We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My absolute favourite!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of RAS The Essence of India

RAS The Essence of India
Ranked #172 of 10,424 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Scenic view, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My absolute favourite!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

I visit Singapore at least once a year and ALWAYS enjoy having dinner here. The location is beautiful and the food exceptional. I have travelled a lot and by far to date this is my favourite Indian restaurant.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank hayley p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    108
    25
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great location and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have eaten here before, and the food is very good.
Authentic Indian, cooked just to your liking.
As with most places in Clarke Quay, prices are a little exy, but it is a tourist district so to be expected.

Nice outlook, friendly and efficient staff who will look after you.

Well worth a vist when you are in SIngapore.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank RichardLOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
348 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Nice but expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

I had a very nice meal at Ras during my last trip to Singapore. The outdoors seating by the water is very nice, the service is good and the food is excellent. The cost was significantly more than I expected it to be, having eaten recently at other very nicely located Indian restaurants at nearby Boat Quay.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Level Contributor
223 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Top Indian but top dollar.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We walked along the key and was drawn from the aromatic smells coming from the tables out the Ras on Clarks Quay, so decided to stop. The welcome was very encouraging and we were asked whe we wanted to st in or out smoking or not river etc. we picked our table and an order for drinks was taken so we could browse the menu. Within a few minutes a man came and asked if we needed any he and we did as London Indian is not Singapore Indian . Anyway we managed to order a modified dish as my wife does no like her Indian hot and this was taken on board without question or issue. The mean arrive and was wholesome tasty and very well presented. We consumed most of it and then had a sweet which was also delicious. So a good experience but it was expensive compared to what we pay in London. RAS nice food but £££££.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CRS61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly Springs, North Carolina
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal on Clarke Quay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Wonderful meal with various types of curry. It was very authentic - the best Indian food I've had outside of India. Great selections of naan, dal, tandori shrimp, curried lamb. I was also surpised with the variety of beer available as well. Great service put it over the top. It was also a fantastic location looking out over the river, right in the middle of a very vibrant, busy area of town

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AJFfromNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RAS The Essence of India also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to RAS The Essence of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing