We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Singapore
Post
Inbox
Search

“Small, cramped with reasonable dim sum!”
Review of Victor's Kitchen

Victor's Kitchen
Ranked #1,767 of 15,296 Restaurants in Singapore
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Central Area/City Area
Description: Tucked in a cosy corner in Singapore's bustling Orchard district, Victor's Kitchen serves exquisite Hong Kong-style dimsum in a friendly kopitiam setting. Our chief chef, a Hong Kong transplant, moved to Singapore over 30 years ago with the intention of bringing authentic dimsum to our shores. He was previously a chef in Victoria Hotel, a five-star hotel in Hong Kong. Over the years, he has carefully incorporated his award-winning recipes in our wide variety of menu options, which have been taste-tested and consistently endorsed by our regular customers, magazine reviewers, and even local celebrities. Our motto is to continue to serve quality, delicious dimsum at affordable prices, giving you a taste of Hong Kong at your doorstep. At Victor's Kitchen, we persistently work to improve our recipes, and we are constantly evolving with our customers' tastes. Come visit us today!
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very small restaurant and expect to wait with queue especially during the peak lunch hour. No reservation would be needed and first come first serve. Serving traditional Hong Kong dim sum but limited choices . Steam carrot cake , braised chicken feet and hawkou are amongst the best. The rest is quite normal like siew mai and steamed chicken rice wrapped with special leaf! Order over the counter and table is on the sharing basis. Enjoyable lunch place..but expect to squeeze and queue !

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank agoh69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 86 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2020

Chaotic seating in a very small cramped area. Very difficult to find as it is in a large building/plaza with no indication or signs pointing the way. You can give up trying to find it by the street number as well. When we arrived we were the only non-locals. An experience not to be missed if you like to eat like a local. It reminded me of Dim Sum places in Hong Kong decades ago. Service is fast. The idea is to eat and run. You pay before getting the food, which is served by the granny brigade. Overall very pleasant and helpful. The items are usual dim sum dumplings but they also have signature dishes like the lava custard bun. Worth a visit for the atmosphere, be patient as in many popular small restaurants there are long ques.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank marco_polo2K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2019 via mobile

A mess when it comes to getting customers a table. We got 5 staffs asking us how many pax b4 we finally got a table. The staffs don't seems to have something to do specifically but all over the place. Not to mention I've got 2 groups of people behind me who got a table first. 2 pax i understand. But i had 3, the one after me had 4. both of us still have to take a 4 sitter table in the end. So why do they go b4 me ?????? Not everything is delicious. Porridge is watery. I don't know why are they so popular and crowded when yumcha is even better. In terms of service and food quality.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank EeVonL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2019 via mobile

I got taken to Victor’s Kitchen on a recent trip to Singapore. It isn’t exactly the easiest place to find but is obviously well known to foodies in the know.

The dim sum was excellent- better than I expected. When you factor in the price, it’s great value. Very impressed overall with the quality of the food and friendly service.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank klkh2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2019 via mobile

My favourite Bo lo bun! Always order and recommend to my friends.
wonderful Hong Kong dim sum, nice place, value price!

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank piggymimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Victor's Kitchen also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Victor's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing