We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, reasonable prices but long wait...”

New Ubin Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #130 of 10,798 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: New Ubin Seafood's beginnings can be traced to the offshore island of Pulau Ubin itself, where the restaurant opened in 1986 on the island's north shore. There, we had the pleasure of serving up kampong-style seafood to all who visited Ubin, developing a reputation for serving fresh, authentic and delicious seafood in an laid-back and relaxing environment. With acquisition of Pulau Ubin by the Singapore government in 1992, Ubin Seafood moved to the mainland, where we have been situated in several locations over the years (the most well known of which were the coffee shop at Commonwealth, Keppel Marina, Punggol Marina, 6th Avenue (Bukit Timah), Sin Ming industrial estate, and finally another hidden gem of a location at 63 Hillview Avenue (Bukit Batok). Here, we continue our tradition of serving our customers sumptuous and authentic Singaporean cuisine in a casual, family-friendly environment. Over the years, our culinary identity has developed and matured. Apart from the freshest seafood and traditional cze char fare, we are proud to present our own interpretation of other foods- a Singaporean-take on American, French, Italian and Indian cuisine. As such, our signature dishes include US Angus Rib-Eye Beef Steak and German-style Pork Knuckle. We were motivated to do this because it's what we, the people behind Ubin Seafood, love - and we know you will too. We look forward to welcoming you soon, and promise that it will be an unforgettable experience.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, reasonable prices but long wait...”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Be sure to call ahead to reserve a table as this place gets very busy at dinner. Better yet, go for lunch and you get to sit in the airconditioned room! Have the usual seafood by all means - prices are reasonable. The prime steak was cold when we were there but it is something unusual and almost every table had it. I wished it had been served warm/hot but the kitchen was probably overwhelmed.
Have the shovel nosed ray too - another unique dish. Portions are small and I wasn't sure if that was the usual serving. Nonetheless, preorder it if you can. Overall, good value for money and a place different from the usual seafood restaurant!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sweeseng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    277
    81
    26
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Our local Singaporean friend brought us here by car. It is a simple restaurant located in the middle of a dingy industrial area - as we are Malaysians, it sounded like home! There was 4 of us, and during the ordering process, the staff who took our order decided to give us the smallest portions - so if you go, please ask for medium or large. We found our food portions to be unsatisfactory. The food was delicious but the portions could have been better. We brought our own wine - no corkage charge I believe. We ordered the famous Angus beef which was out of this world - clearly a winning dish in its own right. The fried rice was nice but very small in portion. We also had the salted egg squid, chili crabs, kailan, prawns and our total bill was SGD187 for 4 pax which I thought was expensive considering the teeny tiny portions.

By local standards, this place is a gem. However, the seafood (portions, servings and quality) in Malaysia are superior by far.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SnowmanSnipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Despite the name, ask where's the beef!”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Went for Mother's Day as mum requested "Hainanese steak". Since The Ship had closed, decided to try this. We ordered the angus rib-eye. About 5-600 gm of beef with the fat mostly sliced off, served with grilled onions, yummy crispy potato wedges and a side of fried rice. The rice is special, as the is where your sliced off beef fat has been put to good use. This was the absolute highlight of the meal but the other dishes were also good, the "boss" bee hoon and diou Miao veggies fried with garlic. One disappointment, we had ordered steamed fish but it took so long - we waited for 20 minutes after everything else had been FINISHED and our dishes taken away - finally they agreed to cancel it. So honestly I have no idea how the seafood here is! But I would come back for the ribeye anytime! (And the price was fantastic, $10 p/100 gm or about $55 for our dish (including all those yummy sides)). Just don't expect service or ambience and you'll be fine.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BornVivant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The best part of this meal was the price!”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Brought my overseas colleagues to New Ubin Seafood as we did not find the food at the mainstream seafood restaurants that fantastic. .. as often recommended by many foodie websites.
Saw a review by a local food writer on this deals restaurant and the menu looked very interesting.
15 of us had chilli crab, cereal prawns, salted egg oysters, beef fried rice, bamboo clams, wagyu sirloin steak, Hong Kong Kailan, baby squids, beer, fruit juices and fresh coconut.
The best part of this meal was the price.
It only cost us only SGD41/pax!
We also realised that we could BYO and there's no corkage.
Everyone have a thumbs up for this meal.
We will definitely be back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tiburon17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Will go again”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

For first timers, the restaurant is hidden right in the midst of Sin Min's car workshops!
Not exactly the location to find seafood.

What did we Order ?
-Pork-Knuckle ($24) - crispy and crunchy, I prefer the original German style

-Surprisingly, one of the restaurant's famous dish is the Angus ribeye steak ($10/100gm). Fabulous taste and portion! The beef-fat fried rice is so appetising (and guilty).

- The wasabi prawn is so so only

**crabs and steak are on most tables**

Price is very reasonable (listed on their website).
Please Rsvp beforehand, as it is pack almost every evening.

I would like to try their crabs and satay on the next visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andylee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Ubin Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to New Ubin Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing