We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money Italian Restaurant in Holland Village”
Review of La Nonna

La Nonna
Ranked #709 of 10,692 Restaurants in Singapore
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level Contributor
231 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Value for Money Italian Restaurant in Holland Village”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Visited the place on Xmas day, first time for my family. We arrived early, before the place was open fo rlunch, but attentive staff came out and greeted us and asked us to make ourselves comfortable at the al fresco area.

We were promptly brought to our seats which was reserved. We ordered 2 appetizers - calamari, bruschetta. We had margherita pizza, as well as a ham & pineapple pizza, plus a spaghetti Aglio Olio with prawns.

Pasta was done al dente, slightly spicy but with good flavours. The pizzas were well appreciated by my kids, lots of ingredients, thin crust but very crispy.

Total bill was about SGD 110 for 5 of us, Service was prompt and quick.
Weekday lunch special is 1-for-1, we will definitely be coming back again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank csh68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    42
    23
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Disappointment”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

1st visit,(18/12/12) ,an inivitation for a X'mas gathering (23pax) .$58++ per pax set menu,
3 course dinner , starter,main & dessert .
One word , main & dessert so dry!
Starter goose liver rossito, all plate were half finished, main either dory fish or turkey, I chose turkey, never tasted so dry & bland ,also half finished,dessert worse,some dry raisins bread, 2 bites...give up..
NEVER GOING BACK or recommend.
With that price,could have a feast in any hotels in Singapore .

Very disappointed..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amuseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nothing more could be had”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Last weekend, hubby and l had Saturday lunch in Holland village. We didn't know what we wanted, and l picked ltalian - not my husband's favorite. We were delighted! l had the ossobucco, so succulent and tender, all l could do is yum it up! Hubby had the sausage special plate, and it also was delicious. Service was prompt and attentive, without being obtrusive,
The bread and basalmic oil dip was lovely also. We were very happy with our lunch, and would definitley go back again. Terrace seating, enjoying wine and good food with the beloved, sun
shining - a perfect Saturday.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Always_b_Natural
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
102 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Italian comfort food”
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

La Nonna @ Namly is my destination for Italian comfort food. Parking is ample and its location in a quiet neighborhood makes it an ideal place to unwind post work or on a weekend.
I go for the starters of grilled Parma ham wrapped around mozzarella cheese, the grilled vegetables and share the La Nonna Special pizza which comes with an egg, sunny side up, that emphasises the essence of truffle. The black squid ink pasta (ask for spicy if you enjoy a kick) and lamb rack are my favorites. All this gets washed down with their reasonably priced wines. Nothing special but more than decent.
They have a large private dining room for boisterous parties.
I wouldn't rated La Nonna 5 stars but for the heavy and uncomfortable furniture. I'll bet that a change to something lighter and friendlier would enhance the ambience of this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FootlooseSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure”
Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

Tucked away in a residential area, this restaurant is a hidden treasure. The staff are excellent - friendly, attentive and helpful with both food and wine suggestions. The menu provides a wide range of traditional italian dishes and, although the wine list is short, it covers all the bases with a range of good quality, reasonably priced wines. The food is uncomplicated but high quality with good sized portions. The authentic Italian style thin crust pizzas were excellent and the meaty lamb rack was cooked to perfection.

If you are looking for fine dining then La Nonna is not for you. For uncomplicated, top quality italian food in a friendly, relaxed environment with family or friends, you cannot beat La Nonna at Namly Place.

Helpful?
Thank ejc0108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Nonna also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to La Nonna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing