We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Quiet Marshland with Different Birds of Feathers

A Marshland located at Northern part of S’pore with great variety of migratory birds through... read more

Reviewed 5 weeks ago
Protr
,
Singapore, Singapore
via mobile
More than a Nature Walk

Last weekend, my wife and I visited the marshes with a couple friends of ours. Thinking it to be an... read more

Reviewed August 30, 2018
BrandonPBS
,
Singapore, Singapore
Read all 25 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Singapore
from $41.83
More Info
from $32.94
More Info
from $51.54
More Info
from $75.66
More Info
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveler rating
6
8
7
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
6
8
7
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews conservation area migratory birds peaceful place nature lovers marshland tower diversity hat development shelter tours park track visitors trees
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 25 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2018 via mobile

Great getaway from city life,good to go before sunset and catch it when sun comes down...beautiful and very peaceful place,I went there twice and planning to go again,but take note to bring sufficient water and snacks because there is no canteens or restaurant over there.good to go with family friends and your partner,can bring your lenses to watch bird especially during migration season,it is home to birds and many species.
Good to go for just reading books at quite places,there for shelter,tower there to sit down and rest,view the scenery and read book.

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank khinnandarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2018

Last weekend, my wife and I visited the marshes with a couple friends of ours. Thinking it to be an early evening nature walk, we were pleasantly surprised at a different experience, visually and aurally.

The Kranji Gate opened up the way into the wetland with a chorus of marsh frogs coming from the ponds. We spent a short time peering in the direction of the "bass" vocals and caught sight of a few amphibious residents in this "welcome performance".

Our ears were soon distracted by chorus of the feathered kind. Spotted at the top of some trees were some yellow-bodied birds (sorry for the lack of bird knowledge). Regrettably, we were not camera-ready and our smartphones could not capture the glorious sighting at that distance.

My wife tried to match these birds with the education board "Birds of Kranji Marsh" but they were in black and white.Perhaps, the National Parks could consider improving this with colored photographs to aid novices like us.

There were a few photography enthusiasts with their tripods and "elaborated" camera equipment patiently awaiting for their perfect shots of the bird-kind. Quietly, we passed them by, not wanting to rob them of the rewards for their long suffering wait. They were just the first of many "armed" bird-watchers through the visit.

Along the way to the Raptor Tower, there were continuous sightings of birds and melodic chorus that made the walk pleasant and enjoyable. The tower gave us a panoramic view of the Kranji Marshes. At that height, we were directed by other visitors to a nearby pond where a water monitor lizard was doing a "Nessie (Loch Ness)" surface swimming routine.

Before we head back (the sun was setting and the wetland closed at 7pm), we had a chanced encounter with a king fisher making regular and well timed dip into the pond. This was captured in video after several patient "smartphone" takes. The edited slow-mo clip made this memory a permanent and visual one.

Yes, apart from the diversity of plants/trees and variety of birds and butterflies in the wetland, we were pleasantly surprised to see the water monitor lizard, the tree squirrels, and a wild boar that was sighted behind some trees on our way back.

This short hour nature walk has opened up surprises for us, and made us want to come back again for the many more that we did not get to uncover.

For nature lovers, bird watchers, and those who welcome surprises that wetland brings, make plans to visit and explore. If you wish to visit the core conservation area, do check out National Parks website for guided tour opportunities as this area is closed to the public.

Come with family and friends. Even if you come alone, you can make friends easily if you would just take a few minutes to share your own sightings and experiences like we did with the visual hunt for the "amphibious singers", and sharing the kingfisher video clip. We had bird photographers sharing their rewarding photo shots of bird guarding its nest of young ones and tower climbers pointing out the "Nessie" sighting, etc...

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank BrandonPBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2018

This is one place to come if you don't like crowds - you're unlikely to see too many people here. I came here, for my first ever visit, with the kids around 10am on a Sunday morning and the place was virtually deserted. It's a long walk to the bird watching area, and there's not much sun protection, so a hat is essential. Interesting place and worth a visit.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank KGB777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2018

This is mainly for bird watching, there is a reasonable walk to get to the viewing platform but keep an eye open over the water way on the left as it was there we saw a couple of kingfishers. When we were there we saw information about tours which started at 7, that was probably a much better time than 11 when we got there. We did see some raptors but they were flying quite high and therefore looked small. Pleasant but the other local park had more to offer.

Date of experience: January 2018
1  Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2018 via mobile

We are local Singaporeans & we have decided to explore this place. This place is still in for more beautiful development (refer to attached pics!) Kranji marshes is the first stop for now. We drove there & parked at the free parking lots (7am to 7pm) the carpark will be closed after 7pm as there are no lamp post inside the walking track leading to Kranji marshes... we walked 20mins (about 1km) very windy & chill, clean new park, the walking trail currently lined with trees on both sides and you will get to sight birds flying in n out of the trees as we walked on... beautiful, peaceful, windy place. Hardly get to see such big empty grassland with a big pond in Singapore..... we love this experience and took many beautiful pics..

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank JuliaElishaChia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews