We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to enjoy a multitude of Asian flavours”
Review of StraitsKitchen

StraitsKitchen
Ranked #92 of 11,365 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Singaporean, Street Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Reviewed November 29, 2013

This is an excellent place to go to if you want to sample different Asian flavours, Fortunately, during our short break in Singapore, me and my family were able to secure a reservation. We were very pleased with our experience at StraitsKitchen. What made our experience even better was that the food is Halal and our choices were therefore unrestricted. I was able to try Asian dishes that I had not tried before, which was the highlight for me. The only unfortunate aspect of my experience was that I could not try all the dishes! As the food was of such a high quality, I feel the price was worth it. I definitely plan on returning to StraitsKitchen in the future.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank the_npear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhyattsingapore, Assistant Director of Food & Beverage at StraitsKitchen, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear the_npear,

We are delighted to hear your feedback about Straits Kitchen!

Thank you very much for your encouraging words which we will share with our team of chefs.

Best regards,

Giree Nair
Assistant Director of Food & Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (750)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

454 - 458 of 750 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2013

Dined there with friends. I'm so pleased with the ambiance, professional service. Also, I tried various dishes in the buffet especially Indian and Chinese food. There is plenty of seafood. The dessert is also delicious. The price is worth for 5 star dinner.
High recommended for those who can enjoy local food.

Thank Nickytruong70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhyattsingapore, Director of Food & Beverage at StraitsKitchen, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Dear Nickytruong70,

Thank you for your kind feedback on your dining experience at Straits Kitchen. The Indian section is indeed a very popular one and we are delighted to hear you enjoy the variety of cuisines offered. We look forward welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Best regards,
Guillaume Dellemarle
Director of Food & Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

At $55 usd per person, this restaurant located in the Grand Hyatt consistently serves some of the best asian food varieties.

If your visit is short in Singapore and you like to try some of best varieties of Asian flavors for the region, I highly recommend this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank vg247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhyattsingapore, Director of Food & Beverage at StraitsKitchen, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear vg247,

Thank you for your lovely recommendation of StraitsKitchen on TripAdvisor! It is great to read that you have constantly enjoyed your experience in the restaurant. We certainly look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards,
Guillaume Delemarle
Director of Food & Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Dined here on a stop over to Europe and the buffet is an easy introduction to some of the foods available in Singapore. Hotel environment helps when you have just flown in and the Kitchen provides a relaxing dining experience. The food was of good quality although the trick is to take small portions of the variety available. Was pretty good value but for some the real hawker market may be a better experience if you have time to get to them.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BBotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhyattsingapore, Director of Food & Beverage at StraitsKitchen, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear BBotts

Thank you so much for your kind review of StraitsKitchen. We are grateful that you had chosen to dine at the restaurant during your recent stop over, and was especially thrilled to read that you found the environment and food of StraitsKitchen was able to create a great dining experience. We sincerely hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Best regards,
Guillaume Delemarle
Director of Food & Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

We went there on a sunday night. It was busy but the service was quite good. The staff were attentive and the place is clean.

Foodwise, there was not a single outstanding dish compared to hawker style food centers. Chilli crab is not what you would expect in Singapore. It doesn't have gravy. Coconut ice cream was one of the better dish out of the whole buffet.

If you are looking for authentic singapore local food, go to a hawker centre!


Thank MHCai
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
grandhyattsingapore, Director of Food & Beverage at StraitsKitchen, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear MHCai

Thank you for taking the time to review StraitsKitchen on TripAdvisor. It was reassuring to read that you found the service team attentive. We apologise that you did not find the dishes on the buffet to your liking. Your comments will definitely help us to improve our offerings. Nonetheless, we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Best regards,
Guillaume Delemarle
Director of Food & Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed StraitsKitchen also viewed

 

Been to StraitsKitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing