We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, odd service”

Lagnaa...barefoot dining
Ranked #242 of 12,343 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: Indian, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Little India
Description: Lagnaa has introduced Set meals for Lunch and Dinner for as low as S$23 per head. Come check it out! We serve also Vegetarian, Vegan, Gluten-Free, Healthy & Halal options
Reviewed December 13, 2014 via mobile

I had the mutton masala and dhal and both were very good. Was talked into ordering the beer on special, Godfather, only to discover it was over 7% and not very drinkable. Asked for some iced water and was told to help myself upstairs and pour myself one from a warm plastic drum. Ok, not convenient, but the next person to ask was handed a glass with ice and water. 4* food, 2* service

Thank timpercy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShantiP13, Manager at Lagnaa...barefoot dining, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2014

Hi timpercy,
Thank you for your review. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed the food but found the service odd!

So sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy the beer - those who like strong beers, usually order a second one thereafter. I reckon you like the lighter lager varieties.

Allow me to clarify on your statement of the water - we do not serve water but if mineral water or sparkling water is ordered, this is served with a glass of ice . For those who want a glass of ice water, there is FREE flow of ice, cold water available at our pantry.

The guest you mentioned was given the option (as you were too) of going up to the pantry or helping herself to a glass of ice water from the kitchen. She decided to help herself to a glass of water from the kitchen.

Timpercy, do drop by again for a meal. Let the incident be water under the bridge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

662 - 666 of 1,186 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2014 via mobile

Was a incredible surprise the prawl curry... Delicious!! The taste was super. Its a local restaurant in the indian neighborhood.
I really recomend!

1  Thank LauraLemos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShantiP13, Manager at Lagnaa...barefoot dining, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2014

Hi Lonilemos,

Thank you for the lovely review & loving the 'delicious' prawn curry.

It was indeed a very encouraging review & I'm glad you are recommending us strongly.

Hope to see you soon to enjoy more options available like masala, koorma & tandoor dishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2014 via mobile

This is possibly the best restaurant in the world. The staff are incredibly friendly. The food is unbelievably delicious. The atmosphere is homely. Everything about this restaurant is incredible. We stayed in Singapore for 3 nights and ate there 3 times. Highly recommended!!!!

1  Thank Benedict S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShantiP13, Manager at Lagnaa...barefoot dining, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2014

Hi Benedict S,
Thank you so...o.. much for your 'incredible' review. It's always wonderful to meet appreciative customers & people, like you who really understand Indian a la carte cuisine.

I'm happy that you dined with us all 3 nights that you stayed in Singapore. Repeat customers are always a great indication of a high level of satisfaction.

Your positive strokes has given us more impetus to do our best in terms of food quality & our service.

The Lagnaa family wishes to express our gratitude.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2014

We are currently working in Singapore, one of the guys had visited this place a few years ago and recommended in.

we had 6 guys in our group all challenging each other to go as high as they could on the spice level

the restaurant is located in little India, you can eat upstairs and you sit on the floor very traditional or sit on the the ground floor normal table etc.

the service is top class and the food is very good you pick the level of spice from 1 -10 on first visit you can only go to 6 and this is hotter than every curry in the UK

out of our group only 1 guy finished a level 6 and one finished a level 5

I would recommend this place food is great and prices are better

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Rob51559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShantiP13, Manager at Lagnaa...barefoot dining, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2014

Hi Rob

Thank you for your wonderful review. The team is really happy that you & your friends had a great night @ Lagnaa and you enjoyed the food & service. .

You were all a really a sporting bunch of guys & some of you were really good at the Chilli Challenge especially Mcglade who was on the verge of giving up but made a comeback by completing Level 6.

Don't take too long to come back. See you soon!

Cheers !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2014

Went to this restaurant on Sunday 30 Nov with my friend, and i must say that the barefoot dining place is good. The food is really tasty and we opted to go for level 6 for the food that we ordered. Wow it was not only spicy but the food is good too.

The lady who attended to us was nice and recommended good food. The only comment i have is that they could have improve better on the Cheese Naan as i couldn't really taste the cheese..

Overall go for the level 2 on the floor sitting instead of level 1 (normal sitting chair)

We had a blast with the food and our stomach was burning from the food, will definitely return to go for level 12!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank The anonymous L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShantiP13, Manager at Lagnaa...barefoot dining, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2014

Hi
The anonymlous L,

Thank you so much for the lovely review. I'm so glad you & your friend had a blast and enjoyed the barefoot dining.

You were certainly a very good spice eater - especially since you did Level 6. Nice to know that you enjoyed it.

We'll take note of the cheese naan . Please tell us the next time you visit, we'll do a special cheese naan for you!

Cheers & Thank you once again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lagnaa...barefoot dining also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Lagnaa...barefoot dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing