We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good way of trying many different dishes”
Review of StraitsKitchen

StraitsKitchen
Ranked #63 of 10,788 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Singaporean, Street Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Buffet, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A good way of trying many different dishes”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Very good local and international dishes. Really friendly helpful chefs to explain the dishes etc. Try the crushed iced dessert, much better then the ones you buy at the hawkers.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank QCV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    307
    255
    91
    27
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“buffeet”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This my girlfriend favorite asian restaurant. Not my favorite because I think they reduced the spices. but not bad also

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank sourcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice spread of local food”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Always enjoy eating at the Straits Kichen. Nice and quality local foods to sample. Hard to get reservations though as it is very popular.

Helpful?
Thank Sherry Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just not good at all”
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

After watching Anthony Bourdain layover in Singapore decided to visit the restaurant in Grand Hyatt. Went at 9pm - late (to late) - no chance to get table before. It was crowded so if others like it we will have a nice dinner. No we did not. I expect fresh made asian dishes - but most of them were heated all the time - not crispy - not hot - like cheap buffet. We liked ice crem made of sweet corn. I don't recommed this place - sorry - enjoy any howker center - better food and value for money. We spend 200$ way to much. Singapore is great foodie pleace so look for better spot.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hihaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent dinner buffet and halal”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I came here for a business dinner with some clients who were Muslims so we had to go to a halal restaurant. The service is excellent with attentive details! And the spread of local hawker style food was most authentic and delicious. My clients enjoyed their dinner so much and kept saying laksa and chili crab was very delicious and kept going back for more. I really like the chicken rice I thought that was my favourite. It is great that grand Hyatt Singapore has an excellent halal restaurant so that we can enjoy good food good service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Victor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed StraitsKitchen also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to StraitsKitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing