing o do there other than forest walks, and we have done our fair share of those over recent weeks in SA. The trip involves 3 buses and 3 boats. The long lake cruises let you view stunning scenery. In fact there is probably no way to see some of this unless you do go on the cruise. We found everything worked well in terms of organization and the guides we had were effective. Frankly, for the price (US$280/px) we think they should have included lunch at Puella and covered the port tax and park fees. It was scungy not to do this. Nevertheless we both felt that it was a far nicer option than a straight bus trip (7hrs) and we thought is was a worthwhile investment. If you want to stretch it out, do it over 2 days, but we found that the one day option was fine and we got dropped at our hotel in Puerto Varas.

Helpful?
4 Thank Goldrichie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago
Level Contributor
118 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Unfortunately disappointing”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Unfortunately the day I made the crossing the weather was rainy and cloudy, maybe that's why the service failures were stronger than nature. The food service Peulla is expensive and very bad, does not correspond with what is paid for the tour. The catamaran Argentine side are old and uncomfortable. During the voyage there were no stops to contemplate certain points that were included. Definitely it is not a pleasure trip and less to do with children because it is too exhausting. Maybe if there was another operator the sevice improve because with the current monopoly no good service.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank JorgeSV67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Experience and Worth the Price”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We did this trip from Bariloche to Puerto Varas in April 2012 and it was a great experience. The service received from the booking office prior to our trip was comprehensive and helpful. Although expensive, it is a really full day with a lot of services, and thus in my opinion worth the money. All staff were extremely professional and knowledgeable regarding the area. Our luggage was handled professionally the whole way through, labelled and taken care of from Bariloche until the Chilean Border, then again until we were dropped off at our hotel in Puerto Varas. The trip across Lago Frias was beautiful, and the reflections of the snow capped mountains in the water were stunning. The Border crossing was easily managed at both Puerto Frias and then at Peulla. The lunch offered at the Hotel Peulla was wonderful, service was quick, with plenty of time to walk to the the next boat. We had a great time and I would definately recommend if it fits into your itinerary.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank MLH2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Relaxing travel day with great views, smooth & organised journey by the staff”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

We booked our two places (for route Puerto Varas – Bariloche in one day) on the Cruce Andino a few months in advance. Great service from Nora in the office, always answering my emails promptly, providing advice. She also called me the day before our trip to advise that we need to arrive at their office a bit earlier as they had a very busy day for our travel day. Close to 300 people would be doing the crossing!
We arrived at their office on the day of travel. A lot of staff were already there getting ready. We checked in with them and they labelled luggage and loaded it onto our coach.
We then went to specific hotels to collect more passengers. After this was all complete we headed off. On route we stopped to look at water falls which was nice.
Each coach had a driver and guide, ours was very knowledgeable, always providing comments on things we were passing, and spoke good English as well as Spanish.
While we were at the water falls the coaches had gone to the port to drop off our luggage and returned for us. So that when we arrived at the first port our luggage was being loaded. Here they organised all the bags by where each one’s destination.
We did the various bus and boat journeys as per the itinerary. Each part went smoothly. Our guides during these journeys were all good, explaining the views, what the next step was etc.
At lunch time we stopped at Hotel Natural Peulla, lunch isn’t included. It was nothing special but ok.
There we were told what our next journey would be, when to be ready, as there were still a lot of passengers that were continuing that day to do the 1 day crossing like us.
Others stayed at the hotel as they spent some days in the area and could do activities.
We then got into smaller buses to cross the border. This went fine also. After a bit of a wait we continued our next journey. On the final boat the guide went through all the bags labelling which coach they had to be on. She then advised us all which coach we should get on based on our hotels.
Here a lot of people seemed nervous as we were worried if our bags had reached this far or get onto the right coach.
When we reached the final port in Bariloche the staff loading the bags were quick and efficient. Amazingly, but I guess I shouldn’t be surprised all the bags seemed to get to where they were meant to be.
Throughout the day we saw amazing views, the trip was long and relaxing but not stressful and it was all very well organised especially with so much luggage and people to look after.
One small point: make sure you wear white or light coloured clothes as there were quite a lot of bugs.
A great way to cross the Andes, seeing the landscape from a different way rather than going through airports.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
7 Thank Italian_kilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cruce Andino Puerto Montt / Bariloche Day Tours also viewed

San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 
Esquel, Province of Chubut
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 

Been to Cruce Andino Puerto Montt / Bariloche Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing