We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very satisfied dinner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dian Xiao Er

Dian Xiao Er
Ranked #385 of 10,424 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Dian Xiao Er symbolizes a pit-stop for travelers (customers) to rest and replenish their energy fully before setting off to continue their hectic journeys again. Dian Xiao Er not only provides to the travelers a place of warmth, satisfaction and happiness as they indulge in the delectable dishes, it is also a place for them to interact and build relationships with one another. Dian Xiao Er also symbolizes an element of blessing and fellowship as everyone is brought together in Dian Xiao Er. The ambience at Dian Xiao Er is intentionally planned to be rustic and raw with the careful selection of materials to complement the freshness of the herbal roast ducks which are prepared and roasted in the display kitchen daily. Customers can expect to experience a choice of dining ambience varying from dining inside a traditional Chinese inn to dining inside a rustic timber shed at the foot of a stone cliff.
Sydney
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A very satisfied dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

This was our first visit to Dian Xiao Er, After a long day in Universal Studios Singapore, we headed back to Vivocity to try their famous roasted duck.

We were lucky enough to be within their first 10 table so we got their early bird 15% off discount.

We ordered medium serve (1/2) ten wonder herbs roasted duck. It was fabulous, with crispy skin, juicy meat with lovely duck sauce, best eat with a bowl of rice. We also had mushroom with veg, wheatgrass tofu and the black chicken soup. They are all taste very yummy.

Good dinning atmosphere and their service is also a highlight as well.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Abdul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneTok, Marketing at Dian Xiao Er, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Hi Abdul, thanks for your compliments! We're privileged to have your company whilst in Singapore and are glad you've enjoyed our signature Herbal Roast Duck. We're also pleased to have your affirmation as we strive towards service excellence. Thank you and we hope you had a pleasant stay in Singapore!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    79
    20
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
1,143 reviews
599 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 401 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Went there for lunch. I noticed almost everyone was ordering the Mongolian spare ribs. Didn't taste very Mongolian but were quite nice. I liked the stir fried crocodile meat and the frogs legs with dry red chillies. I finished my meal with herbal roast duck with rice.
I like the fact that you can choose the size of your dish (small, medium or large) so if you're dining alone or just two people and want to try more things you can have a variety of small portions.
Seating is ok for a quick meal, most of the tables have stools instead of chairs but if you want a long drawn out meal a comfortable chair would be preferable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank percyvakil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Hidden star in Singapore”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Been to this restaurant several times for a number of years since it started its first branch in Marina Square. I must say the service in this branch is almost the best. While most restaurants form snaking queues during dinner times in the same shopping district, it makes me wonder why there is almost no queue in Dian Xiao Er. Being its loyal customer, I have no doubt about the high standard of its food. It all boils down to fast, efficient service in the front line and the kitchen. You do not have to wait too long for food to be served, always an important point for a hungry person. Front line service staff are forever fast and attentive to your needs. Thus, its turnover is high due to the above reasons. Here are some pointers for its food:
- My perennial favourites got to be its Dang Gui roasted duck, Dong Po pork, Tofu, Feng Guo Chuan Zhen (a delicious palette of fried macadamic, celery, asparagus, wolfberry and cashew nuts). These never fail to leave me craving for more. When you have a bunch of picky toddlers quietly wolfing down the food, you can be assured of its quality.
- Soup is a tad too salty for me. (To me, most soup sold in restaurants are too salty) It depends on your own tastebud?
With such satisfying meal that does not burn a hole in my pocket, this restaurant is always a first choice for me.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank sweatcorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneTok, Marketing Executive at Dian Xiao Er, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We're glad you've enjoyed the food and of course for coming back to dine with us! We look forward to seeing you again soon, and you can keep a lookout for our upcoming promotions and updates on our Facebook page!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
317 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

I love the roasted duck - you must try 3 different flavours, the crocodile meat soup, the home made dishes - no much msg too!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Littlepods18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Efficient & generous serving”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Once you place an order, the food will be served piping hot in less than 15 mins. Try their soup. I don't ususally have soup when i dine out but theirs is good. Must try dishes: mongolian ribs ( a little spicy), lime & salted fish veg, duck, soup.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank icypen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dian Xiao Er also viewed

 

Been to Dian Xiao Er? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing