We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite modern take on Chinese food”

Majestic Restaurant
Ranked #398 of 10,692 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: When you think of a Chinese restaurant, it being hip will be the last thing on your mind. The Majestic Restaurant breaks tradition with its dining concept. After all, it is located inside one of Singapore’s foremost boutique hotel, the Majestic Hotel.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Exquisite modern take on Chinese food”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Simply to die for. You have to like duck. You have to like seafood. You have to like a mixture of all of it. It just keeps on coming in bitesize portions. Heavily recommended.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank sam-abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    56
    14
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
65 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Classy Chinese”
Reviewed April 13, 2012

shark fin soup! it was really awesome even though i have tasted many restaurants in singapore (more than 100 now)

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank ronaldcmz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delicious and one of the best Chinese food around”
Reviewed March 9, 2012

My sisters and friends were here in Feb. We had two starters - scallops wrapped in bacon and a fish. the other one was a wasabi prawn with foei gras and peking duck. We enjoyed both starters although the peking duck could do with some fats and meat. However both were good.

The salted egg prawn was good. Next we had ribs and this mushroom with broccoli. These two were not the best. Our favourite must be the noodles. The wagyu beef cheek noodle was very good. The beef was tender and melt in your mouth. The other noodle we had was the noodle with scallops. It was really good and the soup was perfect.. although i would have loved a bigger portion :)

All in all, the food is really good here and we would definitely come back. We were there on Friday night and had to wait a while for the food but it was definitely worth the wait :)

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bugzz_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
277 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Still nice, still good, still enjoyable”
Reviewed March 6, 2012

The wasabi prawns was as good as we last remembered it to be.

The kailan with mushrooms though, lacked the wok hei.

The century egg tofu was a hit and miss. The tofu was really fine but the sauce was so-so,,,,

The goose fillet though, remained as good as it gets. Crispy skin, little fat and firm flesh and the Teochew style vingear dip was good.

The bamboo clams was enjoyable.

But the trio combination platter (in individual servings) was good and highly recommended.

The marble goby, done Cantonese oil-fried style, was truly crispy, tasty and savoury.

The claypot rice with preserved meat was a nice surprise. Initially we were disapointed as we did not have any of the charred bits that is the key attraction of claypot rice but on closer inspection of the claypot, we realised the mainland chinese attendant (through her own good naturedness) thought serving us the charred bits was rude and so did not scrape nor serve it to us but once done, it was a good claypot in singapore.

The fried mao sang wang durian ice-cream was as good as it gets, so full of aroma and body,,,

Overall, we enjoyed the experience esp as the hotel is nice and always good to go back. Recommend the private room as you get to see whats happening in the open kitchen behind.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank vincentlau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Food at the New Majestic”
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Breakfast was good. Eggs to order etc. Dinner was very good but perhaps a bit expensive.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Majestic Restaurant also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Majestic Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing