We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for korean food”

Jang Shou Korean BBQ Restaurant
Ranked #6,371 of 10,934 Restaurants in Singapore
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Marina Bay
Jurong, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good choice for korean food”
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful meal at Jang Shou last month. The staff were most helpful and prompt. When we told them we were catching a concert and had only one hour, they waste no time in setting our table. We ordered 2 types of beef and pork for Bbq and a kim chee hot pot. The beef was well marinated and tender and the pork perfect when wrap with the veg. One important highlight is the 10 different type of side dishes which we enjoyed very much. The kim chee hot pot was nice except for the hot dog which appeared odd in the pot. On the whole, we enjoyed the dinner thoroughly and would be patronising this restaurant for mother's day.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lemongrass_Jt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    14
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Major disappointment!”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

My wife and I were walking around Esplanade looking for a place to eat. When we both saw this restaurant we immediately agreed to eat there.

We had spent Christmas in Korea so we knew what to expect.

We also hadn't eaten Korean food in 4 months so we were really looking forward to it.

What a mistake we made eating here!

Tthe meats were either way too sweet or way too salty. Just give good plain meat, that's all that's required for good Korean BBQ.

Then no extractor fan for the smoke so we both now stink of charcoal!!

The spicy soup was ok but not very spicy.

The bill at $118.00 was not good value for money considering we only ordered two plates of meat and a soup.

The decor a bit shabby too.

Sorry but you won't see me there again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank darrencerasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Average restaurantm but food nice”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I've found this restaurant just walking around the Esplanade area. Didn't expect too much, but people was quite friendly and price affordable for Singapore standards. I've got beef barbecue and it was very good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeepblueD_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“High Class Korean BBQ in Singapore”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Honestly, I have not explored much in Singapore, but let me introduce you to one in Esplanade: Jang Shou Korean BBQ. It is located on ground level of Esplanade, along the outdoor corridor between taxi stand and bay view area.

This is not an inexpensive restaurant ( 200SGD for a family) but it can be worth it if you are looking for attentive service in Korean BBQ: all BBQ is taken care of by the waitress, and amount is not too bad.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TokyoTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

My husband and I love going here often. The menu is limited but the quality of the food is great. The service is good for Singapore standards. The ambiance is basic.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank juliarblank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jang Shou Korean BBQ Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Jang Shou Korean BBQ Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing