We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced average food for vegetarians”

Lagnaa...barefoot dining
Ranked #229 of 12,616 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: Indian, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Little India
Description: Lagnaa has introduced Set meals for Lunch and Dinner for as low as S$23 per head. Come check it out! We serve also Vegetarian, Vegan, Gluten-Free, Healthy & Halal options
Reviewed January 2, 2015

We went there for our new year lunch expecting it to be very good after reading some reviews, but the food turned out to be average only. The starters were good especially ivy gourd fry(kovakkai poriyal) and mango lassi. Then we ordered Veg Jalfreezi(spicy level 2) and Panner Butter Masala and some breads. Breads and Panneer Masala were good but Jalfreezi was too spicy(it was just raw chilli powder and tasteless). But the Chef was too kind to change the Gravy but even that too was not tasty. Overall it was average food and too expensive for the ambience and food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Sabaresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

689 - 693 of 1,220 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2015

Thanks to TripAdvisory to find this great place. Spice level "system" is funny and working well. Even level 2 was enough for us. :) Nice spot!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank aneirtov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShantiP13, Manager at Lagnaa...barefoot dining, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2015

Hi aneirtov,

Your review is greatly appreciated. Thank you for taking time to write.

We're really happy that you enjoyed the food & the ambience. I'm so glad that you chose a Spice Level that you were comfortable with.

Thanks for giving us the opportunity to show what Lagnaa barefoot dining is all about. Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2014 via mobile

I had the mutton masala and dhal and both were very good. Was talked into ordering the beer on special, Godfather, only to discover it was over 7% and not very drinkable. Asked for some iced water and was told to help myself upstairs and pour myself one from a warm plastic drum. Ok, not convenient, but the next person to ask was handed a glass with ice and water. 4* food, 2* service

Thank timpercy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShantiP13, Manager at Lagnaa...barefoot dining, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2014

Hi timpercy,
Thank you for your review. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed the food but found the service odd!

So sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy the beer - those who like strong beers, usually order a second one thereafter. I reckon you like the lighter lager varieties.

Allow me to clarify on your statement of the water - we do not serve water but if mineral water or sparkling water is ordered, this is served with a glass of ice . For those who want a glass of ice water, there is FREE flow of ice, cold water available at our pantry.

The guest you mentioned was given the option (as you were too) of going up to the pantry or helping herself to a glass of ice water from the kitchen. She decided to help herself to a glass of water from the kitchen.

Timpercy, do drop by again for a meal. Let the incident be water under the bridge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2014 via mobile

Was a incredible surprise the prawl curry... Delicious!! The taste was super. Its a local restaurant in the indian neighborhood.
I really recomend!

1  Thank LauraLemos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShantiP13, Manager at Lagnaa...barefoot dining, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2014

Hi Lonilemos,

Thank you for the lovely review & loving the 'delicious' prawn curry.

It was indeed a very encouraging review & I'm glad you are recommending us strongly.

Hope to see you soon to enjoy more options available like masala, koorma & tandoor dishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2014 via mobile

This is possibly the best restaurant in the world. The staff are incredibly friendly. The food is unbelievably delicious. The atmosphere is homely. Everything about this restaurant is incredible. We stayed in Singapore for 3 nights and ate there 3 times. Highly recommended!!!!

1  Thank Benedict S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShantiP13, Manager at Lagnaa...barefoot dining, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2014

Hi Benedict S,
Thank you so...o.. much for your 'incredible' review. It's always wonderful to meet appreciative customers & people, like you who really understand Indian a la carte cuisine.

I'm happy that you dined with us all 3 nights that you stayed in Singapore. Repeat customers are always a great indication of a high level of satisfaction.

Your positive strokes has given us more impetus to do our best in terms of food quality & our service.

The Lagnaa family wishes to express our gratitude.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lagnaa...barefoot dining also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Lagnaa...barefoot dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing