We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$124
View deal
Expedia.com
$154
View deal
Trip.com
$108
View deal
Hotels.com$154
Priceline$136
Prestigia.com$246
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (373)
Filter reviews
373 results
Traveler rating
154
152
40
13
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
154
152
40
13
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews clarke quay loft room excellent location ironing board minute walk stayed here for nights good size restaurants and bars comfy bed marina bay chinatown mrt jacuzzi laundry
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 373 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2019

Great room, staff etc. Only problem was that starting in the morning and continuing through the day was the loud construction noise. The building next door is being demolished (by Bencoolen hotel) for a new hotel. Jack hammers, drills, loud banging, vibration through the building all day long, most unpleasant. Construction manager said just started, expect to continue for 16 months

Room tip: Avoid until construction project next door is complete
Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Raptuser
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 23, 2019 via mobile

Just about to leave after a 3 night stay. Nice rooms which are compact but have everything in that you would need, an iron and ironing board, hair dryer, kettle and fridge. 2 bottles of water left daily. The shower area is in the room but partitioned off with glass. There are blinds that can be rolled down for privacy. Plenty of hot water and lovely complimentary toiletries provided.
There is also a pantry area which has a microwave in that guests can use but in addition a washer & dryer with complimentary washing powder. This was fantastic as we have been able to wash everything we have worn the last few days ready for our next stop. Perfect for anyone travelling around with limited clothing.
Breakfast is included but is quite basic. I just had toast or croissants with butter and jam and a juice. There is a coffee machine and biscuits in the lobby area for guest use 24hrs a day.
It’s a great location very close to Clarke Quay & Boat Quay. Not too far from Chinatown either so it’s a great base for exploring.
Check in is 2.00 and we arrived around 9.00. They allowed us to store our luggage and change into more comfortable clothing after a very long journey and then we went out and about and returned at 2.00.
Plenty of restaurants and bars nearby. As one of the more affordable properties I don’t think it was bad at all. Would I stay again if we were to return ? Yes, without a doubt.
Photos taken as we were leaving this morning

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank M4107LNdeborahb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 12, 2019

We are a family of 4 who stayed the night before a cruise. The hotel is in a great location, and we found the accommodation clean throughout. The room was fairly small but the price reflected this. I thought the bathroom was a very nice addition to the room. The breakfast was good. The only issue was this room only had a double bed and a sofa with only bedding for my husband and I. We had used Agoda to book the room and clearly stated we were 2 adults and 2 children. We phoned reception and were told the room is only for 3 guests. After I explained we just needed a sheet they did get us one. Luckily our children are only small and had travel pillows and blankets so they shared the sofa. Just be wary of this if you are a family booking a room - maybe contact the hotel beforehand to ensure you are in a suitable sized room.
Overall still a very good stay.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank icklemonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 10, 2019 via mobile

We had problems as soon as we arrived. After a long day of travel and travelling with two small kids. We got them into the shower to find the shower was not draining and so the bathroom started to flood as the water seal doesn't do a good job to keep the water within the shower space. They advised no work can be done till the next day. And didn't even suggest an alternative or changing rooms. I had to ask if we can at least use a spare room to shower and get cleaned. So they obliged with that request. The maintenance worker told me they have a problem with all king rooms shower not draining well. Gee good to know it was never fixed in the past either. Also there was mould and missing grout in the shower. Definitely not hotel standards.

The room is extremely small and they shouldn't advertise that 2 kids can fit in the room. It was extremely cramped and best for just 2 occupants. The worst part is the toilet being right next to the bed. The smells from the bathroom would exist through out the room.
The towels were old and fraying. Please replace with new towels! It's the least you can do. Even asking for extra towels for our kids, there was hesitation to go and find some spare towels. There's a small pool but no one actually uses it. Because your view is of all the nearby surrounding buildings who can see into the pool. Also it doesn't look like it gets cleaned. The pool water looked cloudy. The quilt was awful on our bed and not wide enough to cover the king size bed. Sheets were dirty. Room was not vaccumed on our first day. Beware of the night life surrounding hence it is loud in the evenings from traffic and bars.
The TV didn't work at first either and the maintenance person came to fix. Even when they did it's only a few basic channels on offer.
The breakfast is minimal but I must say one positive is the fresh tasty croissants on offer. The rest of the food on offer is cold and uninviting.
Tried to save money by booking this hotel as accom in Singapore is so expensive but we made a big mistake. It's worth it to pay more and stay at a proper 4 or 5 star hotel especially for travelling families. But I think it's adequate for backpackers on a budget. We won't be returning!

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
3  Thank omego84
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 7, 2019

Con: Room is small, but enough space for two. Ants in the bath room. Got a big bug bite on my arm in the room. Overall the room is clean and basic. Room cleaning is late in the afternoon (after breakfast cleaning up), the person does the room also do the breakfast. I do not like the glass bath room door and the bath room is right next to the bed. Not much privacy.
Pro. Location is great. Hotel staff are very helpful and friendly. Breakfast is very good with hot food. Hotel room is very good for the price US $126 incl. tax. and daily breakfast.

Room tip: Get a room with no steps near the elevators
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davidyV9728CS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
JerryG1809, General Manager at Hotel Bencoolen - Hong Kong Street, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2019

Dear davidy V9728CS,

Thank you for your comments/feedback.

Please accept our apology for the presence of ants you found in the bath room and bug bite on your arm. You may like to know that all our guest rooms undergo monthly treatment by a professional pest control contractor. We have alerted the company about your feedback and our housekeeping staff to pay attention when cleaning the rooms.

We are, however, happy to know that you found our hotel's location excellent and you received value for the room rate you paid.

Thank you for your business and support. We value them and do not take them for granted.

Wishing you the very best!


Warm Regards,
Jerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews