We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent food & spacious restaurant”
Review of Lao Beijing

Lao Beijing
Ranked #3,455 of 10,933 Restaurants in Singapore
Price range: $0 - $100
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Decent food & spacious restaurant”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

It was a Thursday night that we went to Lao Beijing for dinner. The place was 95% full by the time we reached there around 7.30-8pm. There were a few things that we wanted to try from the menu but we ended up with a chicken mushroom ramen (dry), crab meat siao long pao and stir fry seasonal vege. All the dishes were not overly salty and the noodle tasted quite nice. We didn't really enjoy the crab meat xiao long pao as we didn't find it was outstanding. But overall the dining experience was quite nice.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodie_Kitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    22
    23
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“handy for oasia hotel”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We ate in a room separate from the main resturant- Nice food- good service, clean, so handy if your staying at hotel oasia..

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank julieei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT FOOD, WISH IT WAS LESS CRAMMED”
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Dined with family and relatives - food was really excellent, the Buddha jumps over the Wall really good and felt totally re-energised after the meal.
Cons : tables are crammed together, we were sitting back to back with diners from the next table..As with most Chinese restaurants it was quite noisy though the very high ceiling helped to muffle the raised voices. Another minus point is the rushed service : before we could finish one dish, another came swiftly...in the end, we ended with four large dishes of food, and the remains of an earlier item transferred to a smaller plate, to fit the lazy susan.
But despite all the minus points, I would still go back to Lao Beijing for another meal.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Persimmone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
793 reviews
238 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 373 helpful votes
“Not bad; interesting tea”
Reviewed October 24, 2011

I hadn't eaten here for several years but my son decided he wanted the xiao long bao (steamed juicy meat buns). Ordered chrysanthemum tea and was pleasantly surprised that it was naturally sweetened using dried red dates and also had some herbs in it - think it was the most refreshing tea I've had for quite a while.

Overall, good food though not fairly pricey, so-so ambience and the decor looked like it needed some sprucing up.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ianwyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Good is good and value for money. Tried their signature sping roll (they serve the condiments and you have to make your own spring roll) - the seniors who were with us gave this dish the thumbs up, SGD22 gest you 6 spring rolls.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Friendship88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lao Beijing also viewed

 

Been to Lao Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing