We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely overpriced!”

Sin Hoi Sai Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #1,193 of 10,681 Restaurants in Singapore
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Neighborhood: Tiong Bahru
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Extremely overpriced!”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Made a big mistake and didn't read the reviews here before going. Don't order the market priced items unless you want a big surprise. I was expecting a bill in the 60 to 80 range based on the general menu prices. I was hit with a $150 bill for two people with one soft drink each. The food was decent but it wouldn't have been worth the $60-80 I originally expected.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dmd3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    35
    17
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“food good but expensive”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

very famous seafood restaurant. food is good but price is a little expensive. black pepper crab and live fish with hongkong steamed is recommand.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank sunflower1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Yummy Good Food”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

The seafood is fresh and the garlic bamboo prawns are delicious. The iced lime tea is a must have! Cools you down after a meal. Relatively reasonable price for the kind of food served.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jojo_Yeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odawara, Japan
Level Contributor
163 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Watch out for market priced items”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Had seafood dinner here in late 2012 with a group of friends. The food was ok but nothing too special.

Some of the items were "market priced" and they were not especially impressive. When we got the bill, we were all extremely shocked - some of the items were priced priced so high that the overall bill was about three times what we expected. We were able to negotiate the bill down somewhat but really, be careful here, and in fact the food was not sufficiently nice that I would recommend anyway, even if you order carefully around expensive items.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MisterPugz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singpore
Level Contributor
1 review
“Never ever go to this place again!!!”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Is this really a place to eat or they jus trying to chop tourist money?!?! A small cup of aloe Vera drink cost $6???!!!!! What does it made of??? No bird nest n is just a slice of lemon n few aloe Vera and it does taste that nice too. Ordered sambal kang kong and the veg were tasteless. So called a famous resturant which not up to standard at all and even charge 10% service charge,wth!!!! Never will I return to this place again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SpeShow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sin Hoi Sai Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Sin Hoi Sai Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing